We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 153
USD 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin de Playas(Playas)(Great Value!)
USD 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Promenade Hostel(Playas)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Un Dia Boutique Resort(Playas)(Great Value!)
USD 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nevada(Playas)
USD 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
7
0
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
0
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I emailed and was told there was availability for a room. After saying I wanted to place a deposit and asking how to do so, since there was no available information online about reservations, I received no answer. Again I emailed, and two weeks passed, and finally a response that didn't give me any information. Again I emailed, and then today I receive an email that another guest made a reservation and there are no more available rooms.

What sort of service is this? If you do not have on your website an easy way to make a reservation, then at least answer your emails! I planned on this, and now weeks before I was supposed to come I have nothing.

Terrible, terrible!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaZwicker, Propietario at Guest House La Posada del Sueco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2015

Dear Evan:
It's very easy to book with us. You just choose the place, contact us, make the 50% deposit and just go to enjoy La Posada del Sueco. Its just some people make a storm in a little glass of water.
When you started to write, your booking date was the 8th of january and for that dates, yes, we had avilability, you asked so many questions and we wrote back answering them. Then you said you wanted more details and we wrote back with more details... but suddenly you changed your kind of room from a cabin to a matrimonial and also the dates for one week earlier, and as that weekend is very bussy because the New Year holiday, so we didnt have avaliable any room for you, because another people have an easier way and just booked the room you wanted. Ups!.
We only have 6 rooms, and everyone booked in advance when is busy holidays as New Year. And experience makes us realize the people who is so complicated to book is not the best guest we had, they complain about everything, they dont like anything, anything is good enough and the vibes is completly different of the ones we want: we love life and nature, we enjoy it and we really like to share that with our guests.
Have a happy holidays wherever you find a room...

best regards,

La Posada del Sueco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I decided to spend a weekend with my 6 year old autistic son at La Posada del Sueco. From the photos it looked invitingly homely with a beautiful tropical garden within a rustic setting

On our arrival we met the owner Bjorn who was very friendly and made us feel really welcome! We booked the ocean view room, which was a good sized room located on the upper floor at the back of the hotel. The ocean view was a little obscured from the window by the plantation but there is still had a great view of the pool and gardens.

Directly below the the room there is a open air kitchen with electric hob, fridge, blender and cooking utensils for guests to use . Additionally there is coffee, tea, cooking oil, passion fruit and also provided.
There is also a local food menu provided by a nearby beach cafe and they will deliver if you fancy staying in.

There is a new modern shopping mall which has a supermarket and your usual fast food brands. It is a 10 min walk or for 25 cents you can hitch a ride.

Beaches are ok and can get quite busy but as this is the closet playa to Guayaquil it does attract a lot of the locals.

Overall we loved our stay and would like to thank Bjorn and his beautiful family for making our stay feel like we were still at home!!

Stayed: April 2015
Thank submarina34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

My family and I stayed in the two double rooms by the entrance and they were exactly as described on the site. Lack of air conditioning can be seen as a negative, but it also gets you out and about a bit more! It was easy to walk to town by beach or road or catch a bus, taxi or back of a pickup at the side of the road. Rooms cleaned every other day and towels and toilet paper provided. Lush greenery in an area where there has been very little rain, so lots of work goes into grounds maintenance. Fresh passion fruit, lime, banana and more fruit trees growing that you can pick and use for a breakfast smoothie in the kitchenette that is provided with a mini fridge. If you want you're morning coffee, bring some way to make it. This area likes instant coffee, so best to go to grocery store and pick up supplies or bring with you from home. Very nice upper deck with swinging chairs and fabulous view of the ocean and the best sunsets in the world. Beach is far enough away from centre of town that it doesn't get crowded on the weekends when all the city people come to the beach for a couple of days. Thanks for the hospitality. If we make it back to playas, Ecuador, we will stay there again definitely.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms might have more of a breeze
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

if the speakers are blasting music from across the street at midnight, don't expect the owners to offer you a different room, even if the hostel is completely empty and other rooms (about 30 yards further away from the street and thus OBVIOUSLY a lot quieter) are available. they are so obviously unwilling to wash the extra set of sheets that they will prefer to make you stay awake throughout half the night..
they kept telling us that the party would "be over soon" and the other rooms would not be quieter, which, when you think about it, makes no sense whatsoever, instead of applying basic human decency and just offer us a different room. it wasn't until we rang the doorbell for the third time at around 2.30 AM that they finally understood that it was time to stop being pointlessly negligent

also, if more than one party talks about you being rude, you can either take visitors´ opinion to heart and work on your attitude or you just go into lengthy rants about why those visitors aren´t well-traveled and therefore, their opinion doesn´t count

Room Tip: as far away from the street as posible, or as the owners will allow you to..
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaZwicker, Owner at Guest House La Posada del Sueco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Living next to the ocean, enjoying the nature, a beautiful landscape, sunsets and sharing our home and experiences with people from everywhere in the world give us the best attitude you can wish…

Reading this review, even we felt bad treated, if we were in your shoes. But is not because we don’t want to accept we were wrong, is just some guests don’t say on their reviews the complete situation and give to the Trip Advisor readers a bad point of view of us… and that is not fare.
Our hostel only have 6 rooms, 2 matrimonial in the front (you stayed in one of them), two cabins and two upper rooms. In September 2013, when you stayed in La Posada (not February 2014 as you wrote here) we were still working to enable the upper ones (they were just constructed), they were not available. One of the cabins needed some adjusts with the water service and because of that had a little particular smell, not available either. And the only room we could offer was very dusty because of the works in the upper floor. And as September is low season in Playas, we didn’t have it ready to rent, as we said to you on that time, we were thinking many times to offer you that one, precisely thinking about not to have bad reviews, now we saw it was useless. But, we see now we can´t make everyone happy and that’s part of the business, only wanted to clarify our reasons were not related at all with not to wash and extra set of sheets, that assessment is incorrect.
Basic human decency is related also with honesty and with being consistent between what you say and what you do… For us was a shock remembering you as a very nice, kind and communicative couple, who was saying to us so nice things about our place and then, so long time later, read this review in such strong terms to the rest of the world…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend has stayed here twice,and we have travelled all over the world and in my expierince this is one of the most friendly and helpfull staff that we have come around.Will not hesitate to stay there again.Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaZwicker, Owner at Guest House La Posada del Sueco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your nice words... we will be very happy to receive you once and over again...
Best wishes allways,

La Posada del Sueco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews