We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value & Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My family and I stayed at the Howard Johnson Express Inn in Bakersfield, Ca. This is our First Choice hotel whenever we come to the area. The rooms are nice, comfortable, and clean. The pool is refreshing and great for the kids. The continental breakfast was lacking variety, although it was fully stocked. Upon check out the front door clerk Jessica, if i recall her name correctly(lacking name tags) greeted us with a smile and a friendly personality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    69
    90
    53
    59
See reviews for
112
61
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Literally in the first hour we were there, I killed 2 roaches and a spider in the bathroom. I don't think this was in the safest part of town either. We hardly slept that night due to multiple car alarms going off and people yelling outside. The breakfast was meager. My only positive about this hotel was that they had cute prairie dogs living on the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed here based on other reviews, but should have passed it by. First problem, the key card did not work. So back to the office for a new one. Tried to connect to the wireless internet - the signal on the backside of the hotel was almost non-existant - better on the front side when we wandered there with laptop. Staff said they would reset router. Waited 30 mintues. Signal still weak, so back to the office. Staff forgot to reset router. After reset, signal still too weak to connect (two different computers so not computer issue), back to the office and asked to move room. Moved room, eycard for new room did not work (of course!). Back to the office for new keycard. WiFi marginally better, but still really weak. In morning, went for free breakfast. Juice machine broken. Milk sour. Selection poor. Rooms were clean if you don't mind that nothing works in the motel.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We take each issue seriously so that we can make improvements. It is rare and unfortunate that our juice machine had problems during your stay. We have quickly resolved the
issue with the machine vendor. But, during that time, we were still able to provide quality orange and apple juice to our guests. As for our wifi, we are continually monitoring the system. We understand that
there is a small area towards the back of the hotel where signal strength is not as strong. The concrete walls in the rooms are to blame for that. As for the keycard issue, we are at a loss as to why that
happened. We are usually pretty good at getting our guests inside the room for a good night’s rest. If you would be so kind to give us another opportunity for your lodging needs, we will show you why other
guests gave us great reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

i have payed my cash for 2 weeks at a time due to a move from los angeles to bakersfield and the front desk has no hesitation taking my cash... i stayed with my 3 children in a double bed room with microwave n fridge so there was enough space for a family of 4... after 2 weeks of stay when i returned my card i Received a telephone call stating i was on a do not stay list due to my childrens stay... the cash was good enough for them to keep instead of reimbursing my cash n us finding some where else to stay... the rooms need new carpet...the wall paper needs to be removed the room was a non smoking room but had a bad odor to it ... the prices are not worth the stay n the only thing good out the whole stay was the pool area...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Customer service and safety are top priorities at our hotel. Our records indicate that the room that you've stayed in for two weeks had only a single bed. We discovered during the course of your stay that
you had four, or more, people in the room. This room is really not equipped to handle more than two guests at a time. For families, we do offer a slightly bigger room with comfortable double beds.
Thank you for your positive comment regarding our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We were traveling through and needed a place to sleep. The price was right. It was hard to find- we drove quite a way from the freeway and the driveway was easy to miss- we had to get on the freeway and come back! But clerk was great- friendly and efficient. Room was good- small but clean, sufficient for our needs. Unfortunately our room was at the front of the building so we had a lot of traffic noise. We will stay here again but we will ask for a room in the back.
Also- Denny's and McDonald's were right across the street, but with the traffic- even late at night- it was better to drive to them than try and cross on foot. But nice place - nice feel from management. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back away from the main road. Traffic all night here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UtahGirlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this positive review. We would be happy to provide a quieter room the next time you visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
2.7 km away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#35 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#33 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.3 km away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#13 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Address: 2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price range (per night): $58 - $80
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Howard Johnson Bakersfield
Bakersfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing