We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Andrew W
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peace and relaxation”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had been wanting to return to the Lochinver area for a long time and this lovely cottage was just what we wanted. It is well located for exploring the many excellent beaches along the nearby coast, but also very close Lochinver for provisions and Restaurants. Further afield there are numerous Mountain walking opportunities and boat trips available. The cottage is of a high standard of cleanliness and furnishing and has room for up to 6 people. It was nice at the end of the day to sit in the conservatory watching the birds fluttering about and the local deer coming down from the hills to graze on the lawn. Thanks for a wonderful week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryco...
Bega, Australia
1 review
“This is more than a holiday let - it is a place I could live!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

After six weeks of staying in holiday cottages in Scotland, Torbreck House was the stand out favourite. The owners have made it into a home from the oak furniture, the fully equiped kitchen, two classy bathrooms, good quality bed linen and cosy warmth throughout the whole house. The conservatory was a favourite sunny spot to retreat to with views to the outdoors with wandering deer and plenty of bird life. Just a short distance by foot or vehicle to the town. The area has numerous walking tracks, a lovely sheltered sandy beach just a short drive away and is positioned in an area of stunning mountain scenery.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Torbreck. Assynt is a beautiful part of the world.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babsnw
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A faultless stay in a lovely home in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The location is perfect for those seeking quiet yet wanting the facilities of the lovely village of Lochinver within a short distance.
Torbrek is a lovely family home clean with comfortable beds and furnishings with a wild garden and surroundings where deer roam and birds and wildlife are numerous. The most beautiful beaches are within a few miles and the surrounding area of Sutherland has the most magnificent scenery to walk climb or just photograph.We will be back as soon as possible to stay at Torberk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. We would love to have you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJKH
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arriving at Torbreck is a joy”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Arrival at Torbreck Croft House is a joy. The house is exactly as listed and matches all those photos you’ve looked at in advance. Sitting in a hollow of its own it is secluded and peaceful. But as you settle in you quickly realise the house offers so much more. Firstly the many beautiful paintings of Angus Macdonald on the walls serve as a great introduction to the area. Opening the cupboards you realise the house will supply everything and more that you need for your stay. The lovely Highland Stoneware plates and cups are of course made only a mile away from the house. Lighting the fires on an autumnal night makes the house cosy and as darkens falls you will probably get a visit in the garden of deer. And then before heading to bed take a look outside as – if it’s a clear night – you’ll get a magnificent display of stars. As you settle in bed you’ll appreciate the utter quiet of the night. A stay at Torbreck is a joy – and that’s before you’ve even started to explore the surroundings!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed the croft house! Thank you for your lovely review! As you probably read, Torbreck was built by my husband's great grandfather and it is a very special place for us. It's great to hear that our guests are appreciating it as much as we do. I have passed on your compliments to Angus, my father-in-law, about his paintings.
Hope to see you again!
Best wishes
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona B
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage which is also obviously equally loved by the family who owns it. It had everything that opened and shut and even more. You can't name it, it had it. The cottage itself is pretty, cosy and comfortable. Good beds and plenty of chairs to choose from. There is a log burner in the kitchen and a log fire in the sittingroom with plenty of logs for burning. We spent most of our time in the wee porch at the front of the cottage watching the deer that came to graze nearly every evening. We also had our dog with us who felt quite at home and we felt safe to let her wander freely around the garden. We didn't get around to fishing in the small loch next to the cottage but the rods were there for using if we had wanted to. Games, jigsaws, books, dvds, cd's. No way will you get bored staying in Torbreck Croft Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The love the owners obviously had for their cottage
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Hi Fiona, so glad you enjoyed your time at Torbreck! It is a much loved and well used family home and it gives us pleasure to let others enjoy it too.
Hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes, Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing