We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit to a Highland Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Return Visit to a Highland Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have not stayed at the Inver Lodge since the "Roux Makeover" and expected exactly that a makeover. How wrong can you be ! The Hotel always excelled on the "extra mile" personal service and attention to detail but the changes made in the refurbishment have truly made a major improvement to the overall feel of the hotel.

The rooms are EXTREMELY comfortable and spacious and I understand further renovations are scheduled this winter. The intimate feel of this hotel has been retained and this is largely due to the nature of the staff and the fact that many have been there for many years.

The restaurant offers EXCELLENT food at a price that was less than I might have expected to pay.

All in all across the 20 + years I have known this hotel it is refreshing to see standards maintained and IMPROVED, not many places can do that ! Changes of this magnitude often leave long serving staff behind, rather the opposite here, they have been driven forward by the team to excellent effect.

If they will have me I will be back next year !

Room Tip: They are all great, there are no bad rooms ! "The Suites" overlooking Canisp and Suliven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAL:London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
On a dark cold grey day, it was a warming delight to read the review of your recent visit to Inver Lodge for which I thank you. A lot of work has gone in to the refurbishment of the hotel and as you mention it is ongoing this winter with new bathrooms being installed ready for our re-opening on 1st April 2012.
We like to think that Inver Lodge is a special place and are always delighted to read that our guests feel the same way.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come north.
Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    64
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
227
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I booked this hotel because we all needed two or three days of high quality R&R after a tough few months but had been slightly apprehensive that it might be too formal or stuffy for us to enjoy the experience in full. I couldn't have been more wrong! We were welcomed very warmly by name and as we reached Lochinver a little later than intended, would not have been able to have dinner promptly in the restaurant because of other bookings. However, the staff were very sensitive to our needs, not least that one of our group was extremely tired and convalescing. As a result they came up with a very imaginative solution to our need to eat sooner rather than later, serving excellent tempura fish & chips with a perfectly chilled bottle of wine - and with some panache(!) - in one of our rooms. It was just what the doctor ordered! We did eat in the restaurant and enjoyed the signature dishes enormously, as we had done in London in the past. Although we were not there to fish or shoot or trek long distances, we felt just as much at ease as those who were. We all enjoy photography, art, landscape and topography so were in awe of the views and stunning surroundings. At least one of the group cannot wait to return to photograph the local peaks "from every angle" and sample more of the fine food and outstanding service offered by the staff. What a shame he has only days left before the hotel closes for the winter, not least as it would be an idyllic winter bolt-hole!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Inver Lodge.
I am delighted to read how much you all enjoyed your visit from the moment you arrived until you departed. As a team we endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and to try and anticipate their needs without being overzealous, it is very important that our guests leave feeling that they have accomplished their aims and wanting to return.
I hopefully look forward to welcoming you back next year after 1st April.
Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have been visiting this hotel for 17 years so I have some idea of what to expect. I am just back from my most recent visit and feel I have to put my views down in writing.
The hotel is simply wonderful. The building may be functional rather than beautiful but after a recent refurbishment the interior is charming, comfortable and very atmospheric. The views to all directions are simply stunning and after all the years they still take my breath away.
The bedrooms are extremely well appointed with every need catered for, and all rooms have a sea view.
The food is magnificent. The breakfasts are a feast with a huge choice and the dinners are sublime. The wine list has something for every taste and budget.
But where this hotel really scores is the staff. Without exception they are all absolutely charming and keen to make sure you enjoy your stay. They are not over the top but very professional in ensuring everything is as you would like it. I am sure this comes from the Manager, Nicholas Gorton, who has been at the hotel since it opened. He clearly demands high standards from his staff and he gets just that, but he also helps and serves with the staff which must do wonders for morale.
In short you must stay there if you are anywhere nearby. If you are not a fisherman there is still a wealth of stuff to do and see.
Take it from me, you will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokedsalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for putting your thoughts on your recent stay at Inver Lodge on trip advisor. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the refurbished hotel, and our Chez Roux Restaurant.
We all enjoy making sure that our guests feel welcome and treasured enjoying their whole experience at Inver Lodge, it is good to know that we succeded.
I hope that we can welcome you back before too long and please make yourself known when you do.
Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

What makes this a great place to stay are the amazing location and views and the warmth of the welcome and hospitality offered by the hotel staff.

With the emphasis on the outdoors and sporting and other countryside activities the staff create an ambience that is country house weekend informality accompanied by courteous friendly service striking exactly the right note. With around 20 rooms the hotel manages to achieve the difficult task of being small enough to achieve a great level of personal service and yet still maintain the standards of a much larger establishment.

Dining at the hotel under the "Roux" banner was excellent, with some superb dishes, although others just didn't quite reach the same standard but were nonetheless perfectly fine. Overall the restaurant offers good value for money and the setting overlooking Lochinver and out to sea provides a wonderful backdrop to any meal.

What is slightly disappointing, and what lets down an otherwise excellent hotel is the building itself.

The hotel interior and rooms are very nicely furnished to a good standard with discrete tartan touches; the en-suite bathroom likewise was of a very good standard with an interesting range of products supplied. Public areas feel welcoming and create an atmosphere of warmth and intimacy.

However, there is no getting away from the fact that bedrooms on the ground floor offer no privacy from guests strolling around outside, even with the great sea views, and the hotel building itself doesn't have the character of a traditional country house so those looking for the authentic experience may wish to choose somewhere else. These are the only things that detract from an otherwise extremely enjoyable experience and so mark down the hotel slightly in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs bedroom for greater privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channelhopper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your time in submitting a review of your stay at Inver Lodge. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the whole exprience of the hotel from the staff to your meals in Chez Roux.
Over the winter months we will be undertaking the refurbishment of all the bathrooms which we make visits even more enjoyable.
The building was designed in the mid eighties with practicality in mind, during the winter months the winds can reach over 100 mph, combined with the rain it takes quite a battering.
The windows have a reflective film built in which makes is difficult for people to see in, we added the blinds some years ago so that there was extra privacy, it is unfortunate that some guests take to looking further in to other rooms via the windows.
I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Inver Lodge and hope that you will make yourself known to me.
Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Inver Lodge Hotel is a truly outstanding hotel, which provides a unique gastronomic experience mixing fresh local produce with a taste of "Roux". It is worth going just to sit in the majestic dining room overlooking the bay out to the Hebrides and the level of service from the young staff is on a par with the best hotels across the world. The Manager, Nicholas Gorton's hospitality is legendary and his welcoming smile and witty banter could warm anyone even after a day in the Scottish weather!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawford T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Inver Lodge. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience from Chez Roux to the ambience of the hotel.

I hope that you will make yourself know next time you visit, so I can thank you in person.

Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
16.0 km away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
33.7 km away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
34.3 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 km away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 km away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#7 of 10 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Property: Inver Lodge Hotel
Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price range (per night): $309 - $451
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing