We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious pet friendly house in superb location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenvarloch

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Huge Open-plan Kitchen with Island and Dining room / Atrium First Floor Living Room with Smart TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Huge Open-plan Kitchen with Island and Dining room / Atrium
First Floor Living Room with Smart TV
Sociable Kitchen
Window seat in atrium
Ground Floor Double Bedroom with adjacent Shower Room / WC
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom with adjacent Shower Room / WC
First Floor King-size Master Bed with Ensuite Shower / Whirlpool Bath
First floor Master Bedroom with ensuite
Master Bedroom Ensuite - Whirlpool Bath / Shower
First floor quiet area and King Size sofa bed
Minstrels Gallery on first floor
Glenvarloch Entrance and atrium from South East
Suspension Bridge at Strathyre 200 metres
Broch at Strathyre 150 metres
Strathyre 'Beach' on River Balvaig 200 metres
Loch Lubnaig from An Shean - well worth the effort !
Glenvarloch decorated for Christmas
Atrium in Winter with Tighanes Burn running along Southern Boundary
River Balvaig iced over - Glenvarloch cosy even in -20C
Glenvarloch in Spring with An Shean in the Background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue E
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious pet friendly house in superb location for walkers”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated within the lovely village of Strathyre Glenvarloch provides an excellent base for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. A variety of walks are available from the doorstep and there is easy access to a cycle track if that is your preferred method of transport. The accommodation is well presented, a real home from home and short of nothing. Our two dogs also received a warm welcome to the property which is very pet friendly. This house is very spacious and would provide excellent accommodation for a family. There are bedrooms and a bathroom on the ground floor and as there were only two of us and the dogs in our party we found that we had all the facilities we needed on the ground floor, which made tidying up at the end of our stay a very simple job. Glenvarloch Is definitely a property I would visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katieg190
Yorkshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well-equipped and comfortable home in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Glenvarloch is conveniently located in the heart of Strathyre surrounded by beautiful and accessible hills. The house is superbly appointed and benefits from a large central dining/relaxing area that was great for us as a group of friends. The bedrooms are all comfortable with good mattresses and bedding and 2 well-appointment bathrooms. We were blessed with amazing sunshine, which meant that the deck to the front of the house was well-used for outdoor relaxation. The village itself is friendly and welcoming and we would not hesitate to recommend Glenvarloch and will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LincsLaur...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There's not much to say, other than the fact that we LOVED this house! It contains everything you might need, the kitchen is better equipped than mine at home!
Before we went I was a bit worried that it might feel a bit cold & chilly from the atrium but it's completely the opposite. The underfloor heating is brilliant and the thickness of the glazing keeps the cold out as well as the sound from the road. Spent many hours sitting in the atrium watching the birds feeding & the weather rolling across the hills. The kids loved that the garden was big enough for a kick about, and they wanted to go to the 'beach' and skim stones at every occasion. Great walks with the dog from the front door. Something for everyone!
There were 6 of us, plus the dog, and there was plenty of room to not get under each other's feet.
Thank you for the welcome gift too!
We've absolutely loved our stay at Glenvarloch, there might have even been a few tears leaving.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious yet homely feeling and the beautiful oak (kids loved the big fudge with ice machine)
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing