We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Deck to front of cottage Cottage garden in full bloom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Deck to front of cottage
Cottage garden in full bloom
Side of cottage
Tea on the new deck
Front garden
Welcome to Number 4 Cottage and to the Scottish Borders
Large kitchen with fridge freezer, fan oven, hob, microwave and dishwasher
Large ground floor master bedroom
Large family bathroom, newly decorated (2018)
The gate on Number 4
4 star graded by VisitScotland
Walk to Kelso along the River Teviot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
777blosso...
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for a week in this beautiful area. The cottage had everything we needed even half a dozen eggs to greet our arrival. It is spacious and comfortable can't fault it at all, so pleased with our choice. It's location is ideal situated close to several small interesting towns.
I hope we can return one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Many thanks for your kind review and so pleased you liked both the cottage and the beautiful Scottish Borders. The cottage is a good base no matter what your interests are ( history, walking, fishing, relaxing). Hope you can welcome you back soon, kind regards, Sarah and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicandyaj
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is in a great location to explore the Borders and beyond. We enjoyed visiting all the local areas and a trip to Edinburgh. Excellent meal in the restaurant right next to the cottage, the Caddy Man which we would highly recommend. Lovely walks nearby or straight from the cottage. The cottage is very spacious, comfortable and equipped with everything you could need including lots of DVDs and games if you have younger children. Our son loved the upstairs bedroom. Very good food in the nearby Born in the Borders, with fun grass sledging.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review - you certainly packed a huge amount into your long weekend! Do come back and explore more. Yes, agree that Caddy Mann is lovely, as well as Borders in the Borders- my 16 yr old won't come with me to try the grass sledging :-( kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatthewW2...
1 review
“April In the borders”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The house was very well presented and in a lovely location. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Every thing had been thought of board games for the kids, dvds and a deck to sit out in and a well stocked kitchen. Would recommend to family's alley place to stays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and so glad the weather allowed you to use the sunny decking- really lovely in the evening. Hope we can welcome you and your family back to the Borders again, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic0la555
1 review
“Lovely retreat in the borders of Scotland.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited No 4 Cottage, Mounthooly as we were in the area for a family wedding and so decided to make it a long weekend away. The cottage was perfect, it was in a beautiful location, excellent size and has been beautifully refurbished to a high standard. Communication was fantastic and lots of little details such a visitor leaflets, books about the borders and maps of the local area were left for us upon arrival. A lovely little welcome note was left for us in a bowl of fresh eggs along with a bottle of wine in the fridge and toiletries in the bathroom. These wonderful touches really went the extra mile. Overall a very impressive stay and we would definitely recommend this cottage. In fact we already have to family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Hi there,thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome either you or your family back to the Borders some time. Hope the wedding at Dryburgh was good- the setting is spectacular there. Hope you managed to see Jedburgh Abbey too - equally impressive but totally different. Thanks again! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J246L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage - great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great stay in this lovely and spacious cottage. It is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The outside space was a hit with our two children (8 and 3). They would have liked to stay in the upstairs bedroom but that would have been a bit tricky for the 3 year old due to the stairs. Perfect for older children though. It was very handy for the driving range (just up the road) and just a short drive into Jedburgh. There was lots to do in the area and a short trip to Tweedbank takes you to the Borders railway to go to Edinburgh. I'm sure we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your review. So glad you had a lovely stay and took advantage of the Borders Railway to Edinburgh- it's great that you can park for free and be in Edinburgh in less than an hour, with great views on the way. Also glad the kids had a good time and hopefully you can return when they're a bit older and can use the cosy attic room- it's my favourite too. I'm so glad you found things comfortable, and I'm delight to say that VisitScotland renewed our 4 stars today, kind regards to all the family, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing