We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely retreat in the borders of Scotland.”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Deck to front of cottage Cottage garden in full bloom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Living room with beams, wood burner, and patio doors out to south facing deck
Deck to front of cottage
Cottage garden in full bloom
Side of cottage
Tea on the new deck
Front garden
Welcome to Number 4 Cottage and to the Scottish Borders
Large kitchen with fridge freezer, fan oven, hob, microwave and dishwasher
Large ground floor master bedroom
Large family bathroom, newly decorated (2018)
The gate on Number 4
4 star graded by VisitScotland
Walk to Kelso along the River Teviot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nic0la555
1 review
“Lovely retreat in the borders of Scotland.”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We visited No 4 Cottage, Mounthooly as we were in the area for a family wedding and so decided to make it a long weekend away. The cottage was perfect, it was in a beautiful location, excellent size and has been beautifully refurbished to a high standard. Communication was fantastic and lots of little details such a visitor leaflets, books about the borders and maps of the local area were left for us upon arrival. A lovely little welcome note was left for us in a bowl of fresh eggs along with a bottle of wine in the fridge and toiletries in the bathroom. These wonderful touches really went the extra mile. Overall a very impressive stay and we would definitely recommend this cottage. In fact we already have to family.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Hi there,thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome either you or your family back to the Borders some time. Hope the wedding at Dryburgh was good- the setting is spectacular there. Hope you managed to see Jedburgh Abbey too - equally impressive but totally different. Thanks again! Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J246L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent cottage - great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great stay in this lovely and spacious cottage. It is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The outside space was a hit with our two children (8 and 3). They would have liked to stay in the upstairs bedroom but that would have been a bit tricky for the 3 year old due to the stairs. Perfect for older children though. It was very handy for the driving range (just up the road) and just a short drive into Jedburgh. There was lots to do in the area and a short trip to Tweedbank takes you to the Borders railway to go to Edinburgh. I'm sure we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your review. So glad you had a lovely stay and took advantage of the Borders Railway to Edinburgh- it's great that you can park for free and be in Edinburgh in less than an hour, with great views on the way. Also glad the kids had a good time and hopefully you can return when they're a bit older and can use the cosy attic room- it's my favourite too. I'm so glad you found things comfortable, and I'm delight to say that VisitScotland renewed our 4 stars today, kind regards to all the family, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james_hal...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage; great location!”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a great cottage, and perfect for us and our two kids (3 & 6); we had a great time there. The owners were really helpful; the eggs, milk and bottle of wine were very welcome when we arrived! Loads of space in the cottage; the garden was great for the kids to play in; really well kitted out and well decorated; the log burner and TV/Blu-ray were perfect for the colder afternoons. It's set back from the main road so the noise isn't a problem, and it was really easy to get to places. The large Sainsbury's at Kelso is 15mins away which is handy, Jedburgh about 10 is worth a visit. Nearby Harestanes Visitors Centre is brill (and free) with a great playground for the kids (and coffee for the adults!). Born In The Borders is also worth a visit, the kids can play in the pirate ship while you have a nosy in the brewery! Floors Castle is also worth looking into. We'd definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was comfy and cosy in the lounge.
Liked least: Maybe the garden could have beed more enclosed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your review- great to hear that you were out and about at some of the great family-based attractions in the area- have spent many years visiting Harestanes (but alas, my son is not so keen now at 16!!). Sounds like you really made the most of the local area, including Kelso, but i'm sure there is still things you could explore on another visit to the beautiful Borders! Thanks again, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salonen13
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing with nice walks on the doorstep”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage is as advertised. Smoke alarm very sensitive (opened the oven door and it went off).

Cottage is comfortable and everyone enjoyed our time there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: smoke alarm
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Hi there, many thank for taking the time to review the cottage, and so glad you enjoyed the great walks right from the door. I'll get my husband to look at the smoke alarms immediately, guest safety is obviously a prime concern but so it the comfort of your ear drums!! So sorry for any inconvenience caused, kind regards, Sarah Watters
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This cottage is fabulous. Beautifully decorated, clean, well equipped and in a great location just outside Jedburgh. We only arrived home a couple of days ago and I'm already planning another trip. I can't speak highly enough of this place.

There was a major storm one night which took out the power for a couple of hours, but on each bedside table is a small torch provided in case of power cuts. I'm not even that organised at home - that is the level of provision in this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Hi there, thanks so much for doing a review so quickly! Sorry to hear about the power but, but yes, hence the torches! Doesn't happen too often but old power cables and high winds don't mix. So glad you were able to make use of the deck and the BBQ- you certainly hit a great week of weather. We would love to welcome you all back next year to explore the Borders again, and can be flexible with arrival/departure dates again. Next year, you'll be able to take a day trip to Edinburgh on our new train (from Sep 2015), with the station only a 15 minute drive from the cottage. Thanks again for your custom, kind regards, Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing