We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage in idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage
Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
The open plan ground floor at Stybarrow Cottage .. warm, spacious and well equipped
The comfortable lounge where you can relax in front of the fire
Plenty of books and guides to help you plan your days out
Relaxed dining at home
The dining area and lounge
The lovely kitchen at Stybarrow Cottage with views of the Lakeland fells from the kitchen window
If it's your turn to cook, you can still join in the chat and make sure your wine is topped up!
The kitchen is well equipped and has most things you need for dining at home
The top floor double bedroom .... you can watch the stars from your bed
Your settee with a view .... in the top floor bedroom
The seating area in the top floor bedroom with views of Place Fell and Keldas
The first floor double bedroom
The first floor double bedroom has superb views of the Lakeland scenery
The twin bedroom which looks on to Glenridding Dodd and Sheffield Pike
The twin bedroom has plenty of storage for all those bits and bobs you bring on holiday
The modern bathroom at Stybarrow Cottage. There is a separate shower room and second toilet.
The view from the cottage door at the back of the cottage
The patio and barbecue at Stybarrow Cottage
The garden and surrounding scenery
The beauty of the Ullswater valley ... without moving your car
Bluebells near Lanty's Tarn - a short walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mountain7...
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage has a relaxed atmosphere and is surrounded by inspired scenic views of landscape. The coal fire kept me warm and I enjoyed maintaining my tradition of making toast with my toasting fork, of which has a unique taste all it's own better more than any toaster I think.

The bed was comfortable and I slept well and enjoyed the top bedroom, of which looks out to the surrounding mountains and trees and sitting on the sofa listening to relaxing music, was a perfect way to unwind after such an enjoyable day amongst the great outdoors. From the doorstep there is such a variation of choice of walks and also mountains to climb.

Christine is a such a great host, friendly, very welcoming and hospitable and makes lovely almond biscuits, of which was my welcome gift from her upon my arrival at the cottage of which I enjoyed.

The first time I came here, I could never have imagined that I would have gone on to return back again for another eight years. But I enjoy staying in the cottage very much and being among the outdoors of such breath taking landscape and the peace that surrounds it.

Once you have been once, you just want to keep coming back. This was my ninth year here and I look forward to returning back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Hello and thank you so much for your review. It is always lovely to see you and your family. Looking forward to seeing you next year for your 10th visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
velcrovix...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We came for a family Christmas and what five star treatment we received . Greeted on arrival with home baked mince pies a roaring fire and presents under the beautiful tree . There really is everything you could ever need in this wonderful cottage . Can't recommend highly enough .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
Hope you all enjoyed your Christmas at Stybarrow Cottage. It was lovely to meet you all. And it was fantastic that your children were so excited about Christmas and Santa Claus. I went home with a smile on my face.

Best wishes for 2017.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily K
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Find”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a cottage in Glenriding due to attending a wedding nearby and we couldn't have been more happier than staying in this lovely cottage. From the moment we got there we had a very warm welcome from the owner who was very helpful and informative. There were biscuits awaiting us when we got there which were a very nice touch and went down well with a cuppa after a 4 hour drive! The cottage is so well equipped with things that you wouldn't have even thought of taking and very clean and tidy. There is a fabulous coal fire which makes it very cosy. There is enough room for 6 people without overcrowding each other. The views from every window of the cottage makes it such a wonderful place to stay, especially sitting in the garden in the sun surrounded by the hills! There is nothing more to say apart from how wonderful this cottage is, just like a home from home. When we return to the Lakes, we will definitely make sure we stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and that the wedding at the Inn on the Lake went well. We hope to see you again when you come back to the Lakes.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen c
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This is the second time we have stayed in this cottage over Christmas and it was just as perfect as the first time. The cottage is set in a beautiful location with fantastic views. The cottage itself is homely, exceptionally clean, and very well equipped. The bathrooms are modern and the beds are extremely comfortable. The owner is very helpful and made our stay extra special with a lovely Christmas tree, gifts and the fire lit for us on arrival. We would definitely recommend this cottage and will be returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Happy New Year! It was lovely to see you again over Christmas and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison J
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just had a weekend at this wonderful cottage, it's beautifully furnished with three good sized bedrooms and plenty of lovely living space.
The cottage is fully kitted out with a fitted kitchen and plenty of crockery and kitchen utensils, it has a lovely open plan area downstairs with a large dining table and lovely comfy sofas in front of the open fire.
Sadly the weather was against us as it often is in November so we didn't experience the outdoor areas but the bedroom at the back and in the loft space had wonderful views of the countryside.
The cottage is perfectly located - just a short stroll to the local shops and hotels for a bite to eat and there's a cosy pub just up the road.
The cottage had it's own parking space and there were spaces out the front as well.
It was good value for money and beautiful inside - would highly recommend.
The highlight for me was the comfy bed and the stunning bedding, unfortunately I didn't get to meet the owner but my friend Joan did who booked the cottage, Christine, where can I buy that beautiful duvet set from?!
Thank you for a lovely comfy stay, it was just sadly too short and over too quickly!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The decor and layout
Liked least: Nothing to dislike, not even the weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Hi Alison. Sorry that we didn't meet you but we're really pleased that you enjoyed your break at Stybarrow Cottage. Certainly not the best of weathers but hopefully it was cosy in the cottage. I will email Joan with info about the bed linen. Glad you liked it!

Hope to see you again.

Christine and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing