We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Stybarrow Cottage : traditional fire, free WiFi, off road parking
Stybarrow Cottage - a spacious and comfortable former miners' cottage
Stybarrow Cottage - a delightful home from home in the Lake District National Park.
The open plan ground floor at Stybarrow Cottage .. warm, spacious and well equipped
Plenty of books and guides to help you plan your days out
Relaxed dining at home
The dining area and lounge
The lovely kitchen at Stybarrow Cottage with views of the Lakeland fells from the kitchen window
If it's your turn to cook, you can still join in the chat and make sure your wine is topped up!
The kitchen is well equipped and has most things you need for dining at home
The top floor double bedroom .... you can watch the stars from your bed
The seating area in the top floor bedroom with views of Place Fell and Keldas
The first floor double bedroom
The first floor double bedroom has superb views of the Lakeland scenery
The twin bedroom which looks on to Glenridding Dodd and Sheffield Pike
The twin bedroom has plenty of storage for all those bits and bobs you bring on holiday
The modern bathroom at Stybarrow Cottage. There is a separate shower room and second toilet.
The view from the cottage door at the back of the cottage
The garden and surrounding scenery
The beauty of the Ullswater valley ... without moving your car
Bluebells near Lanty's Tarn - a short walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glenridding, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie E
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming cottage”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Fabulous cottage. Christine has thought of everything that might be needed. Excellant communication from booking through to the stay.
Welcomed by a roaring fire and home made cake - very thoughtful after a long journey.
The location is idea. 2 minutes from ammenities and the lake.
Would recommend the cottage highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellant location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgangir...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even Hurricane Gonzales didn't spoil our stay!!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the lit coal fire when we arrived to the mobile phone (with signal) provided everything we could have needed was there. Even my friends who are skilled cooks has all the equipment needed. The scenery even in the rain was stunning we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WirralWay...
The Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I rented this charming cottage as a base for our one week walking holiday and also to attend our friends wedding at the 'Inn on the lake' hotel. Upon our arrival Christine met us and walked us through everything, although, everything was impeccably written down in the information book anyway. This is the cottage that has absolutely everything!!!! You could holiday here for a week without taking any games/ book/ dvds etc - as there is more than enough for you to do with what has been provided at the cottage. It also boasts every cooking utensil and kitchen ware item that you could think off!! Everywhere was clean on arrival - sheets/ towels etc. Coal fire was already alight and heating up the cottage nicely. Rooms are well presented and have everything that you require - we stayed in the top room (velux windows offering great views of the night sky. Fantastic location for numerous walks and a pub only 500 yrds away!!! Fantastic break - thanks Christine.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob5010
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, well equipped cottage in quiet location with welcoming owners.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

On our arrival at Stybarrow cottage at the beginning of our stay, Christine (the owner) was on hand to greet us and talk us through not only the specifics of the cottage that we might need to know about, but also the area in general, suggesting walks, places to see and places to eat out. She was very friendly and welcoming which instantly made us feel at home and set us off to a good start.
The cottage proved to be really well equipped with everything a guest might need and more.
From a packed bookshelf containing walking guides (Christine having taken the time to point out the one she recommended as the best), to an open coal fire ready to be lit and even a pint of milk in the fridge for the much-needed post-journey cuppa.
Everything was very clean and well laid out.
The location of the cottage really is perfect, especially for those who love the outdoors, with some of the best walking and mountain biking to be found anywhere accessible from the doorstep, no car journey necessary. Five minutes walk will take you down to the lake side if canoes, steamers and paddling are your thing.
We had a fantastic stay at Stybarrow cottage, with no complaints about anything (other than having to go home). We hope to return in future and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les E
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cottage we have stayed in!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Stybarrow Cottage and we cannot praise it highly enough. Christine is a fabulous host and the cottage is cosy, welcoming and extremely well equipped. It is in a wonderful position - walks straight from the door include Helvellyn and the lake shore. Lovely garden with a BBQ area. Top floor bedroom has fabulous views. It really is a wonderful place for a totally relaxing break!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - couldn't fault it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing