We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
120
82
13
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
82
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana plantation tennis courts main building biscuits palm trees swimming pool fixed menu table tennis golf range min walk breakfast room on tuesdays helpful and friendly staff great pool tenerife holiday glass of wine northern part
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Do you know what it feels like smelling dozens of different roses in a garden?
Have you ever stayed in a historical banana plantation?
Do you often watch the sea as you take your breakfast?
Do you like having a glass of wine under palm trees at night?
Do you know what traditional hospitality of North Tenerife mean?
If you have answered no to one of the above, it is time for you to try El Patio, one of my favourite hotels in the world. It is simple, accessible yet full of elegance and charm.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Erik_from_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We were in El Patio for five days in november and very much recommend it. The rooms are nice and spatious, the buildings are beautifull, and full of history and the staff is very friendly. It's best to have a car because it's a little bit off road but still close enough to restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marjolijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We spent 6 nights at El Patio in late October. The weather was disappointing: warm but often cloudy and some torrential rain showers. However we very much enjoyed our week in the banana plantation near the beautiful town of Garachico.

We had 2 rooms and the hotel positioned us next to our children's room .These were standard rooms but they were a reasonable size and our bed was comfortable. The only issue was that sound proofing was not brilliant and on the 1st day we were particularly disturbed by noise though subsequent days were much better.

The courtyard of the hotel was beautiful with big, comfortable chairs to lounge in. As mentioned in other reviews ,wi fi did not work in the rooms and was sketchy in the court yard but it was enough for us. The sports facilities were good and we used the tennis court, table tennis, and badminton (equipment available for all). The children also spent a lot of time in the swimming pool though it wasn't warm enough for me. Beach towels were provided. There were beautiful views over the banana plantations and colourful gardens to the sea beyond. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts, again with great views.

The staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. They organised an earlier breakfast on the last day so that we could leave in time for the airport and were very helpful with any queries.

We enjoyed some fabulous dinners in Garachico which was only a 5 minutes drive away with plentiful parking. There were enough good restaurants for us to eat in a different place each night!

We based ourselves at the hotel but did a few trips out. One of our favourite was the walk down from Masca to the beach and back again. This was a stunning walk which required a little clambering and some breath taking views. It is an estimated 5 1/2 - 6 hour round trip but if you walk down it is possible to then book a boat transfer back to Los Gigantes (and then bus to your car). The most hair raising part of the trip was the road journey to get to and from Masca along narrow, steep and bendy roads.

We also drove to Playa de las Teresitas in the North East which was a huge beach with imported Saharan sand, meant to be one of the most beautiful beaches in Tenerife. Unfortunately it turned wet when we were there but we got to see a different part of the island and the sea was warm enough for the children to swim in.

We were very near Icod so we visited the tallest dragon tree in the world and also enjoyed wondering around the streets of nearby La Orotava.

We hired a car through Autoreisen which was definitely necessary for this trip and all seemed to work smoothly.
Overall this was a lovely relaxing stay in a more attractive, albeit wetter, part of Tenerife, relative to the south.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Wonderful place in the less touristy, greener Northern part of the island. Quite, relaxing place in an authentic Spanish environment. Neighboring village has a couple of very nice fish restaurants and it is a good place to explore the Northern part of the island. Would return, many regular guests.

Location: about 5-10 min drive from the lovely village of Garachico (which is not very touristy and has some excellent fish restos), the hotel is surrounded by banana plantages. The hotel has signposted 3 walks of which one is perfect for a morning jog (ca 4km) meandering thru the platange, passing sometimes the sea. Absolutely quite at night. Drive from Tenerife South takes around 1:30 as it goes over the mountains. Car is a requirement.First time somewhat hard to find.

Rooms: in traditional Spanish style with shutters, comfortable in size and furnishings. Wifi was sometimes a bit weak. Most rooms go to the inner yard and have chairs to sit outside of the room.

Amenities: The highlight of the property is the courtyard with the old palm trees. Everywhere are sofas and it is a perfect place to enjoy the calm either during the day or at night when there are little lights on all the tables. There is WIFI, so nice to lounge around and do some reading. There is also a lounge and an honesty bar - all very civilized. There is a small pool and a tennis court. We were there in December when swimming in the bay (15 min walk) was too rough and went to a local beach by car. The owners are super nice and we had a guided tour of the plantage and the old house. Breakfast is very nice with local produce (bananas) and a wide choice.Breakfast room has a gorgeous view over the plantage and the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Lovely Lovely place to stay. I split my holiday on the 2 sides of the island. Garachico is on the more greener side of the island so its cooler than the other side. For that reason I split my holiday between two centres staying 4 days in Hotel Rural El Patio and 3 days in the other. I am glad I spent the longer time of my trip in El Patio as it had far more character and depth that the other big tourist hotel. The staff were lovely. Garachico is a sweet little town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote_patio, Propietario at Hotel Rural El Patio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

Thanks for your opinion. I am happy with that the hotel and staff has been to his liking. Our intention is that you enjoy and feel at home. Regards, Elena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews