We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
232
62
12
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
62
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duplex room san roque roof terrace boutique hotel breakfast and dinner spiral staircase the ground floor first floor eggs cooked to order swimming pool set menu communal areas other guests small village modern art rock pools walking holiday
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The San Roque is certainly an unusual hotel with beautiful public places to sit. We were unlucky with the weather which was unsettled, mostly cool and wet in Garachico, so the swimming pool and roof terrace weren’t an option. The duplex suite was dark and though warm enough, thanks to a radiator in the bedroom, wasn’t cosy. As other reviewers have noted the staff are very pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts good, but we feel the room rate is high.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

The hotel was essentially rebuilt in the 1990's and is a superb example of a Tenerifean (well off) family house. The poolside restaurant is fine for most mornings and evenings as it is well protected from the weather.
The food is a fusion of the Canaries and Mainland Spain and is mainly locally sourced.
Rooms are generous and quiet whilst there is a roof terrace for sun worshippers

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pauln690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights here and very much enjoyed it - a very comfortable, beautifully restored hotel which felt warm and uplifting. All of the staff were excellent - attentive and helpful. In fact, this is probably the best hotel we have stayed in in Spain over the course of several decades. Breakfast and dinner are served around the pool and both were of a very high standard. Garachico and the surrounding area have a lot to offer (including lots of great walks) and we were very lucky with the late January weather of 24C and clear blue skies. We certainly plan to return for a longer stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cuchulain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We stayed at the San Roque for 8 nights as a base for a walking holiday booked through Headwater.

The hotel is a small privately owned Canarian mansion in the centre of Garachico which embraces the culture of Tenerife perfectly. It is beautifully decorated, mixing traditional and modern furniture and artwork, creating a relaxed, peaceful and friendly atmosphere.

We had a lovely room at the front of the hotel, which was meticulously clean and quiet despite facing the street. The bath tub in the bedroom area was a little disconcerting at first, but after a day's challenging walking, extremely welcome !

The restaurant is set around the small pool and is excellent. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with eggs cooked to order. The tortilla was a particular favourite.

We had dinner in the hotel each night, as part of our package, and the menu never disappointed. Neither did the wine !

All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even providing me with my English obsession of a morning cup of strong tea ! Thank you, San Roque, very much appreciated !!

Garachico is a beautiful town, steeped in tradition, history and local colour . Well worth exploring. There are plenty of bars and restaurants and tapas for lunch. It is an ideal base for walking and exploring the stunning and varied scenery on this incredible island.

I cannot fault San Roque in any way. It made a great holiday perfecto !!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarbie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile


Having visited Tenerife before and been disappointed by the main tourist areas, we found this superb little hotel to exceed all our expectations.
The hotel is a lovely restored building near the centre of Garachico on the north west coast of Tenerife. In January the town was very quiet despite some local festivals.
Our upgraded room was great , even if having the bath in the main bedroom is a bit odd. We did not use the pool but the sun roof area is lovely if the sun shines.
All the staff were excellent , nothing was too much and they genuinely want you to have a good time .
Drinks are very good value and breakfast was simple but very good with fresh tortillas and cakes each day alongside fruit meats etc.
We had the daily menu as part of our package - though limited to a single choice for each course we enjoyed it all - we did not use the main menu but it looked good . Our package also included the house wine which was great to our taste.
As we were on a walking holiday we had plenty to do , but if just staying you will need a car as all roads in and out are very steep and windy . There are buses but take a long time to get anywhere. The north of Tenerife has some stunning walks and views not to be missed
One small criticism was the Wi-Fi in the room which was a poor signal , but better in the communal areas
Overall we loved the hotel , and would thoroughly recommend it , particularly as it has changed our view of Tenerife and the Canaries in General

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tractorboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews