We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic 5 star stylish home”
other travellers have booked this property
The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View
View at Sunset towards Rathmullen View at Sunset towards Fanad Head
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The View
View at Sunset towards Rathmullen
View at Sunset towards Fanad Head
Kitchen from Lounge section
Opening into Kitchen
Playroom
Upstairs bath
Upstairs Bathroom
Upstairs bathroom shower
Master looking into ensuite
Master ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fahan, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharon M
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic 5 star stylish home”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here with another couple and our kids and can't recommend it highly enough. The house had been recently built and completed to an extremely high standard and everything was brand new throughout. The layout, the decor, the space and the views - all perfect. The separate area for the kids was also a winner - this meant that we could make dinner and enjoy the breathtaking panoramic views whilst the kids were just next to us within view but also in their own space. I can't recommend this house highly enough and Clare was really easy to deal with throughout the booking process.
Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We would love to welcome you back again. kind regards Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eefsy
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Most beautiful house in great location ”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My whole family and I decided to spend New Year in Donegal and found this house on a holiday home website. We got up to the house and found it to be one of the most beautiful homes we have ever stayed in. It is really big with plenty of room for 11 adults and 3 kids. The views were spectacular even when overcast.

The house was always warm and had a very welcoming feel. There was a playroom for the kids which kept our 3 very busy and entertained. The bedrooms are all large and comfortable. The kitchen had all the amenities you could want and is really beautiful.

The house is in a great location, close to Derry, Letterkenny and many local attractions. As well as this Clare was a wonderful host, she was helpful and friendly and got back to me about everything really quickly. I cannot recommend this house enough and cannot wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards, clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars586
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We searched for a house which was accessible for a wheelchair user, suited the needs of my parents who now have mobility issues and would also be a great venue for teenagers. Hard task but we found it in this house!!!
The house is absolutely beautiful, it suited our needs really well. The view from the whole front of the house is fantastic. Great when you think of the changeable Irish weather so we saw every season in every day pass by and watched the ferry travelling back and forth... Very therapeutic.
The house is spotless, lovely and very suitable for all of our needs. Claire, the owner , was texting and making sure that everything was alright. I have to say it was perfect for us and if Claire allows us we will definitely be back....
Such a lovely warm welcome and cosy yet beautifully modern house. Thank you so much for a great holiday.... Loved every minute!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We appreciate all the feedback. kind regards, Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syb09123
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't reccomend this house enough”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed in this holiday home with my friends when visiting Ireland for a wedding. The house is beautiful and the views are outstanding. This newly built house was ideal for our stay and accommodated for everyone.

The house contains everything you could imagine and would be ideal for kids too, due got the well stocked playroom and lovely garden.

I would recommend that you have a car while staying here in order to get into the nearest town. Is also a good idea to have good directions where the house is as the road is not marked and we drove past the entrance a few times when we arrived.

Clare was great at keeping in touch and I would highly recommend this holiday home, as would the rest of the group I was travelling with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Siobhan thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at our house. We would love to welcome you back again. Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbinbarba...
Barbados
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful house, spectacular view, great location”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We live in Toronto and planned an extended holiday in Ireland, with our family which consisted of my wife and myself, our two daughters, their husbands and our four grandchildren (aged 6 months to 5 years).

We had the good fortune to be the first people to rent this newly built house for 4 weeks in May 2015. This proved to be the perfect house for a large family, with enough space to accommodate all of us and friends and family who came to visit throughout our stay.

The view over Lough Swilly was truly spectacular. The floor to ceiling windows in the ground floor rooms at the front of the house enabled us to enjoy the vista all day, every day. The sunsets were breathtaking and you should bring binoculars to get close up views of the activity on the water.

The large kitchen was the central point with everyone gravitating here for meals and to chat and enjoy the view. The kitchen itself was fully equipped with everything we needed and more.

The playroom next door to the kitchen was ideal – fully equipped with games, toys and books and the opening through the wall from kitchen allowed us to monitor the kids playing while they could enjoy their own space.

The living room proved very useful when we had visitors and needed a quieter area to relax, chat and enjoy the marvelous view.

The large gravel yard at the back of the house was a great place for the kids to let off steam running around and kicking a ball etc.

We found the situation of the house ideal for our needs. The views of the lough and the hills beyond were amazing, even impressing our Irish relatives who came to visit. Our grandchildren enjoyed the daily walks down the hill to see the neighbours chickens and visit the field of sheep. Unfortunately May 2015 turned out to be a very cool and wet month, so we didn’t spend as much time on the beach as we had planned but we were close to Buncrana (enjoyable walks, great outdoor play park and an indoor one, “Wains World” , restaurants, pubs, supermarket and small shops etc). It was a 15 minute drive to historic Derry / Londonderry where there is lots to see, larger shops and a great indoor play experience called Bananas for the really wet days.
Least liked – coming from North America, it took us a while to figure out the heating system and the laundry room appliances but the owner’s family, who live near by, was very accommodating in coming to help us any time we needed it.

Overall we feel very fortunate to have found this location and everyone in our family has happy memories of “The Swilly House”. We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic living space and view
Liked least: Minor issues learning the plumbing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to make a detailed review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time and would love to welcome you back. Kindest regards, Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing