We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Morpheas Apartments
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I couldn't have felt more at home at Morpheas. The room was simple and spotlessly shiny, and my private balcony looked onto aquamarine waters. Olga's sweet mother met me at the front desk, and let me choose which of two rooms I preferred. And Olga and her husband provided helpful advice about local hikes (the Old Mill path through olive groves and the cliff-hugging path that begins at the end of the east beach are terrific) as well as bus schedules that helped me settle in easily in this quaint seaside town. With a grocery store just a few steps away, along with cute cafes and restaurants, you have everything you need for a low-key getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALG_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

The mixture of laid back Plakias and the roomy and very well equipped Morpheas appartments make for the ideal relaxing Greek holiday.
The booking itself was professionally handled by Olga and on arrival we were welcomed by Manolis, her husband, who was available throughout our stay. Everyday our appartment was cleaned by a very attentive young lady. The appartments are on the seafront with supermarkets, coffee shops and tavernas within strolling distance. A big favourite is Mouses, near the harbour, where the welcome, the quality of the Greek dishes, the service and the general atmosphere are second to none.
Plakias is definitely worth a visit offering the opportunity of plenty of places and beaches to visit or for a relaxing time in the village or in the stylish beach bar at the eastern end.
If you do then I recommend staying at Morpheas Appartments.

Room Tip: sea view in most studios, appartments generally have mountain view (some side view to sea)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pablo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed for only 6 nights during a 3 week tour of central Crete but will return for a longer stay next time. Our apartment was so well appointed it had everything we needed and more.

We had visited Plakias twice before just for the day from Chania and couldn't work out why we liked it so much - our photos showed a rather scruffy beach and not very beautiful buildings but there was an atmosphere about it we loved. The famous Plakias wind blew strongly for the whole 6 days this trip, but we found it only invigorating and loved the place even more.

This year we had time to explore the surrounding area and discovered many little beaches and coves to swim in, each with its own character, beautiful mountains, history, interesting monasteries and people who made time to speak to you, even at the end of a busy season. Cities like Chania, beautiful as they are, seemed a little harsh and rushed by comparison.

The owner Manolis made us feel welcome and was very patient answering our questions. Our apartment was spacious, quiet and cleaned by a young lady who was both thorough and sensitive to our needs. We could see the mountains from our balcony and a little strip of the beach but the studios at the front have the ultimate seaview and facing south, are a great place to top up tans.

And all this at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have seaviews, those to the side, part mountain + a little of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Northernblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

have just returned from another visit to the Morpheas apartment in Plakias. Spotlessly clean with wonderful views and welcoming owners. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: the rooms at the front have wonderful sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ianScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We travelled to Crete to celebrate our tenth anniversary with our seven year old boys, as well as lots of friends and family. Olga welcomed us with wine and fruit in honour of the occasion and we spent a glorious 11 nights in Plakias. The room service is excellent and everything is kept spotless. The washing machine was a huge boon when travelling with kids and needing to wash beach towels. The south coast of Crete is glorious, with beautiful beaches and incredible landscapes. The tavernas in Plakias serve superb fresh seafood, but you can also eat in the apartments (or on the balcony), as there is a huge fridge and full cooking facilities. We had a wonderful time and will soon make plans to return.

Room Tip: The apartments have a bedroom and a lounge with a separate mezzanine floor that serves as a bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tonia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.2 km away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.9 km away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 km away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#9 of 23 in Plakias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.0 km away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morpheas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morpheas Apartments

Property: Morpheas Apartments
Address: Plakias/Rethymnon, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price range (per night): $49 - $81
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation Morpheas Rent Rooms and Apartments can be found in the center of Plakias. The Libyan sea and rugged mountain views that Morpheas Apartments offers will make your holiday unforgettable. Just 2 steps away, the beautiful long sandy beach can be enjoyed. Morpheas Apartments Plakias provide: Twin bedded rooms, studios for 2-4 persons and two roomed apartments. All rooms and apartments have private bathrooms, air conditioning, fridges and balconies or verandas. The windows in the apartments are double-glazed and are fitted with shutters and fly screens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Morpheas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morpheas Apartments Plakias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing