We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic, relaxing holiday. Just do it.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Fanjeaux, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cookester...
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic, relaxing holiday. Just do it.”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We went as an extended family with our 7 sons between us (age ranging from 14 to 27). The whole holiday was a joy. The villa itself is stunning with the most amazing large pool. We took a pool volleyball net and played for hours. We had table tennis , backgammon and pool volleyball tournaments. I am an avid cook and the massive kitchen area is beautifully stocked with pots, pans and cooking utensils.
The living room is large and comfortable with a smart TV, a library of DVDs and loads of books to borrow,
Evenings were often spent drinking, chatting, playing games, cooking and eating. The actual region of France has copious things to do and visit. We went to Carcassonne medieval city (and watched the jousting which was fabulous). New Carcassonne is also stunning and worth a second visit. We went to Lac de la Caveyere and spent a fantastic day (particularly the lads on the ridiculously great fun slides) there. TAKE A PICNIC!
Mirepoix is a stones throw away and beautiful. We spent a happy evening sitting outside a beautiful cafe, chatting, eating, drinking (again) and people watching.
Catriona and Martin live next door and are unobtrusive, very very helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
Tips - You need a car to get around - Taxis are non-existent - apparently the restaurant in Fanjeux is fabulous but the owners ere on hols when we were there :( (maybe they heard we were coming...) If you are flying, it is an easy journey from Carcassonne airport (30 mins max) to the villa.
If you hire a car, buy the additional Car hire excess insurance before you go (about £30 for 2 weeks.)

Anyway. Book it. Enjoy it. I know you will :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, pool, location.
Liked least: Would be nice to have the beds made for arrival.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
We are so glad that you all enjoyed yourselves and also that you scored whitewater rafting of your bucket list and lived to tell the tale!
We have put Aqua Viva at Lac de la Caveyere just 2 minutes from La Cite of Carcassonne on OUR bucket list for next summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski365
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with staggering views”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 2 weeks and were very happy with the property and location. Great pool and great weather. Loads of things to do nearby - white water rafting near the pyrenees, water activities at lake cavayère and of course Carcassone and Mirepoix are amazing places to visit.
Overall a great holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Many thanks for reviewing Le Presbytere, Orsans - it makes such a difference to us to know what you really enjoyed about your holiday, so that we can improve for future guests. We really enjoyed having you all to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
1 review
“Perfect escape from the rat race”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Ideal retreat for mixed groups looking for a base to explore this fantastic region. It has everything you need to cater for the full 16 guests and is spacious enough to not feel crowded.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your review and glad that the wedding went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Idyllic house”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just spent an idyllic week in Le Presbytère with two other families and several drop-in guests. The owners, Catriona & Martin, live next door and were very helpful with minor problems and recommendations without being intrusive. The house is huge, with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, a well-equipped kitchen and lots of seating space, including an outdoor shady terrace. The upper floors have great views of the Pyrenees.

Nearby Mirepoix - a lovely medieval bastide town - has a great market on Mondays, and the closest supermarket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your review, David - I'm sure that it will really help future guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane B
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful house with wonderful gardens and views.”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in September 2014

Having holidayed in the property a few years before we were surprised at how the owners had updated what we considered already a beautiful place. Seven bedrooms and bathrooms catered for our large group of 14 easily. The house has a tranquil feeling and we relaxed as soon as we had unpacked. There is plenty of room in the house and the kitchen caters for big groups with plenty of seating. The Lounge has a wonderful wood burner and leather sofa's to chill out on.
Outside the pool is amazing with chairs to lounge about on. A splendid covered bar-b-q area with seating for everyone. A superb family holiday staying in a beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and peacefulness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks, Shane. We are glad that you liked our renovations - we look forward to showing you the latest ones next July!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 334
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing