We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Rural Holiday of My Life”
other traveller has booked this property
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The courtyard leads to the main entrance
the house from part way up the drive
the main doors lead from the courtyard into the leaving room
the living room is too big to photograph well - this is one of the sitting areas
the main fireplace, which is very atmospheric in spring or autumn
the other end of the living room, with the pool table, old piano, and the library
the library sitting area area in the evening
the kitchen has oak work tops and is large enough for several cooks
it is very well equipped, to semi-professional standards
the range cooker is tucked under a 300 year old oak beam
its very comfortable for large groups
there are 6 en suite bedrooms, all similar to this
another typical bedroom, simple but comfortable
the simple en suite bathrooms are all like this
you might prefer to eat out in the courtyard, which is a real sun trap
or perhaps on the terrace, looking out over our fields
the grass in front of the terrace looks over to the 12th century village just across the valley
the 11 x 5 m poo is solar heated.  It has its own walled and sheltered garden that gets sun all day
the pool is open until sunset, and cleaned for you regularly
you might like to walk in the grounds - thats the 12th C church in the background
this is the estate from our land, with snow capped Pyrenees in the background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Fanjeaux, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kate H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Rural Holiday of My Life”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our fourth trip to Domaine de Puget, and the nicest rural holiday we've even taken (and we've taken a lot in our time). Everything was delightful: the very comfortable accommodation (the plentiful library made me feel as though I was still at home!), the delicious dinner left by John on our first night, the beautiful surroundings, with wonderful walks to take each afternoon, the helpful leaflets left on local beauty spots and place of interest, John and Janie's good advice on where to go and what to see, the tips on where to shop in the beautiful local town, Mirepoix, and the pool, in which I swam most afternoons. After a very busy late summer, we spent a week feeling thoroughly relaxed, and very healthy for all the fresh air and good gentle exercise. And John and Janie also very kindly booked us in to a superb local restaurant (L'Abbaye du Camon) so we could have a delayed celebration of my birthday one evening. Altogether a wonderful stay, and I'd warmly recommend Le Puget as one of the most lovely holiday places in France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The idyllic surroundings, lovely accomodation and kindness of our hosts
Liked least: I liked everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb property, ideal location”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a superb property consisting of and old farmhouse and a large barn conversion. Both properties are extremely well-equipped with, in the case of the barn, everything from a professionally equipped kitchen to a piano, we couldn't have wished for more; there is also a large swimming pool and a barn where you can park your car undercover.

The owners were very welcoming and accommodating and gave us advice on what to see & do, of which there is plenty as the property is ideally situated between Carcassonne and Mirepoix, there are also plenty of walks available directly from the property. The owners also prepared a celebratory meal including wine for 12 of us and pulled out all the stops to ensure we all enjoyed it, which did immensely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanWieren
Lemmer, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is what you had in mind - staying on the French countryside - Sunflowers, wine, pool, stunning views.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked the smaller house (Farmhouse) for a family of 5 (4 adults and one 2 year old). We needed a place close to Mirepoix and Carcassonne. We pictured south of France, sunflowers, hills and sun. We got more. The house is spacious, well decorated and fully equipped. The house stays nice and cool in the summer and there are different terraces you can use based on sitting in the sun or shade. There is a lot of open space to barbecue or have a walk on the massive property. The pool is very nice. Views are stunning.

You do need to drive for your shopping but hey - you've booked the countryside.

As for the host, John and Janet were very, very friendly and have made our stay an absolute pleasure. Advise on where to eat and what to drink was very helpful.

I would definitely recommend to book this. We will come back, probably for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful, very well equipped”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from an amazing stay at Le Puget with 12 friends. The perfect location for a holiday for a big group of friends - unbelievably beautiful countryside, a gorgeous big pool and sunbathing area, table tennis and lots of games, a stunning old French house and barn conversion with nice bedrooms and en suite bathrooms, a great big kitchen and dining area, two terraces for outside eating with lovely views of sunflower fields, a bbq and John and Janie were really obliging and generous with lots of suggestions and advice when we needed it. I can't wait to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave h
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!..”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently had a wedding to attend in the south of France it is the first time that myself and family have been to the rural regions of France ..close to the Pyrenees Mountains. I have to say ..breathtaking!!!.is an understatement, what an absolutely incredible and inspiring place to go.
We stayed at the barn domaine de Puget which we had read excellent reviews about and it seemed to cater for the size of our party and had facilities for both us and the kids and also an elderly member of the party which I have to say John (owner) when the out of his way to accommodate for.
The actual property is stunning the pictures seem tiny compared to the actual size of this place if the pictures impress the reality will be overwhelming absolutely huge...front and back stunning views and a relaxing courtyard which is so peaceful at breakfast ..property is exactly the taste of decor you would want and expect from this kind of property, all round absolutely out of the top draw!
Pool is immaculate
Table tennis well positioned
Pool table indoors is fab
MASSIVE MUSIC AND DVD CHOICE..really helps when you have kids and great for setting the tone for wine and conversations accompanied buy great food prepared in their very high spec and very spacious kitchen.
8 burner hob. Two full size ovens underneath.. When you enjoy cooking..walking out of your own kitchen is usually daunting when preparing food for others.. this kitchen is been thought through very well and using it is an absolute pleasure.
Other things to note:-
Loads of land, beautiful walks, huge array of wildlife from Golden eagles, otters, huge moths glowworms, carpenter bees et cetera et cetera ...many of which I've never seen before!
If I continue then John will have nothing to share with you upon your arrival I can only conclude by saying if you can, you absolutely must go!!!this an enchanting, delightful and most pleasant experience.
10/10 John .. You and your wife are a credit and we very much appreciated the extra effort you made to make it perfect for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing