We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kunal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kunal
Ranked #60 of 138 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you want to select Dharamshala as your base and travel to McLeod Ganj and other places, this is your best option. Run by HPTDC, the hotel ensures a quality experience for the traveller. The food is very good, mainly because the hotel has its own independent restaurant. The view from the deluxe rooms is great as you can see distant snow capped peaks. Location is great as it is near the bus stop and the ISBT.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top most floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arnabtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    21
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
24
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I visited hotel Kunal Dharamshala from 20.03.12 to 23.03.12 This hotel run by Himachal Tourism, Hotels rooms are very spacious & view from rooms is also very nice & main attraction is restaurant food & staff of restaurant Food is very tasty & stewards are very nice but working style of staff of reception is just like government employee nobody is ready to listen your problems even they will not tell any detail of tourist place they can smile if you are ready to book any cab thru reception staff

Room Tip: Reception staff is lazy & rude
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VishnuDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dharamsala, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

i was so afraid due to previous reviews of kunal , but when i reached here , i was so happy to get this much of at very low cost. i asked to manager about these review he told these was old review due to previous staff, now all changed, food was excellent typical north Indian, wooden restaurant wo bhi attached . it really amazing experience with kunal ,tnx 2 hptdc. i will give it 4.5 out of 5

Room Tip: i took suite , it was 4/5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepak469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
324 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

The place is located on the way to main bazaar opp icici atm.
There is good space in the compound and parking is not an issue atall.
The staff here is a bit lethargic and you have to work it up with them. We reached late and wanted to check their rooms, but the staff were not too intereted.
The rooms are ok here but not too much to recommend.
Its surrounded by greenery and as the hotel is built at lower elevation from the road, it gets dark quickly in evenings. From the attitude of staff, we could get a feel of what could follow and did not opt for the stay here. The place is some distance away (before) the main street where their are plenty of options to stay and dine.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skagarwal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

That is what precisely happened with us. We had to stay there because it was late in the evening and there was no alternative available in the vicinity. So we checked in to the facility. We were greeted by one of the most unfriendly staff at the reception I have ever encountered in a hotel. The list of disappointments is endless. To begin with, the flush in the toilet was not operating properly, after a shower, the bathroom got flooded terribly. There was the smallest size of CRT based TV in the room put on a makeshift table. The reception quality and sound were pathetic. The door of the room would not lock properly. We had to call the hotel staff to fix it, who did a shoddy job in doing so. Wardrobe did not have a single hanger. Toileteries were of very poor quality. The bed had bugs. Shall never return to this hotel ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dharamsala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.0 km away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.0 km away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.0 km away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.0 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#51 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunal

Property: The Kunal
Address: Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The Kunal Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing