We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a wedding!”
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding!”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Whale View Manor is a fabulous place to visit, rest, enjoy the ambiance or even get married. We recently spent 3 nights there and held our wedding ceremony in front of the Manor on Boulder's Beach with a champaign reception and a private dinner for two in the Manor's luxurious dining room. We were treated royally and had such a remarkable time. Sue and Dominique and their staff we totally accommodating and make everything work so seemlessly. It was an amazingly beautiful and memorable time for us and we will return for a longer stay. South Africa is an amazing part of the world and probably the most beautiful.

Room Tip: A sea view room at the front of the hotel is amazing and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
84
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We just came back form a three week hol in South Africa, spent the last ten days at
Whale View Manor in Simon`s Town, we hade a whale of a time. Susan and all her staff could not have been more helpfull & the standards where as good, If not better than the 5* hotel we stayed in Cape Town & with a more personel touch.The views from the hotel are fabulous & if you are thinking of going to Cape Town this is a great base, only a short 40-45 min drive to the city centre. Stellenbosch, Constantia, Cape Point, Boulders beach are just a few of the attractions within a short drive. We look forward to returning & will certainly use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zak125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have just returned from south africa we spent are last ten days at whale view manor in simons town.sue and her staff were wounderfull .the food was great especially the breackfast.the view from the hotel was unforgetable we had spa treatments which we wounderfull we will be returning in 2013 thank you all at whale view manor for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at Whale View Manor! Breakfast was divine, the staff was lovely... I asked them to decorate our room especially for our arrival (as it was a surprise for my boyfriend) and they did a wonderful job! We had a couples massage at their spa... so nice! I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful, serene guesthouse. The view from our sea view room made it seem like it was only us and the sea for miles... stunning!!

Room Tip: our sea view room had the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our room had the most beautiful sea view. The breakfast room is gorgeous, elegant. Arrived at Whale View on extensive international travel. They arranged for laundry service and we had our laundry back in less than 12 hours at very reasonable cost. Can also recommend massage at the onsite spa. Rooms do not have phones but they will make hotel phone available to receive and make phone calls. it is a 40 minute walk to Simons Town.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
2.8 km away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
19.8 km away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
5.6 km away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.0 km away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 km away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#9 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Property: Whale View Manor
Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price range (per night): $137 - $212
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Priceline and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing