We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I will definitely be visiting rocklands house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jaquzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Jaquzzi
Pool Table
Games Room
Top Deck
Yacht
Views
Pool
Villiage
Whales
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Simon's Town, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chadicebo...
1 review
“I will definitely be visiting rocklands house again!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very nice place, it has everything you need. All u need is your food and drinks. I would recommend this place either for a family getaway or for a group of friends that want to have a good time. Definitely value for money. We had no issues whatsoever. The owners are also very friendly and kind. You will not be disappointed by booking this vacation home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi Chad glad you enjoyed it, please visit again.

Regards

Lendro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megs546
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“BEST CHOICE MADE”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Firstly, this was the best choice made ever. Myself and a few of my friends was so grateful to the owners for affording us the opportunity to stay at their beautiful holiday house. Everything was cosy, comfy and lovely. We had a fantastic time. We actually didn`t wana leave. We certainly will come again, it was everything and much more what we were hoping for.
I would recommend anybody to go there. Even though we could not use the jacuzzi or the pool because of the weather, we had so much fun with the games and kept ourselves entertained.
Thank you Lendro, we ENJOYED ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Electricity
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thanks Megan glad you enjoyed it. welcome back anytime
Regards
Lendro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M
Toowoomba
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our recent holiday in Simon's Town”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned to Australia after three weeks in South Africa. After a hectic time attending our son's wedding in Johannesburg, our family of young adults, had a planned week of r&r, exploring the Cape, basing ourselves at Murdoch, 4klms beyond Simon's Town. Simon's Town is a delightful "village" where my husband and I had stayed some years ago. Rocklands House was a tad disappointing. The view is magnificent however the house does need maintenance. We needed 4 double bedrooms. As presented in the photos, it certainly is spacious but the bathrooms and kitchen need some running repairs. We had to pay for our power, feeding the system on a number of occasions. We did not use the hot tub so were just accessing normal use of power...hot water and lighting. Ultimately, it didn't matter to us as we were out and about most days however overall the house was disappointing. A car is definitely essential to explore the Cape and access dining and shopping in Simon's Town. Weather very changeable and Murdoch is very exposed to high winds which, since our stay, we have been advised it's more protected on the hill above Simon's Town or around to the East of Simons Town. I feel we could have done better...potentially a house for younger families rather than adults who may be more discerning about the facilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great vista..outlook of house from deck across the ocean
Liked least: Need for maintenance
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Hi Barbara, for pointing out issues, so can attend to it.

Regards

Lendro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoviyeh
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family holiday home!”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a wonderful time at Rocklands House, Beach-Front Holiday Home. Lendro, the owner, was professional and very helpful. He responded to our request to stay almost immediately. The house accommodates 8 people comfotably, has a spectacular view of the Indian Ocean, and wonderful facilities such as a table tennis table, swimming pool and jacuzzi, all features that contribute to a fun filled family holiday. We would definitely recommend this place and hope to return sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the ocean and the jacuzzi.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Hi Hoviyeh i am glad you enjoyed yourselves and are very welcome.

Regards

Lendro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leslie r
Riverview, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable house, excellent views of False Bay!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 6 days at the home, in October, 2015 (Spring). The house was large, comfortable and well furnished. The amenities were just as presented on the profile. The kitchens (both on the main floor and in the game room) were stocked with all the pots/pans/dishes/plates/utensils needed to cook meals or use the grill. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had ample storage for clothing/luggage. Although we did use the hot tub once, the sauna was used frequently. Due to the time of year that we were there, the pool was too cold for comfortable use. The pool/grill area was very private, and the game room was used daily (pool table, ping-pong table, games, partial kitchen and comfortable seating area). For the security conscious, the home has a monitored alarm system (which we activated when we left for the day - a nice security blanket). The home is very close to Simon's Town so restaurants and stores are close (Salty Sea Dog has great fish and chips!). Simon's Town has a small grocery store, but we drove a little farther to the larger Pick and Pay in Fish Hoek. If you visit, don't miss the penguins at Boulder's Beach! Lendro and Vivien were very friendly and accommodating. They responded promptly to all of our questions and needs. As a side note, Vivien is a massage therapist and provides wonderful massages for a very reasonable price. Overall, we would recommend the house to anyone who appreciates the comforts of home while vacationing. We would rent this house again (in a heartbeat!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The excellent views of False Bay!
Liked least: The wi-fi speed was exceptionally slow, almost unusable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
We are very happy you and your family had a great time, do come again

Regards

Lendro & Vivien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing