We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful splendor”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Rectory

View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
The Rectory, Simon's Town View from the upstairs bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View towards the waterfall - upstairs balcony leading off bedrooms
The Rectory, Simon's Town
View from the upstairs bedrooms
huge kitchen including sofa, french doors leading to outdoor area and sea view
Bathroom with mountain views
Reception rooms
Sunrise over the Hottentots Hollands mountains, in the sea, 6.30 am
Beautiful walk to the old reservoir that used to supply the town
Jumping off the rocks, Windmill Beach (not for sissies)
Part of the kitchen - the cook never has to be alone!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Simon's Town, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Darkshade...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blissful splendor”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Rectory in Simonstown offered a beautifully unique experience to unwind and restore. Ideally located around the corner from the bohemian hotspot of Kalkbay for what is a fantastic day out, and also a stones throw away from the magical Boulders Beach, complete with penguins and ethereal atmosphere alike. Owners Jonathan and Sarah were most accommodating and thoroughly helpful along with the housekeeper-Goodleisure, who ensured my stay was comfortable and easy. All in all, a great location to ease away from the intensity of everyday life and unwind in a house that compliments every aspect of a great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A memorable Christmas stay in Simonstown”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Simonstown at The Old Rectory. It proved a perfect base for expeditions around the Cape, visiting family, touring the Winelands, climbing Table Mt, enjoying the atmosphere and shopping in Kalk Bay and just having fun relaxing on beautiful local beaches. I was a little nervous about booking a house as opposed to a hotel for our stay but as we were spending Christmas there I felt it would be much more informal and relaxing. I was grateful for the pictures on the website but I don't feel they provide a complete picture of the house and was utterly delighted when I saw the real thing! It is a beautifully uncluttered, simply but elegantly furnished home with masses of space for guests to relax in so everyone feels they have room to unwind. The bedrooms are large and light, shutters help keep the occasional Cape breeze - the 'doctor' - at bay but allow air and light to circulate. The bathrooms are wonderful - fantastic powerful showers and a great bath placed at the centre of the room. Fabulously comfortable beds and crisp linen. It was a joy to work in the impressively equipped kitchen; every possible implement was there and cooking Xmas lunch was a breeze (although if anyone plans to do the same I was glad I took the advice of a Capetonian and got to Woolworth at Sun Valley by 7 30 am on Xmas Eve). The oven is double sized and there is masses of storage space in the fridge and larder. Last but by no means least - Good Leisure was a star...he was discreet but quietly present and offered to help at every opportunity. It was marvellous to have help with 4 sons' washing and although we washed up/stacked the dishwasher at night he would come in early to tidy up the kitchen so we would be met with a sparkling clean slate every morning....a real holiday for this working mum! The house could not have been cleaner and bedrooms/ bathrooms were cleaned and tidied daily.
We felt v safe and at ease walking around the streets of Simonstown and had an evening constitutional around the upper levels most afternoons. It pays to spend a little time pottering in the town so that one can identify places to eat/shop.
Recommendations:
Look up Water's Edge beach on the i/net - hard to find as it's behind a gate but close and not too busy even in this most hectic of weeks.
We ate at the Food Barn at Noordhoek Farm Village which we visited 12 years ago - fantastic meal and at the present exchange rate, excellent value. Boulders Beach restaurant was another fun evening...but the house was so welcoming and comfortable we were happy to eat at home most nights.
We climbed a challenging route up Table Mt with Riaan Vortser's climbing tours (on Tripadvisor). Warren guided us and even this vertigo inclined mother managed the chains and overhanging boulders....
Shopping i Kalk Village - even teen boys enjoyed this! Great pottery cafe and shop.
We went on to visit the Zulu Battlefields in Kwa Zulu Natal which is another story - but once again highly recommended.
All in all, this proved a wonderful week away in a very lovely, characterful old house. I will not forget the stunning views across False Bay which greeted us every morning and the sun pouring through the shutters. Finally, we relaxed in the garden and on the terrace once or twice. Again all beautifully maintained although because of the position of the house inevitably a little short of evening sun. I couldn't recommend this house more highly as a lovely place to relax and holiday in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Space, decoration, cleanliness, views.
Liked least: Smallish garden with not much evening sun.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily w
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great house for a family gathering”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We booked The Rectory for a week in November and the house was big enough for our family of nine adults and two children aged 3 and 5 years.

The house designed in 1898 by Sir Herbert Baker has been beautifully restored. The window shutters and wooden floors throughout add to its’ charm. All the bedrooms on the top floor have a view of the bay.

The top floor has four rooms with double beds and one room with a single bed. The rooms are spacious and two of the rooms have doors leading onto the balcony. Each room had a chest of drawers to put clothes in however it would have been nice to have a wardrobe to hang clothes in.
There is a small guest toilet and large bathroom with double washbasin, bathtub and fantastic shower on the top floor.

The ground floor has one bedroom with double bed and a bathroom with shower. There is a family/entertainment room with TV and DVD player, separate to that is a large lounge area with plenty of couches to relax in.

The kitchen is fully equipped and has a lovely big dining table in the centre, gas cooking top, refrigerator, washing machine and double washing sink. There is also microwave and two wine coolers. The kitchen opens up onto the terrace that overlooks the lovely garden and fishpond. There are deck chairs as well as dining table and chairs on the terrace.

There is parking in a small driveway for two cars and the rest of the cars we parked in the street.

There is wifi in the house.

Good Leisure is the House Manager/Keeper and lives on the premises. He is a wonderful and warm person and was quick to respond if we needed anything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
843Alison
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views and a very comfortable house”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We arrived as the sun was setting and the moon rising to the most glorious views over the harbor. The house is very comfortable with a lovely airy feel, super kitchen and great sitting areas, inside and out. Very comfy beds and lovely bathrooms. It was a perfect base for exploring the Cape.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah R
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely house with fabulous views”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our third visit to this magnificently restored Herbert Baker house. The location is spectacular with a panoramic view over Simon’s Town’s Yacht Club, Naval Base, with False Bay and the Sir Lowry’s Pass in the distance. There’s even the distinctive Simonsberg Mountain to be seen towering behind Stellenbosch. For early morning risers the view over the great bay as the sun begins to make its appearance is unforgettable. For those with a naval bent, there are always the two submarines and various frigates to observe while young naval recruits are put through their swimming paces in the sea. At the weekend there were thirty or so yachts and dinghies participating in races just beyond the Naval Base.

This beautifully appointed and spacious house is north east facing, yes, NE even this far south, so you have the benefit of both the sea and the mountains as well as the sun. Five of the six bedrooms, as well as the two reception rooms and kitchen on the ground floor, all have a great view. The view is particularly good from the small sheltered balcony which leads off two of the bedrooms. We loved having breakfast and lunch just outside the kitchen on the veranda which runs the length of the north-east side of the house. Apart from the view, in the foreground there is a pretty and well-maintained garden with a small pond. Should you want to eat inside there is a lovely large table in the nice big kitchen which has been very tastefully arranged. It is such a pleasure to have a larger than average stove and one those big side by side fridge freezers as well as separate coolers for drinks. There is even a separate TV room with full DSTV, although we always seemed to be otherwise occupied. We loved walking down to see the penguins and continuing on to one of the sheltered beaches or burning up some calories going up the mountain behind the house to the 1st WW Cross and ‘Just Nuisance’s’ gravestone for the spectacular view from the top. We also enjoyed being able to jump on the train from Simon’s Town station to go to one of the many restaurants in Kalk Bay with the sea only a few meters away throughout the brief journey.

There is just this lovely feeling of space throughout the house with its high ceilings, which gives such an uncluttered impression. The ever-attentive and charming housekeeper, who lives on the property, looks after the house and garden with great pride and energy. Nothing is ever too much trouble for him. We were once again sad to leave this beautiful house which feels to us so like a home from home. -

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing