We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Simon's Town, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
taniamusg...
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Booked for a week. Spent 1 night”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage is a pretty as the pictures, but it is a summer rental due to location and washroom facilities. Ideal only for December and January.

The cottage is directly on the road and is opposite a Government School on a 1 way street and minimal heating, a small fin heater.

The indoor bathroom under roof is tiny. The 2nd bathroom is accessed via exiting the kitchen door, walking a side alley next to the house. It is in a semi-basement location.

We did not read the advert properly and as a result booked-out due to the inadequate washroom facilities and lack of heating. Thankfully the one night we were there the school was out of session.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thanks for the review. And thanks for the honesty when you said, "We did not read the advert properly". This lovely cottage only makes our guests happy. And if the advert was read you would notice that we specify the outside bathroom and the school. During your stay, it was school holidays as well. And it the back of the school where the teacher area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmusky
Lahore, Pakistan
1 review
“Disappointing. Booked for a week. Spent 1 night.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This cottage is a pretty as the pictures depict, however it is a summer cottage ideal for December / January when the schools are closed and the weather is warm.

It is located directly on the street opposite a Government School. The bathroom indoor, under roof is very small. The second bathroom is outside, down an ally, in a semi-basement of the house. Entry to this bathroom goes with no privacy and protection.

We did not read the advert carefully enough and failed to noticed that the 2nd bathroom was outside.

Our original booking was for 7 nights, we checked out and moved to Kalk Bay, Majestic, at the same price the following day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2018
Thanks. It's always interesting to read your reviews. We book this lovely cottage out many times on Airbnb and we are getting 5 stars.

You also said "You Did NOT read the advert when you booked. Because you did not read it you did not see that we addressed all your objections in the listing.

But the fact that you were very emotional during your stay shouting at us - even though we offered to give you a full refund.

In our listing we mention that this is at the back end of a school. This is the end where teachers enter. And it was school holidays with no school kids even at school but you chose to use this as motivation for your poor score.

Your review is nothing but a revenge for your own mistake. If only trip advisor allowed us to review guests. Then we would have read reviews by other owners on you and we would have rejected you as a guest.

We are very happy for guests to be critical but when guests are in revenge mode this is not fair.

We are proud of the 50 properties we manage in and around Cape Town. And our guests love our properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing