We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shire Camp(Liwonde National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Concept Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gunde B and B(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Kumadzi Tourist Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
Mawila Lodge 1(Liwonde National Park)
Priceline
View Deal
Ngoms Safari Lodge(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Sun Village Hotel(Liwonde National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
80
17
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
17
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmvuu campboat safaristhe riverevening safarifish eaglesmorning boatafrican wildlifecertain timesthe cottagesnight includingbig thanksdining arearainy seasonfood was fantasticbuffet styleall sortslots of space
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

GREAT. What a wonderfull place to stay. Very large tents , more than enought space to put your bags somewhere. Very romantic outside shower, nice varanda to relaxen to look at the hippo's before you. Situated at the banks of the shire river, nice view from the restaurant. The peoples working there are very polite and kind, and the meals are good.

Room Tip: Boatsafari's are great. Do a boatsafari at sundown. Walking safari's are also very nice. WIFI is at Mvuu Camp and not in the lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mwgraaf1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear mwgraaf1960,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share this lovely review of Mvuu Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay at the lodge, and we are delighted that you were able to enjoy the park's tranquil surroundings from your tent. Thank you for your appreciative comments about our accommodation, our facilities and amenities, the food, the overall ambiance at the property, as well as our standards of service and the warmth and hospitality of our staff. We look forward to hosting you at Mvuu Lodge again soon.

Best regards,
The CAWS and Mvuu Camp & Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This place reflects all good sides from Malawi. Friendly staff that acts like brothers and sisters, clean, romantic and charming rooms and fantastic activities. The boat-safari is life changing, you will never forget the perfect picture of pure nature. If you are planning a trip to Malawi you should visit this place. Its worth it. It is all worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Thomas K,

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review of Mvuu Camp. We are truly delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and unforgettable getaway at the camp and that you were able to experience the best of Malawi during your stay. Thank you for your kind comments about the warmth and hospitality of of our staff, the look and feel of our accommodation, as well as the safari activities and experiences that we provided during your visit. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy an authentic and enriching back-to-nature experience in Liwonde National Park. We thank you again for your positive feedback and we hope that you will visit us at Mvuu Camp again soon.

Best regards,
The CAWS & Mvuu Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The highlight of our 17-day trip through Malawi. Accommodation in the family cabin was excellent, plenty of room for four adults. Location was right among the animals. Service was quiet, informative and professional and above all gave us the sense that we were individual guests. Food, service and drinks were good, especially the sundowners in the bush and on the Shire River. We even enjoyed the close proximity to elephants and a hungry hippo at 1:30am within a few metres of our cabin! Thanks to all especially to our guide Duncan.

Room Tip: Muvuu Camp is fine no need to upgrade
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BrabbenTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear BrabbenTE,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Mvuu Camp. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience at the camp, and we are delighted that it served as the highlight of your trip across Malawi. Thank you for your kind remarks about our accommodation, our standards of service, the food and beverages, as well as the overall ambiance at the property. Thank you for your kind comments about Duncan, he will be really happy to hear that you appreciated his guiding and insights. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy refreshing sundowners in the bush and on the Shire River whilst on safari. We thank you again for your positive feedback and we really look forward to hosting you at Mvuu Camp again soon.

Best regards,
The CAWS & Mvuu Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Super nice lodge/camp situated along the Shire river. Excellent food. Nice chalets and a super guide (David) to make it complete.
Not too big of a camp so never crowded. Boat safaris are very nice to do and gives you a new view in wildlife. Can't wait to return!
Tip: sundowner on the boat! (See pic)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank DvA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear DvA1966,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review of Mvuu Camp. We are really pleased to hear that your time at the camp was enjoyable and memorable and we are delighted that all key aspects of our offering were to your liking. Thank you for your appreciative comments about our accommodation, the food, the quality of our guiding and the overall ambiance at the property. We are also glad to hear that the boat safari enabled you to experience the park's wildlife and spectacular sunsets from a unique and enhanced perspective. We look forward to welcoming you at Mvuu Camp again soon.

Best regards,
The CAWS & Mvuu Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

My husband and I camped here for 3 nights in October 2017. We brought our own tent and camping stuff (borrowed from friends). The great thing about this place is that it is right inside the national park, giving you a really authentic experience as you feel so close to the animals – hearing them making noises at night and never knowing what you’ll encounter as you walk back to your tent! We even watched elephants swimming in the river from very near our campsite.

We loved the fact that there was a swimming pool (to keep cool!) and a lovely lounge area to relax. The food and drinks were really delicious – we had only planned to have one meal (not cooked ourselves in self-catering) but it was so nice we had another!

As it was full moon we did late-night viewing from an underground hide. It was an unforgettable experience watching a large bull elephant drinking from the water hole in the moonlight. Unfortunately we didn’t see the rhino but really hope to next time!

The guides were professional and knowledgeable – they really enhanced our experience by pointing out things that we would not otherwise have been aware of such as various types of plants, or rare birds.

The staff were exceptionally friendly, polite and welcoming which really made our stay here lovely and we can't wait to return hopefully in the next few years.

Watch out for the baboons... they stole one of our pans (which one of the staff managed to salvage – thank you!) and our peanut butter (we didn't get this back!!).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris Mvuu Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Eloise S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Mvuu Camp. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant and memorable time at the camp and we are delighted that you were able to immerse yourself in nature and enjoy a truly authentic wilderness experience in Liwonde National Park. We really appreciate your kind comments about the food and beverages that we offer, the warmth and hospitality of our staff, our standards of service, as well as our facilities and amenities. Thank you for commending the quality of our guiding, we are glad that our team's expertise and knowledge further enhanced your experience in the park. We are also happy to hear that you had a unique and unforgettable wildlife viewing experience at one of our hides during the full moon. There will be another full moon on the 4th of November, which will provide excellent viewing conditions at the hides and you are welcome to visit us again then. We sincerely look forward to hosting you at Mvuu Camp again soon.

Best regards,
The CAWS & Mvuu Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews