We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Mount Kenya
from USD 440.00
More Info
from USD 1,250.00
More Info
from USD 1,813.00
More Info
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
386
42
7
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
42
7
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sirimon route point lenana day trek his team flora and fauna national park great trip from start to finish guide john altitude sickness five days adventure safaris an amazing experience making sure great company sleeping bag experienced guide
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I hiked this great mountain and it was very fantastic. The guides are well friendly from the first day to the last day.
We got the challenge on day 3 but other days were very nice.
The weather condition was not tough as I read before in some journals, it was well and conducive.
But if someone need to climb this mountain he/she should be prepared especially for high altitude.

Date of experience: January 2018
4  Thank hrshyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

As we are in the area for work and had 5 days to explore we couldn’t turn down the opportunity to climb Mt Kenya.
Standing high above all in the surrounding area we had to give it a go. We time not being on our side we decided to attempt the 3 day hike. It’s was a beast but well worth it.
An awesome experience that has made our work trip to Kenya all the more unforgettable.
It’s a 100% must if your in this part of the world no mater what.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank TopTravelerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

My girlfriend had broken her leg 5 weeks before our hike but we decided to have a go anyway. Much of that confidence was because John Mkuruma, our guide, was so responsive, reassuring, and flexible in the build up. He was even better during the hike itself, taking it very slowly with us and always happy to stop for a break. He gave us total confidence and didn't rush us in any way, even when the rain started lashing down!

He is a very experienced guide and knows everything there is to know about the mountain. He's also great to chat with about Kenya in general!

His team of porters and cook were also excellent.

We made it up to 4200m but decided against the final ascent with my girlfriend's leg, but John made us feel like in the circumstances we'd done amazing well and congratulated us a lot. Made it feel like a victory rather than a defeat. He was always on hand to help with anything - i couldn't recommend highly enough. And amazing value too!

Even a fortnight after our trek, John has been so helpful in me getting a refund from the park gate who double charged me for entrance. He's awesome!

Mount Kenya was a beautiful place and despite the rain had some phenomonal veiws. so few other people too which was fantastic. I'll be back with John to do the summit at some point in the future!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Just did an amazing trip to mt kenya with polemark tours.
So much diversity in choosing where to camp, amazing scenery.
Paul and his team only enhanced the experience. Great team!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Samambaia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We did the 5 day Chogoria-Sirimon route with Paul and his son Joe from Polemarktours. Although it was raining a lot and we climbed the summit in a snow storm it was a great experience and unforgettable adventure. Paul and Joe were very helpful guides, the communication before the trip was very easy and Paul always replied very fast, even though he was climbing mount kenya with some other clients. Also during the trip they always adjusted everything to our wellbeing and were very patient even if we needed a break every ten meters.
If you love to have the mountain for yourself, I recommend this route. You will sleep in tents at Lake Ellis and Lake Michaelson the first two nights and then spend one night at Austrian Hut in only 1-2 hours walking distance to Point Lenana. The way down will be fun as you can slide in the slip rock.
Don't forget to bring warm clothes, rain proof gear and sun protection, I burned my face even though there was no sun at all. In the evenings it's freezing and nothing is worse than sitting in the cold in wet clothes.
The mountain is quite challenging, but with a good guide, patience and enough time to rest you can do it!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Lilalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews