We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boonah Motel(Boonah)(Great Value!)
USD 91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 375
USD 324
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Annalee Motel(Beaudesert)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 89
USD 86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisson Grove(Tamborine Mountain)(Great Value!)
USD 278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
173
43
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
43
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamper traileramenities blocknational parkcamping tripbeautiful creekrock climbingrock hoppingclean facilitiescamping groundschool holidayscamp fireblack cockatooslovely spotopen firewonderful weekendpeace and tranquilitygreat camping
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Fantasic getaway for a short stay in beautiful hinterland scenery. Stayed in one of two "Glamping" camper trailers, which are fully equiped with gas and power and sleep a family of four very comfortable. Lots of walks, hikes and trails around to spent the day outdoors. The team at the lodge also arranges a number of activities for every level of interest evry day. We all loved sitting around the camp fire in the evening when it started to get quite cold. Great location, great team and great accomodations....

Room Tip: If you don't want to bring your own tent and you don't want to stay in a hut/house, try the camper trailer.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalCitizen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

It is a well kept secret that the hinterland farming scenery and expansive wilderness of the World Heritage-listed Mt Barney National Park is only 90 minutes drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast. Thanks for reccommending the "Glamping" option to other travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a fantastic place to camp for a winter festival of outdoor activity. The team at Mt Barney lodge run a fantastic camp ground. Limiting the amount of people to ensure that there are large open areas for all to play. The children's activities run in the evenings are exciting and fun. They provide a wealth of experience for all the walks around the area. We went rock climbing with Ennis & Hamish, they were fantastic guides. All together a wonderful experience with a spectacular backdrop of scenery. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank barneydinosaur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Winter wonderland - what a great summary of what I felt this afternoon gazing at the soft apricot light fading behind the rocky peaks as another brisk winter night starts to settle upon the valley. Even after 14 years of living here the sheer beauty of nature has the power to stop me in my tracks. I'm glad you could share in the spell, even for a moment. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We recently camped in the Mt Barney Lodge campgrounds for a couple of nights. The campground is spacious and has a wonderful view of Mt Barney. The location is very quiet and peaceful and, the amenities were very clean with hot showers. There is one covered shelter with a rustic wooden table and seats, which we found useful to cook our meals on our camp stove and to sit and eat . As there is currently only one amenities block in the campground, we would be hesitant to camp there in school holidays or public holidays, but fortunately my husband and I are retired, so we have the luxury of going camping at other times. The nights were very cold though, so take plenty of warm bedding and clothing if you camp there in June/July/August. There are fireplaces but you either need to take your own wood or purchase wood from the Lodge at $11 a bag. We found we needed a bag of wood for each camp night, as we love to sit by the fire whilst enjoying a glass or two of wine. The gentleman who greeted us on arrival was very friendly and helpful. I was happy to relax and read while my husband went hiking in the national park. The tracks are not well marked, so make sure you get a map from the Lodge. Overall, a very enjoyable camping experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueW17Sap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your review Sue.
Yes our winter nights can be quite cold, but despite the cold winter weather it is still our most popular time for bookings. I'm not sure if you visited us mid week, or on a weekend, but we have the same cap on numbers on any day of the year. As an Advanced Ecotourism retreat we prioritize space and peace for our guests. Day visitors are often surprised when we are "full" to see big spaces between campsites. But I agree with you, come midweek and have the place to yourself!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in camper trailer "Barney" and were very impressed with the facilities. A big comfy bed, an open fire and views of Mount Barney made our stay perfect. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and the toilet/shower block was always spotless. We were only there for the weekend but did the Lower Portals walk on day 1 and hiked up Mount Maroon on day 2. The Lower Portals walk isn't very exciting but the desitination is well worth it and the hike up Mount Maroon was thouroughly enjoyable (both the hike and the destination). Loved the scrambling up the mountain and the impressive views all the way up.

We are in the process of arranging a camping trip with a group of our friends to show them how great this place is and to hike up Mount Barney!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank er1n_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Great to hear you'll be back to tackle Mt Barney!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our extended family are over 100 people strong. Each year, we organise a family reunion on the June long weekend as a way for family members to catch up and interact with each other. This year, we have chosen Mt Barney Lodge to host our special weekend. From the very first contact, the booking process was seamless. Given the size of the reunion, we had many many questions along the way from accommodation to catering. Nea was patient and helpful in answering all our questions.

As the reunion drew closer, we wanted some activities planned so Innes was called in to help with devising a schedule which can cater for the young and old. The activities planned were very successful. People abseiled, rock climbed, treasure hunted, baked dampers and competed in group challenges over the weekend. All were well organised and fun were had by all. We were also blessed with fabulous weather. The kids are still talking about it.

For our family, the age ranges from 6 months to 95 years of age so the quality and versatility of accommodation was very important. We booked the entire lodge including the homesteads, huts and clamping to ensure we have plenty of beds for those who can't camp. We could not ask for more. All buildings/amenities were clean, kitchen equipments well stocked. Moringararah Homestead is very special, deep in heritage. We asked for the linen package more for convenience (we were not expecting much given our previous experience with other accommodations). We were so surprised by the quality of the linen including the soft towels. All in all, babies and the oldies slept well in their warm cosy accommodation. We did not receive one negative comment from any family members.

Although the accommodation and activities etc were important, what made Mt Barney Lodge special for our family was the grounds. Innes, Tracey and the team have kept the rather vast area very clean and safe for everyone especially the little children. They could run around freely without any risk. The parents could sit back and relax; enjoying the calmness of the surrounds. The icing on top is waking up to Mt Barney in the distance, very magical.

Thank you to all the team at Mr Barney Lodge for making our family reunion so special this year. We hope to come back for another family reunion and/or with our individual family in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyMBL, Owner at Mt Barney Lodge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Kim,

Thank you for your detailed testimonial.

We are really pleased that your family reunion went so well, and that young and old connected with our special place. We enjoyed hearing the laughter drift up towards the office over the weekend, and the friendly family rivalry was apparent in the group challenges that I watched down at the creek.

We hope your family will carry special memories from this time together for years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews