We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Owner and Good Location”
Review of Al Rashid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Rashid Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

You will meet an eclectic crowd at the lobby of this hotel. It is very well located, right at the busiest turnabout in Wadi Musa and the Petra site is one Jordanian dinar away in taxi. There are plenty of food, internet, atm options around and even a hammam closeby in this very sleepy town. The owner is particularly helpful with organizing tickets and trust worthy cab drivers on short notice just when you need them the most. However, the rooms are very ordinary, in fact a bit musty and the TV didn't work while I was there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dipayanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 366 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed at this budget hotel for 2 nights whilst visiting Petra. Although its not the closest hotel in town to the Visitors Centre the Owners went out of their way to take me there and back in their car. They were extremely helpful in suggesting and booking ahead my next two destinations - honest too, which I found refreshing after some of my experiences in Syria & Jordan. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for its helpfulness.
Valerie Forshaw

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Turgutalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

William is very helpful and a decent! Place is quiet and close to services.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fredthetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashidHotel, General Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

The owners William and Wail are very comforting hosts and run their business privately. The hotel offers a spacious, comfortable lobby, in warm colours and light. Being asked they can offer reliable drivers who can bring you to remote places in the region for hikes (William likes hiking himself), or they can organize your trip of your choice and conditions to Wadi Rum too (a must if you visit Jordan!).

The rooms are very clean and affordable. I was told in advance of the 20 minutes walking distance between the hotel and the entrance to the Petra site; but prefered this hotel being situated in the very heart of Petra. Shops, good value/quality restaurants and internet coffee are just around the corner!

If you want to support the local economy stay in this most welcoming private hotel. The owners are themselves also Bedouins and speak English well. Wail also speaks perfect German, as he studied tourism in Nuremberg. I visited this hotel three times between Oct. 2008 and July 2009.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
13  Thank maxHertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I contacted the owner of this hotel for availablity and made reservation. Then I remembered about whether there is transportation to the site. he said it is only 10 minutes walk and he does offer the transportation. When i asked again whether that service can start early in the morning, I received a very nasty email saying if everyon behaves like me they would close down their hotel long time ago and asked me stay away from their hotel. I was so surprised by his reaction to a simple question. What is the problem of saying that je does not offer the transportation early in the morning. I can imagine what kind of service I will get if I am there. So indeed I will stay away from this hotel.

Stayed: September 2009
6  Thank globetraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RashidHotel, Manager at Al Rashid Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on our hotel through Tripadvisor.
Al Rahisd Hotel is now with new management and ownership ... We highly esteem and respect our past reviews , We only want to inform all of our on-line guests that Al Rashid Hotel is now newly renovated and it was under general maintenance . And it it is under new management that handles new attitudes that satisfy our clients requirments with new vision in which we adapt the slogan of "Putting Customers Fisrt on Focus"
On this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to Al Rashid Hotel next time you travel to Petra with new greetings and new attitudes.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Laith Tarabulsi
Al Rashid Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.2 km away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,608 reviews
0.1 km away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
369 reviews
2.5 km away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
301 reviews
1.3 km away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
915 reviews
0.4 km away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Petra - Wadi Musa

Been to Al Rashid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Rashid Hotel

Address: Tourism Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $46 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Al Rashid Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Located in the heart of the city our guests can enjoy local Bedouine life and take a stroll through shopping venues, restaurants or cafés. Turkish bath it is only a 1 minute away and different banks, doctors and pharmacies are also just around the corner. • Al Rashid Hotel offers modern rooms with air-condition, heating and Satellite flat-screen TV. All rooms are fitted with comfortable nice furniture and functional private bathrooms with hot water for 24-hours, excellent water pressure, private towels and hairdryer. The rooms have recently been refurbished. • Free Internet Wi-Fi is available in the whole building and in all rooms. • Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner are served daily in our spacious restaurant. Enjoy our local and international meals. • The gate of Petra ruins is just a 10-15 minutes’ walk from the hotel. • Al Rashid offers transportation on low costs over whole Jordan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Al Rashid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Rashid Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing