We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
79
40
17
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
40
17
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building morning safari a great place to stay park entrance a ground floor room comfortable chairs nice stroll open fields stunning scenery enjoyable place breakfast and lunch rooms were very clean first floor mosquito net packed breakfast air conditioning small lake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2021 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this interesting accommodation. It’s not really a tree house, rather a structure built to look like a tree house with outdoor decks but it does give a different look and feel which is great. The kids had a lot of fun sleeping on the top bunk but do keep doors and windows closed or you’ll have monkey visitors!
The outdoor seating area need the little stream has great airflow and is a lovely place to relax and unwind. The staff were obliging and friendly - and the food was simple but very tasty. It’s also just outside the park which is great. Will definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021

Nine of us stayed at Wilpattu Tree House for three nights 4th to 7th March 2021. This scenic little hotel is conveniently located at the gateway to Wilpattu National Park just by the park entrance. Four rooms are in two “tree houses” each located amongst the trees. My wife and I opted for a ground floor room in the main building as we preferred not to climb up to the rooms at the “tree houses” due to knee problems. The hotel faces a picturesque green rice field. The birds in the tree canopy are a treat for bird lovers. We spent our evenings seated at the lovely conical corner overlooking the fields. Following sanitary guidelines was the rule of the establishment.
Our airconditioned bedroom was spacious, clean, and neat with freshly sanitised sheeting and toweling. Though the bed was surrounded by a mosquito net, we did not find it necessary to cover our king-sized bed with the netting. Other furniture in the room included, bed-side tables, a third bed, an overhead fan, two comfortable chairs with a stool, sofa, cupboard for clothes, clothes rack, a mirror with table and the TV. On the table were complementary tea/coffee bags and water bottles along with a kettle. The toilet was quite spacious too with sparkling white fittings and hot/cold shower. Complementary soap and shampoo were on the bathroom table. The electric sockets are the standard square type with facilities for using two pin connections. There was no fridge nor a hair dryer.
We opted for Sri Lankan cuisine. The meals had been prepared from local rice and veggies along with dishes of meat, fish and eggs. String hoppers were provided for dinner at our request. The breakfast was packed in neat little well-arranged containers to be taken with us when going into the park. All meals were tasty and wholesome. Wi-Fi was available in the dining rooms on request at no additional cost.
The staff were caring, friendly and ever ready to assist us. All of us agreed that it was a comfortable enjoyable stay amongst helpful staff.

Room tip: The rooms at the treehouses allow the guests to observe bird-life at close range.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seevali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2021

We stayed at Wilpattu Tree House hotel on 25th of February 2021. It was a wonderful experience to stay in a tree house. The staff is very helpful in providing us tasty meals. They provided us breakfast and lunch for the safari in very delicate manner. Since my mother is travelling with wheel chair, they arranged a ground floor room and also given a discount. Thank you, will come again.

Room tip: Tree House is the best!
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tharakad2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020

The rooms were very spacious with air conditioning and hot water showers en suite. The food was very tasty and the staff were very courteous and obliging. Great view from the rooms and adjoining balconies were on offer if you did not stay the whole day in the park

Room tip: The top most room on the tree house and the two rooms near reception
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nedra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020

This was the most enjoyable place we stayed in our trip around Sri Lanka! It was very quiet with few visitors due to an increasing covid19 situation in the country but Ms Semali (manager) and her staff made every effort to give us a wonderful stay including a great variety of really tasty food and a wifi dongle that allowed me to keep up with work. Our "treehouse" was a two story structure with a breezy open living room on the first floor and view over the open fields (elephants visited at night). And a balcony, aircon and hot water in the bedroom above that. Other visitors have described the great location and trips. We saw more animals than we saw in Yala including (very close up) two leopards and a bear. Our room was not suitable for people who cannot climb stairs but possibly there are others.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews