We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit for Sunday lunch -Wonderful!”

The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Oaksey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 26
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Michaela and Mike welcome you to the Wheatsheaf Inn at Oaksey. The menu we offer will boast fantastic,mouthwatering, homemade and locally sourced dishes. With a great choice of cask ales and fine wines, you certainly have plenty to indulge yourselves in. We look forward to welcoming you.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Stopped by for Sunday lunch, our first visit to the beautiful village of Oaksey. The Wheatsheaf Inn is a really pretty and welcoming country pub. We decided to have the Sunday roasts, we had the Chicken and the Lamb (see photos), both were superb! Good food in nice surroundings and good value. Excellent!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello Debbie

Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We pride in our sunday roasts and are modest enough to say they are pretty good! The chef (landlord) loves hearing when his customers are enjoyimg their food and wants nothing more than his customers to leave happy!

We can not wait to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest Regards
Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

If you are in the area, make the effort to dine here. Slightly off the beaten track, the restaurant provides good food - not the usual "pub grub" - well presented in a homely and welcoming atmosphere. We live in the local area, not in Oaksey, and at lunchtime or in the evening, the young owners have consistently provided us with satisfying and appetising meals.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BINB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello !

Thank you very much for your kind review. Its great to know that what we are doing is exceeding customers expections! We hope to welcome you back to The Wheatsheaf Inn very soon.


Kindest Regards
Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

A great pub, clean, tidy, great beer and excelent food. Highly recommended the young couple deserve to do well. We will with out doubt return.

Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello Mike

Can i just say how great it is to hear that people want the pub to do so well! Its so nice to see the same faces returning and leaving happy.

Will surely see you very soon!

Kindest Regards
Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Looked for a different pub to have lunch with my daughters as a "half way house" instead of the Eliot arms in South Cerney and this was looking good from the Trip Advisor reviews. Booked lunch for one o'clock... Started badly when the car park was full, went into the bar to find that two of the three cask beers were not available. Ordered the Sunday lunch ( there were six of us) two chicken, three lamb and a beef.. ten minutes later told chicken had run out but were cooking more so a ten minute delay.. fine .. they then brought bread and oils to say sorry for the delay.. nice.. 50 mins later the lunch arrived, not bad.. meat roast parsnip and two roast potatoes.. two small pots of veg between six!. Asked for more and one extra arrived. Had to ask for the "extras" I.e. Mint sauce .. when it came to pudding, one of the three was not available ( sticky toffee pudding).. so to end the bill.. correct they could not get that right. .. one extra beer one extra glass of wine... one lunch not charged for ( honest or what !)

I think it's fair to say that Oaksey will remain in the back end of beyond..

2  Thank garyjane1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello Gary & Jane

First of all, I would like to express how disappointed we are that you did not enjoy your visit with us on Sunday. It is unfortunate that our car park was full that day, as we were fully booked for Sunday Lunch. We can not change the size of our car park unfortunately and have to make do with the space we have.

Secondly, I apologise about 2 of our ales not being on. Due to technical faults with two of our pumps it meant we could not use them. Again, something we could not have resolved that day.

Thirdly, we had run out of chicken as chicken was a popular choice that day. The head chef (landlord) was cooking more chicken for you which meant there was going to be a 10 minute delay on your mains coming out which is why he then sent out the free breads sharer for your table to enjoy. There was not a 50 minute wait for your main course. The chicken would have taken 20 minutes to cook from fresh and then another 10 minutes for the chef to plate up. According to the time you ordered which was noted on the order ticket and the time the food was sent, you waited a maximum of 30 minutes.

We had brought out extra vegetables for your table when you asked and sauces had been brought out promptly.

To the desserts, unfortunately sticky toffee had been another popular choice on Sunday which meant we were out of adult size portions. Upon returning to your table I had offered you the last two children's sized sticky toffee pudding which was politely refused.

The bill was corrected for you quickly and efficiently, however, we do not remember having to take off an extra wine. However, we appreciate you being honest about the meal as many people would have quietly turned and left without thought.

We do hope that you would return to us in the near future and give us one last chance.

Kindest Regards
Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Four of us dined on a Saturday night. The beer (Archers) was very good and a new one for myself and my friend. The homemade breads with a reduced balsamic oil dressing were excellent - very tasty. One of us had the plaice special with a lemon and butter sauce and mash - apparently very bland with little flavour. Two of us had the duck breast - the breast was nicely cooked but the sauce to accompany it was again rather uninteresting and lacking flavour. One had the moroccan couscous and chicken breast, which was the best choice. Dessert involved eton mess for two which was quite good and some Marshfield fram chocolate ice cream, which was very good. We had expected a more enjoyable meal with more flavour and quality. Instead it was all rather average and disappointing. With so many good places to eat in the area we were trying somewhere new. Sadly it did not come up to the mark and we'll be returning to other familiar haunts and not the Wheatsheaf. A missed opportunity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dcjtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WheatsheafOaksey, Owner at The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hello

We are glad that your enjoyed your overall experience with us however, we are disappointed to hear that certain dishes were not up to your expectations.

Firstly, our breads are delivered to us every morning, fresh and still warm from the oven! We are thrilled you enjoyed this starter!

Secondly, our special plaice dish that we had on that evening was extremely popular and unfortunate to hear that out of the 20 plaice dishes we had sold that evening, yours was the only one to be bland and of little flavour. Same as our duck breast dish, you are the first to mention about the accompanied sauce being uninteresting and lacking of flavour. Our duck breast is quite a popular dish and enjoyed by many.

Upon being checked on by the waitress for your meals you said everything was lovely. As two professionals in the industry for many years and a head chef who prides in his dishes, we would have preferred an honest opinion about the food and we could have resolved something for you on the evening.

We are disappointed that you feel that you did not have a meal of good quality and flavour. Our head chef and Landlord of the Wheatsheaf Inn is a professional, qualified chef and delivers good quality food every time. Many of our customers and returning customers admire the quality of food that Mikey produces at such amazing, reasonable prices.

We would like to hope that you would return to try some of our other very popular dishes and specials that we offer.



Kindest Regards
Michaela & Mikey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey also viewed

Somerford Keynes, Cirencester
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 
Ashton Keynes, Swindon
 
South Cerney, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Oaksey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing