We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two days was not enough”
other travellers have booked this property
Grandmont Gites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grandmont Gites
entrance to guest reception grounds (front of property)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Grandmont Gites
entrance to guest reception
grounds (front of property)
grounds (front of property)
grounds (front of property)
guest reception
guest reception
heated pool and main garden
heated pool and main garden
heated pool and main garden
main garden
main garden
main garden
Les Arbres private patio
lounge
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
Detail
kitchen through to dining room
dining area
master bedroom
master bedroom
second bedroom
second bedroom
nearby
Our quad in local forests
Lac Saint Pardoux (12 mins drive away)
Lac Saint Pardoux (12 mins drive away)
nearby
nearby
nearby
nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ambazac, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joel J
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two days was not enough”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My four friends and I were touring France, following the Welsh team on their journey to the Semi-Final of the Euro 2016 Championships.

It is however, no word of a lie - that whilst reflecting back on the trip of a life time - we all agreed that our two night stay in Grandmont Gites was one of the biggest highlights in a journey littered with memories that we will take with us for all our lifetimes.

Having been beaten by a last minute goal against England the day before, it was safe to say that we traveled from Lille to Grandmont in low spirits.

Upon arriving in Limonge, we could not help but be blown away by the beautiful landscape. Green Hills, Towering trees and mirrored lakes... we could have been back home in Wales! In all honesty however it was spectacular and we decided that a quiet few days in the middle of the French countryside was exactly what we needed.

As we pulled into the driveway of Grantmont Gites, James came to greet us and introduced us to the Gite. The Gites themselves are rustic in appearance; under the gaze of a small hamlet opposite - it isf what we imagined rural France to be.

When we entered the property, we were completely blown away with the high standard of the rooms, the comfort they provided and also - the cheese, bread, jam and beers which James and Louise had left for us. Both Louise and James have designed and fitted the new rooms in the property - and we could tell. The care, love and quality that has gone into developing these properties was evident and when listening to their future plans for development - I can only imagine it will get better (it is hard to believe that it could).

Both James and Louise had a fantastic knowledge of the local area, recommending a neighboring towns bar & restaurant as places to watch the football & to eat (both were very good recommendations). My friend took the quad bike out (which he highly recommends) and James was more than willing to show him where to go and even went with him on a trip to make sure he saw the best views.

After a day of lounging by the pool, drinking good wine and experiencing a sense of relaxation I never thought possible. James and Louise came to join us and after an hour of chatting we became great friends. Both James and Louise are very warm and welcoming - we had a right laugh together and spent the rest of the evening being introduced to the local residents, drinking more good wine and having what turned out to be one of the best nights on our trip - its up there with Wales beating Russia 3-0 and topping the group.

To summarize our experience - I urge you, who are reading this, to go to Grandmond Gites. Please take my advice in the Title and make sure you go for more than two days! Our biggest regret of the trip was not staying here for longer and I will certainly be coming back again.

James and Louise - Thankyou!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Joël
After all this time we finally got to see your review which for some reason to do with us having two accounts (we just found this our) was invisible to us.
Anyway it was worth the wait and we are so happy with your review - seriously pleased you all loved Grandmont Gites so much and we really do hope you'll be back soon!
Louise & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Ambazac, France
1 review
“Good port in a storm”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We've lived in the Limousin for the past 10 years. We were unfortunate to suffer a house fire in early February which meant we had to seek emergency accommodation for ourselves plus our 2 pet dogs.

We knew there was a gite nearby and wanted to be as close to home as possible so we contacted the new owners of Grandmont Gites who were able to fit us in immediately. Lifesavers!

The accommodation had been newly decorated throughout and was immaculately presented. Having only the clothes we stood up in we were pleased to find it was fully equipped with everything we needed - appliances, bedding, crockery, literally everything!

Louise made us feel very welcome and was extremely supportive in our somewhat desperate straits. We've been content and relaxed here and would happily recommend Grandmont Gites.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: there's nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elliotm22
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great short stay.”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I came to the area looking at properties, to get the feel of the location I wanted to stay in a local gite, rather than a hotel. Grandmont Gites is set in a beautifully picturesque area, it's an attractive traditional stone building, comfortable and well equipped. Lousie who owns and runs the property met us. She was very friendly, helpful and had great advice about the area. If I visit Limousin again, I would be sure to have another stay at Grandmont Gites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for a great review and so glad we were able to accommodate you while here to view property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing stay with incredibly friendly and helpful hosts!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked to stay at gite les arbes based on the wonderful photos on trip advisor and the excellent communication from Louise in advance of our stay.

When we arrived, we were initially blown away by the beautiful surroundings of these gites. We were greeted by James who was incredibly friendly and showed us around.

Our gite was huge, very nice and clean and very well set out. There was ample space to store our belongings and, we were even able to leave our bikes in the garage. Louise had very thoughtfully provided us with a welcome pack of bread, wine, biscuits, tea,coffee and milk which was wonderful!

The swimming pool area was lovely and very well kept. There were lots of chairs and tables to eat at outside and a brilliant BBQ area with bbqs available to use. There is a huge lawn which would be perfect for families with children.

The gites are well placed to travel into Limoges and many of the lovely surrounding towns and villages. There is a quad bike available to take in the trails in the area and many mountain bike routes through the beautiful woodlands.

Louise and James are consistently making sure that all gites are kept up to an incredibly high standard and you will find none lacking in style, cleanliness or amenities.

This set of gites is perfect for couples, families (with both older and younger children) and groups of friends looking for a lovely stay in the beautiful Limosin countryside. Book soon to avoid missing out on this wonderful holiday experience!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very friendly hosts!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueGreg12...
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Tony and Caroline are very friendly and helpful hosts. The property is easy to find and very relaxing. The access to Limoges is simple and we had a great stay. Thank you folks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing