We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, chilled stay in a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oualie Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Great value for money, friendly staff, beautiful location . Occassional live music in the bar with some very talented musicians . Great swimming and snorkelling in water as warm as a bath. Would like to see a more expansive dinner menu but I guess that is set by the season availability.....and if possible improve the wi-fi signal strength

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Skidog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

The layout of the Oualie Beach Resort is reminiscent of a camping site. Goats and cows happily make their way along the grassy land outside the chalets. The room was spacious and airy, cleaned daily be efficient dedicated staff. All the personnel here were friendly, polite and helpful. Even the security guard Lloyd went out of his way to assist us. I presented the reception staff with various queries/questions during our two weeks stay, and I always received helpful courteous assistance. I would also like to compliment the general manager Faith Bertie ; she responded in a most professional way to a concern about any additional costs. I advise you to contact her by email when you stay or you can speak to her too.
The wi fi is excellent in the reception area, just be sure to select the ' office wi fi' option.
The restaurant does not really seek to serve much genuine Caribbean food, it seemed. My wife had Ratatouille, which is of course a well known French dish. Although we were told that at the weekend a strenuous effort is made to enrol local Caribbean chefs . There is also a barbecue event at least once a week.
We had the pleasure of meeting the owner John Yearwood, a very fine gentleman indeed: a cross between Sir Richard Branson and an Allman Brother. I say that because not only is he a impressive businessman but also knows how to coax some highly pleasing sounds from his guitar on the jamming nights in the bar adjacent to the restaurant. A combo was assembled which produced some engaging renditions of rock classics.
As a British national suffering the post Brexit pound blues, I have to say that Nevis seemed expensive. You should consider this when budgeting because the mini bus service does not run into the night and you might have to get a taxi to get into Charlestown etc or perhaps hire a car as we did.
I understand there are a few self catering chalets available; it might be worth looking into how much extra that would be .
I would also like to compliment Stacey at reception: always most charming and helpful, but as I have said ALL the staff are excellent.
I also think this resort represents very good value for money. As I understand it, alternatives would be much more expensive. Recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Just returned from a 2 week stay in Oualie Beach Resort. This was my first trip to Nevis and I absolutely fell in love with the place! If you want a real away from it all relaxing, peaceful holiday this is the place to go. Accommodation was really spacious and clean and set out in buildings overlooking the beach. This is a really laid back, casual resort with friendly staff. We stayed on Bed and Breakfast basis and had a good menu choice for breakfast, also ate there several times in evening and food was good. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhianon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

As said by others, this place is quirky and will not suit everyone. However we loved the relaxed feel, very friendly staff and perfect setting.We had a good deal as we were all inclusive. The only people staying that were. This made it very good value, the restaurant was waitress service, with cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner available. Most drinks were included (Except high end spirits) with bottles of wine available for meals. Would recommend this for people not expecting 5 star quality, and wanting to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather12336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

It totally depends what you are looking for as to whether this hotel works for you or not. On the not so good side, the bathrooms have seen better days, the service may be 'idiosyncratic' and the wifi was woeful.

Having said that, there seems to be an instant sociability in the bar at the end of the day, the location is exceptional and given the deal we got, it was good value for money given Nevis is generally expensive.

We enjoyed it and if you want character, this is the place to go to.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
1.9 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
197 reviews
8.9 km away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
12.4 km away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
162 reviews
3.5 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
13 km away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range: $161 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing