We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant family holiday ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Never been on haven holiday before but thought I would try it out with the sun holiday vouchers.. traveled with the missus and our 5 year old son. when we arrived on site we got offered a prestige caravan for the upgrade price of £50 which for what we got extra was amazing the caravan was right next to a pretty pond with some over-friendly ducks and swans on it which my son feed all the time he loved it ... the caravan was placed on a area called badger lake it was great all mod cons 100 times nicer than my house I would move in tomorrow if I could and the park is upkeep is on point no rubbish anywhere and looks great ... the activity’s there are fairly priced our favourite was the bird of prey show ya can really get up close to the birds and animals which my lad loved ,plenty of photo opportunity’s as well .

The restaurants inside the entertainment centre where good always had great food on. We only had one bad meal on the site and that was at the Chinese all you can eat buffet which was overpriced and there worst buffet iv ever had in my life ... I would have rather eat soil than eat there again ... the chicken was that undercooked i could hear it clucking from my plate so please avoid if you value your wallet and don’t fancy spending your holiday on the toilet ...

The only bad thing about our holiday itself was that the swimming pool wasn’t open for the first 3 days of our stay which was disappointing but apparently there was a problem with the pump so couldn’t really be avoided I guess ..

Apart from that a fantastic holiday and we will defiantly be visiting again next year the only reason it didn’t get 5 star is because of the pool not being open most of the holiday and the terrible Chinese
Thank you

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased your location and Holiday home met your expectations and we always offer discounted upgrades when we have them available on arrival.

I am sorry your experience in the Chinese restaurant wasn't a good one, this is a concession on park, however I will forward this feedback onto them for their review.

The pool at the time of your visit was under repair, we had an unforeseen issue with the pump that circulates heat into the pool, this is hinder our guests experience so I am truly sorry that the pool was out of use.

I am so please you'll be visiting us again in 2018 and I am sure you will be overwhelmed at our winter improvemnts.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

We tried Haggerston castle for the first time this year, we often have a caravan holiday once a year. Compared to other caravan parks, this ticks all the typical boxes, good and bad, so you know what you're getting. It's certainly worth staying here, the entertainment complex kept the kids happy, although the wildlife park was very overpriced.

The only real complaint was the lack of staff in the Mash and Barrel, the main restaurant. The staff themselves were very friendly and always helpful, no complaints with them. However, the length of time we had to wait on some meals there was dreadful. Only dinner time was very busy, which was understandable, so there were one or two extra members on. But at other times there were 30 and 50 minute waits for lunch or breakfast and the place was hardly full.

I've read reviews dating back 6 years with the same problem, so Haven's "we're looking into this" doesn't wash. Please employ more staff.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the feedback.

we constantly review our guest experience and the great news is that in the winter we will be going through some great enhancements, really for next season.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the waiting times for food, this is something we are discussing as a management time to recruit more team for 2018.

We really hope you visit us again in 2018, have a wonderful Christmas :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Loved it here! Caravan was close to site and was perfect for our needs (three bedroom deluxe). Facilities where good, nice chinese buffet, spar was good and indoor kids play great (though needed a clean). We were close to alnwick castle and bamburgh castle which we visited both. Kids disco good but was very busy and if you didnt que you struggled to get a seat. Had a lovely family holiday.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Kibbler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Haggerston Castle and we do hope you visit us again in 2018.

Have a very merry Christmas

The Haggerston Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We rented three caravans (two at Lakefield and one at Badger Lake). There were 11 of us and we had a wonderful time. We found the staff very helpful and when the gas ran out one night they came and fitted a new cylinder within 15 mins. The site was very clean and the only problem was the ground was very wet following heavy rain the days before we came. We actually stayed in the new area of the park (Badger Lake) where the services are piped in and the caravans better spaced. I have two gripes which were echoed by lots of other campers including some of the caravan owners was
a}the price of beer at the clubs
b)the central facilities have not been extended to cope with the increase in size of the site

Room Tip: Get a caravan around Badger Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
Thank Yorkie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so pleased you and the family enjoyed yourself while you here.

I can confirm over the closed period we are extending our facilities and we are redeveloping the live lounge.

We really hope you come back and visit us again in 2018

Have a wonderful Christmas & new year

Kind Regards
Christina Heffron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed ina caravan which we booked through haven holidays which was beautifully kept lovely and clean. The park is much larger than we would normally choose however for an October break we wanted a choice of things to do should the weather be wet. The park is lovely very clean and all the staff friendly and efficient. The entertainment was good and plentiful. Lots of places to eat on site and a small shop if needed. We would definitely consider returning in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggerston Cast... H, Manager at Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Denise,

What a lovely review of our park, the wardens work really hard making sure the park is spotless.

I will forward your wonderful review to the park team and we hope you visit us again soon in the 2018 season

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beal
12 km away
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
Travelodge Berwick upon Tweed
#3 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
329 reviews
16.2 km away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
394 reviews
14.4 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
11.2 km away
Berwick Holiday Park - Haven
Berwick Holiday Park - Haven
#1 of 9 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
1,129 reviews
2.2 km away
Eat & Sleep Lindisfarne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Beal TD15 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Beal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Beal
Price Range: AU$186 - AU$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggerston Castle Holiday Park Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing