We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret a visit. Almost five stars - here is why:”
Review of Ocean Blue & Sand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Bavaro
Reviewed 17 May 2017

First trip to Bavaro/Punta Cana/DR. Stayed for a week as a solo vacationer and enjoyed my visit. I recommend Ocean Blue & Sand and would visit again if traveling as a family, a group, or as a couple. Researched 60 or so resorts before settling on this one.

Arrived in the afternoon and was helped with check-in relatively quickly. Enjoyed a tasty welcome drink. Note that the check in for Privilege patrons is in a separate area than for regular guests. Kind service and help with your luggage. Enjoyed a spacious room with two balconies and a well-stocked mini bar.

There is more to do here than there is time. Never made it to the casino, bowling alley, spa, the Italian restaurant, or the gym. The many options are good as it spreads out the crowds and offers something for everyone. I stayed mostly around the pool and the beach but also enjoyed a snorkeling tour and swimming with sharks/stingrays (costs extra).

What I liked:
- Excellent value if you find a deal
- Fantastic, mostly friendly and English-speaking service
- Really good food. In fact, buffet food was better than a la carte restaurants. Never felt bad from the food.
- Premium drinks and liquor with lots of options
- Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Always something nearby.
- Had the Privilege Club benefits which were nice but aren't essential to have a good time
- Privilege Cabanas at the beach and personal service
- No mosquitos anywhere (except at the bar in the lobby, LOL)
- Beautiful, superbly kept grounds
- Super large pools
- Less than 30 min from the airport
- Some really good evening entertainment (magician, acrobats, Michael Jackson)
- Breathtaking sunrises at 6 am
- Walk for miles along the beach in either direction and pass all the resorts
- Well guarded, feels safe
- Normal, friendly crowd that spreads out well across the vast grounds
- People from everywhere in the world, especially England, the US, Russia, Canada
- Locals seem to like it (and flood the resort on weekends)
- Privilege lounge and breakfast at the beach (yogurt, grapefruit walnut and mimosa, yum)
- Lots of cabanas/tiki huts at the beach compared to other resorts
- Great diving/activity company at the beach for excursions
- You can easily cut your wait times as a solo traveler
- Lots of opportunities to walk (you can take the shuttles too, of course)
- Water aerobics

What I didn't care for:
- There are giant wave breakers in the water to prevent beach erosion
- Aggressive merchants and sales people on the beach, around the pool, at H10, vendors near the restaurants. "No thanks, not today" with a smile works well.
- Music can get a little loud and annoying at certain times
- Beach sport gets cancelled when there is a wedding
- Housekeeping came late most the time
- New staff seems confused at times
- Not the greatest place for singles (then again, few resorts are)
- Too few umbrellas at the pool
- No grapefruit juice
- Noisy staff as early as 5am with loud yelling, construction and motorized vehicles outside my room
- Resort voucher program confusing with conflicting information

Ocean Blue & Sand is a great resort with friendly and helpful staff, suitable for most people. While the list of "do not care for" items seems long, it doesn't compete with the many benefits and pleasant memories of this resort. You will find things to complain about at most resorts. If you are looking for a place that doesn't cost and arm and a leg and does well in a lot of important areas (beach, pool, food, entertainment, service, no mosquitos, drinks, grounds, vacationers), you won't regret your visit. If you run into an issue, just be patient and let them work it out for you. Relax, you are on vacation. And don't forget a bundle of one-dollar bills, as you will constantly feel the urge to tip someone to say "Thanks."

Stayed: May 2017
5  Thank soe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Gerente at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion through Tripadvisor about your stay at Ocean Blue & Sand by H10.

We are pleased that you and your family had a good time here with us and that we have reached your expectations. It is also a pleasure to know that your holidays went unforgettable. Your comments encourage us to continue to provide warm service that characterizes us.

It is a pleasure to serve you,

Sincerely,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

474 - 478 of 13,579 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Let me start by saying the hotel itself is very nice and clean. We were there for our daughter's wedding and the wedding planner she had been e-mailing with was not the one that helped her when we got there. Even though she had all the conversations printed out the lady was very rude. She told her she couldn't have any of the things that were already confirmed. In the end it was okay but the lady for being in customer service was mean. The restaurants were all very nice and there are 7 or 8 to choose from but most of the servers acted like we were bugging them. There were a couple exceptions like the sports bar and the breakfast staff. There were 34 of us and the room they put the newlywed couple in didn't have working air, working fridge or a deck door that locked, when we ask if they could switch rooms they said they didn't have any until my husband gave him cash. The pools are very nice but the beach could use a good cleaning which they only did on the weekend. The people that work for the time share are super pushy and said if we didn't meet with them our shuttle wouldn't be confirmed but the driver had told us it was all set. We've been to several all Inclusive resorts and this is by far the worst customer service we have encountered. I wouldn't recommend this resort

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank pamgrandrapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

My wife and I visited the Ocean Blue and Sand resort for 5 days and 4 nights. Upon rolling up to the hotel the entrance and lobby area are beautiful. We left our luggage near the steps with other people's luggage and headed to check-in. Upon checking in, we were told that we had the honeymoon suite and a room that was in a great location near the pool. We were told our room was not quite ready yet, so head to lunch and by time we got done it would be ready. We were taken in a golf cart by one of the "yellow shirt" guys who gave us a tour of the resort and dropped us off to the buffet. By time we were done with lunch, our room was ready. We gave our room number to one of the bell boys and were taken to our room on one of the carts. Our room was 9320, building 9 is near the back of the resort but directly across from the pools. It can get a little noisey between the hours of 3-7. Around 3:00 pm, they have a pool party that lasts until 5, with music and the entertainment staff. The room itself was spacious, and clean. You could tell the rooms were a little older, but they still were good. Our room 9320, had a jacuzzi tub on the balcony as well. The buildings don't have elevators so be prepared to walk up and down if you're not on the 1st level. The resort itself is large, so walking from the back (beach area) to the front in the sun can be draining for some.

The resort's entertainment staff was pretty good, as stated in the previous paragraph, they do a good job with the pool parties during the day; and at night they do a good job at keeping the crowd entertained in the area near the lobby where they have singers, karaoke and different acts. They also have a theater where they have different themed shows every night. We only attended once, and that was Saturday during the Dominican night. They also have a bowling alley with ping pong and pool in it. After the show in the theater each night, a pretty big crowd gathers around the stage outside of the lobby for music and dancing from about 10:30 to 12 am. Then it's off to Wave Disco Club for the rest of the night. The sports bar does have food for late night eating.

We ate at the Italian, French, and Mexican restaurants. The Italian restaurant was just ok. The wait was kind of long to be seated, and the food took a while to come out and it was not hot but rather just luke warm for all of the dishes. The second night we tried to go to the carribean restaurant, but they had a reservation for a large party so we went to the Mexican restaurant instead. The food here was delicious, a lot of flavor in all of our dishes. We ended up going to the French restaurant twice, because on our last night, 3 restaurants were closed. The staff at the french restaurant was the best. They gave us special dishes both nights, their signature drink the red moon and were very attentive. The food here was also great! The chef actually came to our table both nights to check on us and the food and the service. The breakfast and lunch buffets were ok, different variety of dishes but nothing that stood out.

If you book through a travel agent, you'll probably a "Welcome Breakfast", which is a sales pitch to buy their vacation club "H10 Premium". They tell you it will only last an hour but we were there close to 3 hours. The benefits seem like they could be good, but we turned it down.

They have a cart that takes you around the resort and stops at all buildings. The privilege and H10 Premium members have separate golf carts that take them around. This resort being family friendly, I didn't really notice the kids there being much of an issue at all. The staff around the resort were helpful. They also have people trying to sell you excursions, walking around the resort. That can get a little annoying, and on saturday night they had people trying to sell souvenirs every 10 feet and that was very annoying as well.

Overall, this was a decent stay. We had a lot of fun and of course any trip, regardless of the hotel, you have to make the best of and that's what we did.

Room Tip: 9320 has a jacuzzi on the balcony. This is building 9 and near the pool. It can be noisey from 3-7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jermaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

From the time we arrived at the Hotel we had H-10 (identified by their yellow shirts) staff hounding us to listen to a 60 minute presentation. At first they present themselves to be very helpful, until you decline their offers. At which point, you will no longer be offered golf cart rides to your building. On the day we were leaving, we finally agreed to listen to one of their presentations. In a nut shell, they wanted to sell you points for an exchange of vacations. when finally found out that they wanted $44,000.00 for these points. We obviously declined and they dropped us like a bag of hot potatoes. As we were leaving, we walked the walk of shame with our luggage from our room to the lobby which was quite a distance away. As far the beach, this resort is not one you go to for the beach which was eroded. Out of the six restaurants, the Steakhouse and the Buffet were the best. Both my wife and were sick on back to back days due to food poisoning.

Room Tip: The buildings do not have elevators, therefore the first floor would be ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JoEve2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Gerente at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Guest!

First, we would like to thank you so much for choosing our hotel Ocean Blue and Sand by H10, and choosing us for your vacation destination, and at the same time, we would like you to know that we are making innovations every day so that your next visit unforgettable, thanks for sharing your experience with others through TripAdvisor. But it should be borne in mind that our staff is very professional and knowledgeable, we have customer service staff to take care of our clients in the areas, but all the time does not stop to help this staff have customer service and in the majority of cases do not fall help staff customer service. Every day we work with knowledge acquisition and improvement of skills of our employees, this is a company that works with you in mind.
.
We hope to welcome you back here in your home away from home.

Ocean Blue and Sand by H10,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a girls' weekend trip. It was our first time to Punta Cana, but it won't be our last.

From the minute we checked in until the minute we left we were treated like family. We were always greeted with a smile, and given top notch service. Special shout outs to Omar, our amazing butler and Alexander at the lobby bar for making our stay extra special!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestServiceOBS, Gerente at Ocean Blue & Sand, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Dear Sheila L

Receive Ocean Blue and Sand by H10 cordial greetings and our sincere thanks for the positive comments made by tripadvisor.com regarding your stay.

Knowing the level of satisfaction we have achieved in our guests motivates us to continue working and get through each day, through our expectations. At the same time to each of the employees who work here will let you know the great work they are doing exhorting them to continue doing so,

We look forward to welcoming you very soon in this, his home.

Sincerely,

JUDITH RIPOLL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
5.6 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
7.3 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
1.2 km away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 114 in Punta Cana
13,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
3.5 km away
Majestic Colonial Punta Cana
1.1 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue & Sand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue & Sand

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bavaro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: $225 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Blue & Sand 4*
Number of rooms: 708
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the wonderful beaches of Bavaro, and immersed in tropical foliage, close to the White Sands golf course, the Ocean Blue and Sand is an all-inclusive resort featuring suite accommodations, two luxurious pools, casino, spa and fitness center, dive center and an extensive activity program including childrens' and teen mini clubs, to make your stay an unforgettable experience. All-inclusive: Meals, drinks, cocktails and snacks included 24 hours. Some additional services are available at additional charge. Free WiFi available in all the resort areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Blue & Sand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Blue Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Hotel Beach
Ocean Blue Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Golf Beach Resort Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Ocean Blue
Ocean Blue Hotel Punta Cana
Ocean Blue Resort Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing