We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,528)
Filter reviews
7,528 results
Traveller rating
4,259
2,108
781
222
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,259
2,108
781
222
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta cana la marimba lobby bar star rock cafe steak dominican republic star friends seafood the oriental restaurant specialty restaurants apple vacations guest services saona island junior suite make reservations entertainment staff evening shows
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 7,528 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Firsty thank you to the maid that cleaned our room everyday, always leaving our room refreshed!

The bad bits first; unluckily for us one of the two pools was shut for maintenance so only one was open, I found this personally quite crowded especially when they emptied half the pool for competitions and games!
Secondly on the beach people walk up to you with monkeys, on a lead may I add! And try and collar you for money, downright animal cruelty but not the hotels fault. Seaweed? Yes there was abit on the beach but to be fair the staff were very good at cleaning it up daily.
They also try and get you to do excursions, be careful! Some do not have licenses!
The weather? Lovely first 4 days of our trip (30/09/2018-7/10/2018) however rained non stop for the last 3 days. Again that's our fault for travelling in their winter so be prepared for lots of rain if you want to go on the cheaper months.

Now for the good points! The staff are amazing here! So nice and friendly and try and help you out as much as possible. With their little English and our little Spanish we got by however we warned there are mainly Spanish people here, English are extremely out numbered!
Food was amazing! Being buffet I was abit worried however everything was cooked thoroughly!
Overall a lovely holiday and I would go back, maybe next year?☺️

Thanks guys!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frankie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

We want to thank you for your honest opinion, we are very happy that you have fully enjoyed our services provided during your stay with us.

In the same way we want to apologize for the inconveniences presented during your stay with us, every day we are committed to creating unforgettable experiences for all our guests and reading your comments fills us with great satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to receive you very soon with us, we will be at your disposal to be of help in what you need.

Sincerely,

Online quality manager,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived after check in and our rooms still werent ready. After we waited 2 hours we got to our rooms we went to get in bed and noticed stains, lots of stains (lipstick, bodily fluids, brown stains). It took complaining twice to get anyone to fix the problem. On the second day 3 out of the 6 of our group got food poisoning! The "restaurants" at the resort are all buffets and are all nasty. We sat down with the excursion people at the front desk and booked two excursions by there recommendation they both ended up being horrible not even close to what we were told,crappy beaches and food, not worth the money and one of our group couldnt go cause of the food poisoning and no refunds were possible according to the front desk. The food poisoning lasted days we ended up driving to the local mall and eating at restaurant chains we know. We had power outages and water outages that lasted hours. We were there for a week and i personally was sick 4 days while there and am still sick 4 days after getting home.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adamjK4083PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had in our Iberostar Punta Cana.

We are really sorry for the situation you had with the service received. We can assure you that this is not the kind of customer service we are used to give. There are not enough words to say how disappointed we are.

Also, we will like to clarify that all our gastronomy pass through a very strict quality control program and there are many different factors that may cause stomachs problems. It is a shame to know we could not meet all your expectations. This is not the kind of experience we aim to offer but, you can be sure that we are taking notes of all these points you have mentioned, to take the corrective measures if needed.

Please, give us another chance to show you what we are really made of.

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The room was confortable and the restaurantes served delicious food. The shows and the entertainment were very good. The sun beds at the beach were very comfortable and there were enough for all hotel guests.

Room Tip: The room near the pool and the beach.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gabrielberdazaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

What an immense joy we feel to read your review, to hear that our services could fulfill your expectations, fill us with incredible satisfaction.

We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you were able to experience just what we aim to so deeply: to deliver great and impressive service to all of our guests.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager Online,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

When we arrived everything was fine. The staff was nice food ok and rooms fine. The day after we were warned that the pool was going to be closed for maintenance and the noise started. With the pass of days staff started to be more untipatic maybe because the lack of tips and we found cockroach on room. I mean we had a great time but expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank ZurKpT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

Thanks for letting us know your comments about your experience with us, we want to offer our most sincere and infinite apologies for the situations that lived during our care, it is not common to have situations like these, but anyway we have shared your review with the departments in charge and thus find a way to solve these cases.

Without further ado, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to receiving you again, so please do not hesitate to contact us at your next visit and help you in whatever you need.

Sincerely,

Online quality manager,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The resort was very well laid out and eady to get around suitable for wheel chairs etc. The location was excellent although there are three other Iberostar hotels in the same area. The rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious, more storage for clothes would be appreciated.

The food was very good with an excellent buffet breakfast and lunch. There were five a la carte restaurants and a buffet to chose from. The Butlers were excellent in making reservations to suit. As the hotel was not fully booked two restaurants were closed each evening in rotation.

The enteryainment staff were all young and enthusiastic. They worked hard throughout the day and evening. It did feel like a 'boot camp' at times but once they realised you were there just to relax they left you alone.

The main problem was the constant noise which made the stay neither comfortable or relaxing. The pool bar area had piped spanish pop music playing from 08.00 to 18.00 every day. The aqua aerobics class played very loud thumping music for half sn hour even when no one attended the class!!! The music in the pool bar area got progressively louder from 14.00 as the, mainly Americans, got more drunk and started shouting and screaming. On occasions the language became inappropriate and offensive and the bar staff did everything they could to encourage it.

In the evening there was some entertainment in the lounge bar but again the music and singer were so loud it was not possible to sit and have a quiet nightcap.

In conclusion the hotel was excellent as were the services and facilities but if you want a tranquil, relaxing holiday this is not for you. Would I go back? No as this is a popular destination for Americans who cannot handle alcohol and are serfish, loud and inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very good value.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on TripAdvisor.

First, we want to thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and services, we always try to do our best to give the best service and provide the best experiences to all our guests.

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your stay; we would never want a guest to leave our property with that sentiment, as we aim to provide outstanding service to everybody.

It is not common to have those situations in our property, but we will share your comments with the management so they will investigate more in depth the situation and can impose corrective measures for their solution.

We wait and accept our apologies with the hope of receiving you again very soon, do not forget to contact us if you need help, we will be at your disposal to serve you.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager Online,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews