We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,529)
Filter reviews
7,529 results
Traveller rating
4,260
2,108
781
222
158
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,260
2,108
781
222
158
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta cana la marimba lobby bar star rock cafe steak dominican republic star friends seafood the oriental restaurant specialty restaurants apple vacations guest services saona island junior suite make reservations entertainment staff evening shows
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 7,529 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived after check in and our rooms still werent ready. After we waited 2 hours we got to our rooms we went to get in bed and noticed stains, lots of stains (lipstick, bodily fluids, brown stains). It took complaining twice to get anyone to fix the problem. On the second day 3 out of the 6 of our group got food poisoning! The "restaurants" at the resort are all buffets and are all nasty. We sat down with the excursion people at the front desk and booked two excursions by there recommendation they both ended up being horrible not even close to what we were told,crappy beaches and food, not worth the money and one of our group couldnt go cause of the food poisoning and no refunds were possible according to the front desk. The food poisoning lasted days we ended up driving to the local mall and eating at restaurant chains we know. We had power outages and water outages that lasted hours. We were there for a week and i personally was sick 4 days while there and am still sick 4 days after getting home.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adamjK4083PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had in our Iberostar Punta Cana.

We are really sorry for the situation you had with the service received. We can assure you that this is not the kind of customer service we are used to give. There are not enough words to say how disappointed we are.

Also, we will like to clarify that all our gastronomy pass through a very strict quality control program and there are many different factors that may cause stomachs problems. It is a shame to know we could not meet all your expectations. This is not the kind of experience we aim to offer but, you can be sure that we are taking notes of all these points you have mentioned, to take the corrective measures if needed.

Please, give us another chance to show you what we are really made of.

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The room was confortable and the restaurantes served delicious food. The shows and the entertainment were very good. The sun beds at the beach were very comfortable and there were enough for all hotel guests.

Room Tip: The room near the pool and the beach.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank gabrielberdazaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

What an immense joy we feel to read your review, to hear that our services could fulfill your expectations, fill us with incredible satisfaction.

We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you were able to experience just what we aim to so deeply: to deliver great and impressive service to all of our guests.

Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager Online,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

When we arrived everything was fine. The staff was nice food ok and rooms fine. The day after we were warned that the pool was going to be closed for maintenance and the noise started. With the pass of days staff started to be more untipatic maybe because the lack of tips and we found cockroach on room. I mean we had a great time but expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank ZurKpT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

Thanks for letting us know your comments about your experience with us, we want to offer our most sincere and infinite apologies for the situations that lived during our care, it is not common to have situations like these, but anyway we have shared your review with the departments in charge and thus find a way to solve these cases.

Without further ado, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to receiving you again, so please do not hesitate to contact us at your next visit and help you in whatever you need.

Sincerely,

Online quality manager,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The resort was very well laid out and eady to get around suitable for wheel chairs etc. The location was excellent although there are three other Iberostar hotels in the same area. The rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious, more storage for clothes would be appreciated.

The food was very good with an excellent buffet breakfast and lunch. There were five a la carte restaurants and a buffet to chose from. The Butlers were excellent in making reservations to suit. As the hotel was not fully booked two restaurants were closed each evening in rotation.

The enteryainment staff were all young and enthusiastic. They worked hard throughout the day and evening. It did feel like a 'boot camp' at times but once they realised you were there just to relax they left you alone.

The main problem was the constant noise which made the stay neither comfortable or relaxing. The pool bar area had piped spanish pop music playing from 08.00 to 18.00 every day. The aqua aerobics class played very loud thumping music for half sn hour even when no one attended the class!!! The music in the pool bar area got progressively louder from 14.00 as the, mainly Americans, got more drunk and started shouting and screaming. On occasions the language became inappropriate and offensive and the bar staff did everything they could to encourage it.

In the evening there was some entertainment in the lounge bar but again the music and singer were so loud it was not possible to sit and have a quiet nightcap.

In conclusion the hotel was excellent as were the services and facilities but if you want a tranquil, relaxing holiday this is not for you. Would I go back? No as this is a popular destination for Americans who cannot handle alcohol and are serfish, loud and inconsiderate.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very good value.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on TripAdvisor.

First, we want to thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and services, we always try to do our best to give the best service and provide the best experiences to all our guests.

We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding your stay; we would never want a guest to leave our property with that sentiment, as we aim to provide outstanding service to everybody.

It is not common to have those situations in our property, but we will share your comments with the management so they will investigate more in depth the situation and can impose corrective measures for their solution.

We wait and accept our apologies with the hope of receiving you again very soon, do not forget to contact us if you need help, we will be at your disposal to serve you.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager Online,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I visited this resort from 04/09-18/09.
This is a good resort and it has a good position on Punta Cana beach. When we arrived at the hotel after a long flight we was greeted by smiling very polite staff who offered us a refreshing drink. The check in was very quick and was taken to our room by a bell boy who was very friendly and explained everything for us.
The room was in good condition and offered very good air con and was very spacious and had a lovely garden view from our room. We was on 2nd floor in room 5271. The bed was king size and enough room for 3 people. The bathroom was well stocked with everything you need and a very good safe and well stocked mini bar. The room was kept very clean and well stocked with water by our lovely maid who always greeted us with a smile. All in all we was very pleased with our room
The grounds and pool areas was kept in very good order and was lovely to walk through. The pool areas was kept clean and had good sunbeds. The beach was lovely with very soft sand. However as previously said there is a seaweed problem which on some days made it not very pleasant to swim in. Also beware the sea in Punta Cana has a strong under current. The staff worked very hard all day to clean up the seaweed. This is not the fault of the hotel. The Caribbean has a problem all over with the seaweed and is not only just Punta Cana.
The restaurants and bars was very clean and all the staff could not help you enough. The buffet restaurants offered above average food for an all inclusive resort and had offered a wide range of selection for everyone's taste. The only negative is the restaurants are not air conditioned as it is open plan. However the area where the food is kept is in an area that is air conditioned. The speciality restaurants was good and our favourites was the Gourmet and Mexican which was air conditioned. Please note you need to book your restaurants for the time you are at the resort as soon as possible after you arrive. To summarise the food was well cooked and of good quality.
The only negative this resort has which made me not give this resort a 5 star was the entertainment we found poor. Also from Friday to Monday the hotel fills to the maximum with quests from there own country. This causes the resort to be very crowded and the facilities not being able to cope. It made the hotel a little uncomfortable for us at times. Please note that this resort is a family resort and if you are a couple looking for a relaxed quiet stay it may be better to consider another resort.
Finally I would like to thank the hotel and staff for making our holiday a relaxed and enjoyable stay and would hope that they can get the small negatives right as all the hard work the staff put into making the resort what it is they deserve it to be 5 star.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hackett59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality ManagerDR at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your experience at Iberostar on Tripadvisor.

There are many things that we can thank you about, however, words are not enough to express our gratitude for your outstanding review. We just want you to know that our team put their heart in order to make every guest spend the best vacation, when we succeed doing it, is the most exciting feeling.

We apologies because of any inconvenience during your stay with us, thanks for letting us know your suggestions these are really important for us.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcoem you back soon, do not hasitate to contact us in your next visit.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager Online,
Iberostar Dominican Republic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews