We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We survived the hurrician”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 September 2017

we were here when the hurricane hit us , the hotel was fantastic , extra food was brought to us with extra water and clean towels , we were informed about all the changes that had to be made , from the cleaners who did a fantastic job cleaning the devastation, to the staff in the resturants who did an impossible job of trying to fit every body in , the food never dropped in standered ,which was very high before and after the hurricane, , the buffet resturants were of a great standerd , in par with the speciality ones , loved the steak house ,but my favorite was the American rock , , just loved the drinky drinky lady who kept us hydrated ,the star shows were very good , and we enjoyed them a lot , it is our forth time in an iberostar hotels , 2 in Mexico and 2 here in Bavaro, would recommend this hotel to everyone , one tip to anyone who decides to do any trips is to book with here at the hotel and not with the reps as the hotel is a lot cheaper , , on a final note , this hotel is amazing ,with amazing people who work here , food is fantastic ,

Room Tip: we love the top floors , great views ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jean190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf the hotel staff of IBEROSTAR Punta Cana we thank you for choosing us as your holidays destination.

The welfare of our guest is the most important thing for all of us. We are happy that once again IBEROSTAR have ensured you a wonderful experience and you have enjoyed it despite the bad weather we had due to María. Thanks for recommend the property and for your willingness to return.

It will be a great pleasure for us welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 6,849 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

After using Iberostar in mexico last year we booked with them again in Punta Cana (Dominican Republic) and wasn't disappointed at all.
If you want a great holiday with lots of things and excursions to do this is a great destination.
Thankyou to all the staff.
Especially Maria (miss drinky drinky) the pool side waitress who made sure we were never left without drinks during the day.
Also Miss Beverley(all natural, all natural, all silicone ) and the star friends entertainment team who kept all the guests enteratained with there games, fun frolics by the pool during the day and their shows in the evenings.
There was myself,wife and 2 children and our room was a standard family room which was cleaned and tidied every day and was more than ample and comfortable for our needs.
I read in some of the reviews that the food was a bit repetitive but we did not find that. It may only become repetitive if your a fussy eater. My 2 children are but they managed for two weeks with no problems.
The selection and quality was brilliant in our opinion.
(Oh yeah and a big thanks to miss July the breakfast omelette chef. She definatly makes a mean omelette) all in all can not fault the hotel, it's staff, it's food, its friendliness and the way its maintained and kept in a clean a respectable way.
Which we would expect where ever we travel.
As for excursions we would recommend the boogie buggies, the sea aquarium and the helicopter ride. (Helicopter ride a bit expensive depending on your budget but what an experience if you've never done it. The dominican coast line is stunning)
3 great adventures which added to an exceptionally great holiday.
Once again thank you Iberostar for a great hotel and holiday.
Will definitely recommend your hotels and service's to friends and family.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank marco_beltrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your holidays destination.

We are proud of know that we were a great destination in Dominican Republic and we did not disappoint you. Thanks for bringing to us your thoughts as regards the service, beauty and activities.

It's a pleasure receive your comment regarding your wonderful experience in our beautiful property. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed the stay; in IBEROSTAR we are always striving to fulfill our guest's expectations and make their holidays unforgettable.

Once again, thanks for the valuable rating and we all hope welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I came to the Iberostar Dominica Sept 4 for 10 nights with my husband and little girl for our honeymoon, before coming we read some awful reviews on here but we have really enjoyed our stay here. The food in the restaurants is really nice especially the Mexican and Steak house... Staff are really polite and helpful.
The Animation team are great especially BRUNO... SANDRA.. & "SANTA" the guy who always dresses up, my daughter loved them, lots of activities in the day, Foam party was great!!
Animation team work really really hard, non stop alday to please the guests.
We enjoyed 2 trips, one swimming with Dolphins(the photos are so expensive! 160$ for a cd with all of the pictures)
Saoana Island, really enjoyed that, its paradise!
YANNICK VANDENHOLDEN at reception helped us with trips, he was really friendly and got us great deals on the trips! :)
The pool could do with being cleaned more and repairs carried out as some tiles in and around the pool are damaged/missing, abit disappointed with the room as it was our honeymoon no special effort was made & when my husband asked about rose petals on the bed/ champagne it would be 85$ which is far too much!
Overall good stay but the Bavro suites next door looks a lot newer & has a great pirate ship splash play for the kids !!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Aimeewhalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf the entire team of IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your honeymoon holidays destination and sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

It`s a pleasure knowing that you have enjoy your stay. Guests satisfaction is the best reward we have; we are so proud to know that your first experience was excellent and our helpful staff went beyond your expectations.

On the other hand, thanks for letting us know about those aspects that we should take in consideration to keep improving.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back here in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking.

Cordially,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The first 3 days of our week vacation was wonderful, but after that it became full of rude and unfriendly staff. Not all , but many. We had an issue with Amstar and they really didn't want to help. We will use Iberostar again, but not in the Dominican Republic .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank jamespruitt1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your holidays destination.

We are really sorry that we weren`t able to fulfill your expectations at site. Knowing that the service received wasn`t as great as always, is very disappointing.

You can be sure that we are taking the corrective improvements needed.

If you decide to give us another chance, we will be pleased to welcome you back here.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was our 4th time staying at this Hotel. We have stayed in others further along the beach but this one is definitely the best.
We requested a ground floor room in Block 5 facing away from the rest of the Hotel. We have found that Block 5 is midway between the Pools and beach one way and the main buffets and reception area the other way.
It was just myself and my 17 year old Son on this holiday and we both relished having a large double bed each. The room had plenty of wardrobe space, shelving and drawers for our needs. The fridge was stocked daily with a good variety of soft drinks as well as bottle and canned beer. There was always bottles of water to drink and use to clean our teeth with.
The room also has an ice bucket (ice machines are not far from the room) a filter coffee machine which can be used to boil water for tea too.
There is a nice sized safe in the room which you use by a combination lock which is free.
There is an iron and ironing board and spare pillows too. Oh and an alarm clock
The TV is a nice big size albeit we never used it.
The bathroom has a shower over the bath and there is always a good supply of shower gel and shampoo if you forgot yours.
We always had plenty of towels and the maids would bring extra round in the evening if you wanted any more

We always found that the maid cleaned our room to perfection .
The Hotel gardens are next to none and definitely worth a nice slow walk around. During the day you will find the gardeners working away tiresly keeping every flower, bush, plant, section of grass looking beautiful. If you take a moment of your time to say hello to the gardeners like any of the staff in the Hotel they will always smile back at you and reply so pleasantly.

The two large pools are lovely. They are kidney shaped. There are shallow areas in both pools, and there are plenty of steps or ladders into them. Every morning before 8am you will find the Pool attendants ‘hoovering' out the sand and stuff from the pools, you will see them in the pools washing down the sides. They always hose down the area surrounding the pools and clean all the sun beds too and this is every morning.
There area showers close to the entrance to the beach for you to wash off any sand . These are also cleaned many times a day.
There are plenty of toilets on and near the beach and there is a cleaner there virtually all day.
The beach is beautiful really beautiful. There are plenty of sun beds and fixed parasols.The Hotel employ staff to rake up the seaweed early every morning. They then put the seaweed into small trucks and then it is taken off the Hotel site. If you walk along the beach past other Hotels, you will see that the Iberostar beach cleaners are the best there are. They work in such hot weather just so we can enjoy the beach without having too much of what Mother Nature brings in with the waves.

The Hotel offers plenty of water sports and diving which you will find on th beach with the prices. We did not do any but there were plenty of people parasailing, on banana boats or off for a dive.

There are bars doted all over the Hotel grounds and they offer such a vast variety of drinks with a good variety of brands as well as their own. They have a cocktail menu too or maybe you just want a coffee.

For eating there are two large buffet restaurants close to the main reception area. These are both open in the morning for breakfast, one for lunch and then both in the evening. They both have a very large seating area.
There is a different daily theme to some of the food (Mexican/Italian etc), but you will always find the pasta and pizza station with a good selection of both. There is a fish, meat section, fresh fruit area. A massive choice of breads and salads too. Oh and of course deserts, there are many choices cut into small slices so you can try out a few.
and then go back for more!
In the morning there are cereals, pastries, two omelette stations, cheese and a fresh fruit smoothie station, pancakes, a good variety of breads, toasted sandwich maker or just toast. I like my porridge every morning, maybe some French toast , a pastry and then fruit. My Son would go for an omelette, bacon, sausage, beans then possibly a pancake.
I don’t know how some people can say the food is boring and monotonous -
The Fish restaurant by the beach does serve breakfast too but on a much smaller scale of choice
There are plenty of waiters/ waitresses rushing around clearing the tables and getting any drinks for you, but you are able to go and get your own soft drinks and a choice of coffees yourself.
You do not find any member of staff stood around idle. They will bring fresh water to your table too.
We visited the American Restaurant and as you would expect it did a real mean burger. But don’t forget this is a waiter service restaurant, where food is cooked to order, so it will take longer than the buffet.
We did not eat at any of the other specific restaurants as we found the buffets offered such a great choice of food that we didn't need to go else where.
At lunch times the two themed restaurants by the beach serve a smaller choice of buffet type food including burger/ hot dog and chips.
There is always something being cooked by the fish restaurant too, like chicken or Paella.
Often they will set up a table outside the fish restaurant and serve a rum cocktail or punch.

The entertainment - Hotel guests staying at the Iberostar Punta Cana and Iberostar Domincana share all the facilities of both Hotels, the restaurants, beach, pools and the entertainment too..
Earlier in the evening there is always children entertainment going on.

On the Punta Cana side open stage are there is always live music and plenty of room of you to dance. This is also where the entertainment crew will meet you and how you how to do some Dominican dances.

They even have fun bingo on the beach every day for the adults. Raffa is the best bingo caller, he really makes his number calling such fun even though he has to say the numbers in at least 4 different languages! This is free and you can win T-shirts, hats or even some Rum!

There are fun beach and pool games for the whole family and new to the hotel is a fun foam party in the pool, this is again for all the family.
There is a board by the right side pool near to the beach which displays all the daily activities you can join in and the entertainment crew will also put up a large banner informing you what other entertainment/games they are putting on.

The Hotel does have a newly built gym and tennis courts but its not what we wanted to do on holiday so I can’t state how good the facilities are.

There is a large theatre on the Domincana side and every evening there is a different show, sometimes with outside entertainers. It is definitely worth going to and either just sit and enjoy or sing along!

On the Dominicana side by the theatre, there is a footpath leading straight down to the beach. To the right are a selection of shops, there area few that are your typical shop selling everything andanything and like the shacks on the beach, as soon as they see you looking at anything from a distance (even a quick glance) the shop keepers are straight on to you, offering you ‘good prices’ but there is one shop where they don’t do this and everything is priced and that is what you pay. We found this shop to have things at a reasonable price so we went back a few times. The women who work here do not pounce on you as soon as you enter the shop.

Also on the Dominicana side but heading away from the beach is a small square of shops. This is where the nightclub and the American restaurant is. This is also where the Hotel Dr is situated and the Pharmacy. Meds are expensive here but you can buy as many or as few tablets as you need. We were able to purchase some antibiotics and something for nausea.(we only needed1 nausea tablet and it worked wonders)

You will also see the resident Flamingos, Geese and turtles in the pond area by the Domincana restaurant.

There is a ‘Star Market’ shop close to both hotel receptions run by the hotel, again where everything is priced, but they do sell a wide variety of items, postcards, stamps etc. etc (these shops are convenient if it is raining and you want to just wonder around for a while).

Rain doesn’t stop play and the entertainment still goes on Apart from moving things indoors.

All the staff at the Iberostar work very hard. Our room maid, all restaurant staff, the bar staff, the cleaners, gardeners.

We did not have any reason to complain regarding anything about our room or stay, but I do know that the reception staff and Managers are always onsite and will deal with your concerns/problems as quickly as they can. (you will also see then eating in the buffet restaurants, and the many holiday reps too)

We look forward to returning to thesis hotel next year, knowing we can, relax, have fun, eat well and enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank CrazyCaz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

On behalf the entire team from IBEROSTAR Punta Cana, we will like to thank you for choosing us as your vacations destination one more time and sharing your wonderful fourth experience with the Tripadvisor`s community.

It's truly pleasant when we fulfilled our guest's expectations and demonstrated them how wonderful is our site and our services. Thanks for highlighting our facilities and as well the services provided by our fabulous staff, we know that they are always trying to accomplish our guests expectations.

Your amazing review is for sure helping all the users to know a little bit more about our wonderful establishment and all the facilities we offer here, so we just want to thank you for every single word.

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit next year. Do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking.

Best regards,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bavaro hotels
0.1 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.4 km away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
0.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
6.7 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
3.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#7 Family Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: $221 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing