We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,477)
Filter reviews
7,477 results
Traveller rating
4,239
2,100
774
216
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,239
2,100
774
216
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta cana la marimba lobby bar star rock cafe steak dominican republic star friends seafood specialty restaurants the oriental restaurant apple vacations guest services saona island junior suite make reservations outback safari entertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 7,477 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We spent a week here and it was our first 'all inclusive' trip. We were pleasantly surprised that it truly was all inclusive and we were not charged any additional resort fees.
Things to know:
-$10/pp just to enter the country at the airport before you get to immigration.
-$40 flat rate taxi to the Iberostar complex - takes about 30 minutes.
-Take a printed copy of your reservation otherwise you can not get through security at the front of the Iberostar properties. I had ours on my phone but it's easier to have a print out they can compare to their
-We chose an ocean view room and it was worth it. The rooms are in very long 4 story buildings and only a few rooms on each level have a view. They make getting to the beach and pool easy but are a longer distance to most of the restaurants. Everything is a good walk. it's easy to get 10,000+ steps in daily.
-You will likely be set up/pressured with a 'visit' to their other properties that are all linked together. You can walk from one to another easily. We declined the visit. There is also a lot of push on their excursions, which we also declined.

If you dive, Dressel Divers is on site and very easy to work with. Dives are never more than 45 feet, average 40-50 minutes and they go out twice daily. Dive sites are all very close. They also do snorkel tours.

Beach near the pool is crowded and has loud music/entertainment in the afternoons. If you want a quieter spot, head down the path towards the Dominican past the Beach Club and there are lots of chairs near the dive shop that are less crowded and much quieter. Beach is clean and there were plenty of chairs and shade. Water was nice but did have some undercurrent.
*If you like more than one towel per person bring your own as you only get one. You have to turn in a 'towel card' to get one each day. Then give all three cards back at check out.

Strongly recommend leaving pool/beach by 6pm to ensure warm water and water pressure! Pool closes at 7pm and the water pressure was a trickle after that.

Food was descent, lots of choices at the buffets and in the restaurants.House wine is so-so but you can purchase bottles. Beer is tap, most mixed drinks are available and all included.

Spa is nice and not outrageously priced. They have a full menu of treatments, messages and a hair salon.

Overall we had a good time during our week there.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was worth the few extra dollars!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank JPVM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your vacations destination and sharing your experience with us.

We are so happy to read that your experience with us was very relaxing and amazing. Your kind words inspire us so much to keep working hard in order to maintain our beautiful hotel with high standards of services as we are offering until now.

For sure your words are helping others to have a better idea of what they can find at site and how can ther enjoy better the stay.

Come back soon. The entire team is looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Iberostar Punta Cana is a nice resort. Very family oriented. We didn't book any specialty restaurants as we were satisfied with what was offered in the buffet restaurants. I didn't feel like a lot of pressure was placed to buy tours or spa services. A firm no seemed to be enough. The alcoholic drinks were watered down much as you'd expect. The beach access was great. Pools could've been cleaner. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Labhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your vacations destination and sharing your experience with us.

We do enjoy reading your satisfaction with our facilities we offer at site. Your review encourage us to keep going on the right direction to comply with ous guests expectations as we did with you.

The entire team is looking forward to your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking.

Cordially,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Before booking at Iberostar in the Punta Cana, it is good to know that there are 3 of them located on that beach, one after an other. The most exensive (5 stars) is the Grande Hotel. The middle class is the Punta Cana(4.5 stars) The lower end is the Dominicana. Guest staying at a higher star rated resort can use the facilities and eat and drink at a lower rated but not the opposite. The couples of hundreds dollars difference in prices reflect the quality of the food and the amenities.
Wifi is free and available almost anywhere in the resort except on the beach where the management has omitted to install them. This is a mistake given the average tourist spent most of his time on the beach. A few of of wifi acccess points can easily cover the entire beach areas, enabling people to read emails ebooks or net. At the Iberostar Punta Cana, food is excellent and the service is very attentive. The food cooked in a huge pan right on the beach is also good; on Monday and Wednesday we have paella with langoustes and green mussels in a delicious lobster bisque. There are many interconnected pools at the beach area. At the Punta Cana rooms beautifully decorated. They are quite spacious junior suites are grouped by 4 in each villa (those are numbered). But the bathroom can be a little bigger. There is enough beach huts for everyone on the beach. Towels is plentiful. There are 2 pingpong tables and one floor chessboard. There are 6 restaurants and 2 huge buffets, one on the beach and the other by the entrance hall. Food is very good in the central buffet. One day we had sushi tuna steaks served from a whole tuna filet. You should try the restaurants which need to be reserved. If you want to have lobster, go to the Mediteranean, if you like fish or tender beef steaks go to Jambalaya, if you love sushi chefs performing some show, go to the Japanese. Grouper steaks and other meat are served in the French La Coupole. Bingo, water gym exercises, salsa lessons are done around the gym or on the beach.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Sy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear guest,

On behalf the entire team of IBEROSTAR Punta Cana, we will like to thank you for choosing us as your vacations destination and sharing your experience with us.

It is wonderful knowing that your first all inclusive at the Caribbean was with us and that we were able to met all your expectations. In IBEROSTAR, as you could notice, we live for the welfare of our costumers.

So, we appreciate immensely every single word in your review, especially, those you used to describe our amazing staff. You can be sure that your comment is going to be shared with our staff.

We are all looking forward to your next visit. Now you know that IBEROSTAR is a great place to go on vacations.

Best Regards,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We went August18-25 2017. We were in Iberostar Punta Cana. As we were in our bedroom Cynthia Heredia my granddaughter Angelina Heredia age 11 and myself Daisy Santiago., two technical man put their key into my private room and enter. To their surprise they close that door. I immediately approached them and of course said sorry! Sorry for entering my room without knocking or front desk calling me.NO they invaded my privacy. Report it to front desk to guest Relations and no one got back to me. This was after the key to my room didn't work for 4 days ,ac techin came twice water falling from at onto bathroom floor. I could let that go but entering my room without knocking! No not in my country. We are USA citizens. These guys were up to no good. I stood in room 5091. They were suppose to check cameras. Never did because there are no cameras. Very displease Thank you Daisy Santiago/Cynthia Heredia

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are better
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank pachanga58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

You can`t image how ashamed we are with these situation, there are not enough words to say sorry. Of course this is an unacceptable procedure, and we believe it was an horrible moment you had, caused by a lack of communication between the collaborators.

We are sharing your words with management and the relevant department to avoid it happening in the future.

Please, give us another chance in the future to host you under better circumstances.

Cordially,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 30/0617 - 14/06/17 as a family of 3. Check in was very quick and the young girl was very friendly and informative and clear, excellent start. We got to our room on the 3rd floor and it was large clean and we had no issues the whole 2 weeks. The maid was good. There was security men at night wandering the building where the rooms were. The food was mostly great. The breakfast was fantastic and the egg man I didn't even have to ask, he was on it !! The ladies and gents in the buffet restaurant were so friendly and saved our table for us too. Very nice staff all over the complex. The pool was big but my only gripe is the pool water could be dirty with stuff floating in it, whether it be bits of tree or worse ignorant people dropping their drinks in the pool. Not nice. But when I told the towel man he got someone straight away. But it should be down to pool men. The "drinky drinky" ladies round the pool were great too. Beach grill was great and the beach was ok and they really did try to keep the seaweed under control! Not easy! Lastly the weather was great too.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank kittybumsqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to our IBEROSTAR Punta Cana, it is such a great pleasure for us to host you and learn you had a great experience.

We are happy to read you felt welcome by the lady who gave you the check in straight away and also for the rest of the staff all over the hotel, whom were making sure you were having a good time in our home.

We love to receive this kind of review, in which we can confirm the great job we are doing and the great experience you lived on site. Thank you for your rating and for recommending our hotel to this community.

On the other hand we are very sorry to read about the pool and the beach, but we have to let you know that our management is already working on that.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews