We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice to get warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Cleanest hotel I've ever seen. Even the beach bathrooms were immaculate.

Service was great. My friends had a problem with the air conditioner and the hotel sent a technician as soon as they mentioned it.

The beach was beautiful and very clean. Hotel employees raked it and picked up what the tide washed in.

There are beach huts with chairs. To reserve your place, you put you towel on a chair. This starts about 7am when the employees put out the chairs.

The buffet restaurants were great. The food was fresh, varied and delicious. The specialty restaurants were less interesting. It was as though the food had been hanging around on the steam table for a while. After two tries, we went back to the buffets.

The local beer was good. Sometimes I managed to snare a pina colada that was the consistency of slush, made with dark rum. A favorite. Oddly enough, there was no decent iced tea.

The wine was dreadful. The plonk served with meals was undrinkable. Even the extra charge bottle we ordered at one of the specialty restaurants was unpleasant. There are so many other good drinks to choose from that the lack of wine wasn't a major inconvenience.

Bring a gallon of your favorite sunscreen because there is no place to buy more. I brought the wrong beach shoes and wanted to buy a pair of Crocs. None to be seen. Souvenir stands abound, but Walmart would have been a lifesaver.

It was a fun trip and the heat was wonderful after a Canadian winter.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is quieter. Avoid the ones near the bandstand unless you really like late night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingOtter441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,677 of 6,996 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my second visit to Punta Cana, and my first stay at the Iberostar here. Overall, very nice. Only complaint was the unavailability of reservations for specialty restaurants. Of the three we wanted, we were only able to secure one. We were put on the waiting list for another one, which got us in eventually. The third one we ended up at only because Apple Vacations hosted a dinner there on our last night. Great resort, though, and the food was outstanding!

Room Tip: The best view is facing the interior of the resort. There isn't much to look at on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall we had a good stay at the Iberostar, however there are areas that I would like to see improvement.
- Trip Advisor feedback has feedback from IBS Bavaro, Dominicana & Punta Cana all together so therefor the pictures and feedback and ratings don't reflect correctly.
- Paying for WiFi and the safe is not acceptable, we have been to Punta Cana quite a few times and this is the first time we have had to pay.

- The food lacks variety, particurlarly at dinner, (buffet), and no options for vegitarians, we were there for 2 weeks and we could predict what was would be on offer at dinner. Im guessing the hotel is geared up for shorter stay guests. With 2 buffet restaurants so close together and guests able to use both, some variety between the 2 would have been good.
- The entertainment team - we didn't see the shows as we prefer live music, which I have to say was really repetitive, we could predict the songs, the was a piano near the bar it was never used. The 'games' the Star team played when the band took a break were very childish and again the same every night. The star team were very pushy when it came to asking guests to dance, particurlaly
younger girls, we spoke to 2 who used to hide at reception to avoid

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Linda Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana for your vacation and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had a good stay among us.
Likewise, we extend our apologies for the breakdown in the service provided by our Star Friend´s staff and about the inconveniences related to our variety of gastronomy. We have shared you feedback with the corresponding departmental heads who certainly are working to improve our procedures and standards. We would like to clarify though that it is not a true depiction of our standard of operation here at IBEROSTAR Punta Cana.
We kindly invite you to visit IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro whose upper level and might satisfy your palate’s expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I visited this resort again. I was there in Jan. and returned in April because I loved it so much! All was great, check in, staff, grounds, beach, room and the food. It is one you don't want to miss going too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labonte66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guests,
In the name of Ms. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel and for your loyalty when choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your holiday’s destination.
We would like to express you how honored we are to read that our hotel premises, exquisite gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff members not only met your expectations based on your previous visits but also ensured you another unforgettable holidays as we aim in IBEROSTAR and as you are used to.
We will be happy to welcome you back again and remain at your disposition as usual for any assistance prior your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 2 weeks relaxing in the sun. On arrival reception was smooth and well organised, our groups rooms were all close together, the rooms were basic, clean and tidy and the maid service was very good topping up and changing as required. The food was plentiful and there was always lots of choice in the main restaurants, we didn't use the specialty restaurants, the waiters, waitresses and chefs were all helpful and polite. The entertainment team were so busy all the time from early morning to late in the evening, putting lots of activities during the day and the shows in the evening. The beach is awesome and clean, though you need to get up early to get a decent bed, the sea is lovely and clear. The pools looked lovely but we spent very little time around them opting for the beach. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens which are well maintained. Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveandPaula0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that our hotel premises, exquisite gastronomy and excellent service ensured you a memorable holiday or as you stated in the review a “a very relaxing” vacation; that is what we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bavaro hotels
0.1 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.4 km away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
8.4 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
3.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Green Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: $221 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing