We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,477)
Filter reviews
7,477 results
Traveller rating
4,239
2,100
774
216
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,239
2,100
774
216
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews punta cana la marimba lobby bar star rock cafe steak dominican republic star friends seafood specialty restaurants the oriental restaurant apple vacations guest services saona island junior suite make reservations outback safari entertainment staff
Filter
Updating list...
1,844 - 1,849 of 7,477 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my second visit to Punta Cana, and my first stay at the Iberostar here. Overall, very nice. Only complaint was the unavailability of reservations for specialty restaurants. Of the three we wanted, we were only able to secure one. We were put on the waiting list for another one, which got us in eventually. The third one we ended up at only because Apple Vacations hosted a dinner there on our last night. Great resort, though, and the food was outstanding!

Room Tip: The best view is facing the interior of the resort. There isn't much to look at on the other side. However, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room to begin with, so it really didn't matter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Overall we had a good stay at the Iberostar, however there are areas that I would like to see improvement.
- Trip Advisor feedback has feedback from IBS Bavaro, Dominicana & Punta Cana all together so therefor the pictures and feedback and ratings don't reflect correctly.
- Paying for WiFi and the safe is not acceptable, we have been to Punta Cana quite a few times and this is the first time we have had to pay.

- The food lacks variety, particurlarly at dinner, (buffet), and no options for vegitarians, we were there for 2 weeks and we could predict what was would be on offer at dinner. Im guessing the hotel is geared up for shorter stay guests. With 2 buffet restaurants so close together and guests able to use both, some variety between the 2 would have been good.
- The entertainment team - we didn't see the shows as we prefer live music, which I have to say was really repetitive, we could predict the songs, the was a piano near the bar it was never used. The 'games' the Star team played when the band took a break were very childish and again the same every night. The star team were very pushy when it came to asking guests to dance, particurlaly
younger girls, we spoke to 2 who used to hide at reception to avoid

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Linda Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana for your vacation and for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had a good stay among us.
Likewise, we extend our apologies for the breakdown in the service provided by our Star Friend´s staff and about the inconveniences related to our variety of gastronomy. We have shared you feedback with the corresponding departmental heads who certainly are working to improve our procedures and standards. We would like to clarify though that it is not a true depiction of our standard of operation here at IBEROSTAR Punta Cana.
We kindly invite you to visit IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Bavaro whose upper level and might satisfy your palate’s expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I visited this resort again. I was there in Jan. and returned in April because I loved it so much! All was great, check in, staff, grounds, beach, room and the food. It is one you don't want to miss going too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labonte66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guests,
In the name of Ms. Helena Santos, Hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel and for your loyalty when choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your holiday’s destination.
We would like to express you how honored we are to read that our hotel premises, exquisite gastronomy and the friendliness of our staff members not only met your expectations based on your previous visits but also ensured you another unforgettable holidays as we aim in IBEROSTAR and as you are used to.
We will be happy to welcome you back again and remain at your disposition as usual for any assistance prior your next visit.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 2 weeks relaxing in the sun. On arrival reception was smooth and well organised, our groups rooms were all close together, the rooms were basic, clean and tidy and the maid service was very good topping up and changing as required. The food was plentiful and there was always lots of choice in the main restaurants, we didn't use the specialty restaurants, the waiters, waitresses and chefs were all helpful and polite. The entertainment team were so busy all the time from early morning to late in the evening, putting lots of activities during the day and the shows in the evening. The beach is awesome and clean, though you need to get up early to get a decent bed, the sea is lovely and clear. The pools looked lovely but we spent very little time around them opting for the beach. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens which are well maintained. Would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveandPaula0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana for your holidays and for taking the time to post a review about your experience.
In the name of Mrs. Helena Santos, hotel Manager, we would like to express how satisfied we are to read that our hotel premises, exquisite gastronomy and excellent service ensured you a memorable holiday or as you stated in the review a “a very relaxing” vacation; that is what we aim in IBEROSTAR Hotels and Resorts.
We are looking forward to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate contact us before your next visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is lovely. I have been to the Maldives and the service you get here is just as good, the staff are fantastic and very talented and lovely and the food is amazing! My only 3 very small negatives are that the rooms are very dingy (but we didnt spend much time there anyway), the weather is a bit iffy (only 2 days of sun in 2 weeks sadly, but thats not the hotels fault) and finally the only reason i didnt give this a 5 is because there are a serious lack of sunbeds. I would say there is only enough for about half the guests if not less which is very bad. I was getting up before 6am every morning to reserve one which wasnt much of a holiday in that sense but I would definately recommend it anyway :-)

Room Tip: to be honest if you want a good room you have to moan to your rep :-)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirsten d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnlineReputationMngr, Quality Manager at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Punta Cana as your holiday destination and also for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mrs. Helena Santos, we would like to express how pleased we are to read that you and your entire family enjoyed you. We are very pleased to read your positive lines about the excellent service of our friendly staff and our exquisite cuisine. In IBEROSTAR we are committed to provide an excellent service to our beloved guests.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance especially in case you decide to visit our premises once again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews