We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19,537)
Filter reviews
19,537 results
Traveller rating
12,290
4,767
1,531
565
384
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,290
4,767
1,531
565
384
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial club coffee boy rodeo grill supreme buffet le gourmet animation team punta cana swim up bar japanese restaurant chateaubriand swim up room seafood steak michael jackson show wet bar main buffet piano bar
Filter
Updating list...
4,371 - 4,376 of 19,537 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We just returned and I LOVED this hotel so much I wanted to review it! Our room was just like the online pictures, the air conditioner worked perfect, the staff was the nicest people and always took care of us! The hotel was very clean and everything very organized.

Upon arrival we were greeted kindly by the staff and our bags tagged and offered a sweet "Majestic" drink. Then shown to the colonial club check-in where we were offered champagne, small snacks, and given paperwork. Then introduced to our butler Yefferson. He then took us on a small tour of the hotel and showed us were everything could be found. Then to the VIP area where we would make dinner reservations have private snacks, beverages, and staff. He showed us to our room and we were shocked at how clean and perfect it was!
The room came with 4 full size bottles of liquor, plus a bottle of champagne, a fully stocked fridge, and a cheese platter. Two robes and slippers, and all the information to reach our butler, room service, pillow menu, and a map of the property (which we used of the first 24 hours!)
We had a pool view room and it was beautiful! The views were just like the images online! The balcony has two chairs and a small table. We sat out there every morning for breakfast and evening with a cocktail to relax. It is nice that the pool closes at 6pm so that we didnt have interruptions in the evening, it was very quiet and lovely. The shower is HUGE! We loved the rain and massage options! The toilet was better than expected too, we had seen reviews of no privacy, but having a door was good enough for us, and no bother!
They restocked the beer, soda, water, towels, soap, and toiletries daily. The maids did a fabulous job cleaning each day!
The bars were all kept very clean also, and the bartenders were great! The swim up bar was fabulous and the bartender there would sing and entertain everyone. The towel guy Juan was our favorite, he was so kind and even helped my hubby with me when I had a little too much fun at the pool bar. Because our room overlooked the pool and bar, we could see how much care they took of the pool. They cleaned and cleaned and made sure it was kept in perfect condition all the time. The pool bali beds would fill up by noon, but as we watched there seemed to always be one open for use and they rotated a lot as people moved around.
The bar and restaurant near the beach was another favorite of ours. It was a very short walk from the beach and always had good food and great views. The waiters on the beach did a good job, they seemed to come around often enough.
The entertainment staff blew me away! They are VERY good at their job and were constantly doing fun activities, talking with people, and making sure everyone was having a good time. If you watch carefully, you will notice they all work very very hard and do many activities during your stay. I was very impressed with all of them.
We only made it to two of the night shows, but enjoyed them both. The Michael Jackson show was amazing and the circus show was a lot of fun! Like i said, the staff is VERY talented.
There were only two restaurants we had to make reservations for - the hibachi grill (very fun) and the french one. They were good, but our least favorite so we only went once to each. The buffets were always good and we could always find something we liked. The staff in all of them did a great job and very professional. They accommodate as much as they can to people with their requests and made us feel very welcome all the time. The food was good, not a 5 start dining quality, but we really enjoyed it and found some new favorite things.
The drinks were plentiful. They have enough bars around that you should never have to go without a drink. We enjoyed some drinks more than others and new fans of Mama Juana!
The shops had just enough things that we could find good souvenirs for our children to bring home. They have off property shopping that we did not get to go to, but really didnt want to spend much time shopping anyways.
We did two excursions and they were both absolutely amazing! We booked our travel all through Expedia. We didnt know at the time, but who you book through is who you go through for everything while you are there. The Blue company was our excursion and transportation people along with expedia. They are very very organized and took very good care of us from start to finish. The tour guides, the bus drivers, and everyone at the places were so nice and friendly. They really do a fabulous job! We booked our transportation from the airport and hotel when we booked the hotel so that made it easier. Then the excursions at the hotel the day after arriving.
On several nights we found small surprises in our room from our butler. It was fun to come home to different romantic things throughout the week.
You are not expected to tip all the staff, but we tried to always tip those who helped us. We took 100 one dollar bills and handed out all of them during our week.
The weather was beautiful and only had one bad stormy day.
I really like the atmosphere about the hotel and the people who were staying there. All the other guests were so fun and friendly. A LOT of newly weds and older couples. We didnt go to the family side but did see quite a few families as we came and went. It was like being surrounded by love the whole time!
I highly recommend this hotel and I hope to be able to go back again! It was the best trip we have ever taken together!

Room Tip: The pool view rooms were gorgeous, the swim up rooms had a lot of traffic near during pool hours.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Stephanie H.,

Thank you for choosing the Majestic Colonial Punta Cana as a preferred vacation destination. It pleases us to learn that you had a great time during your stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our food and the outstanding service provided by our staff.

Thank you for your compliments towards the helpfulness and dedication demonstrated by Yefferson, your butler.

We will be glad to welcome you again in the near future,
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

About us :
We are a couple in our early fifties who enjoy good service ,food ,beach and activities Majestic colonial exceeded all our expectations
Room
We had a junior suite with Jacuzzi room on the 3rd floor that overlooked the pool and was close to restaurants and the main complex room #2306 .Also just a short walk to the beach ,Room had Jacuzzi in the middle ,separate toilet and awesome walk in shower with lots of water pressure ,double sink and a king size bed that was very comfortable ,room had 42 inch led tv and mini fridge equipped with pop ,water ,beer and was refilled daily .the deck was huge and we spent mainly evenings reading our books there with a drink lol.
air conditioning in room was 24/7 and excellent .Our room was made up daily by the time we got back from breakfast (first time ever in over twenty plus all inclusive resort stays) awesome maid service
Restaurants:
We ate at the Japanese (needs reservations) was good but nothing over the top ,same as the french Gourmet . Our favorite was at the beach for lobster and steak ,we ate there eight nights of our thirteen night stay lol .Awesome location on the beach ,great service and food . The buffet was offered at the beach and main complex for breakfast and lunch ,nothing over the top but good food and service also, had champagne available for breakfast,lunch and supper (nice touch )
Bars:
They had lots of bars about a two minute walk in-between each .Disco opened at 11 pm .we went one night it was great ,good size lighting effects (dry ice fog effects lol ) and some awesome dancing ,Sports bar had 3 huge screens that covered the wall and offered many sporting events ,football ,soccer ,boxing etc .
They had live bands every night in the open square dancing etc this was one of our favorite bars besides the beach bar.All bars had top brand products such as liquors ,johnny walker black,Canadian club whisky,jack Daniels ,aged rum etc .
Pool:
Without a doubt one of the cleanest longest pools I have ever seen as it runs the whole length of the resort just beautiful .
Staff:
Can say that this is one of the most professional staff of any resort we have ever been to from the grounds keepers to the entertainment team Really liked Mark always trying to get us involved in the daily events lol ,darts,bochas etc.Obviously the management of this resort is outstanding and shows in the staff (this is coming from myself involved in management for over 25 years )
Beach :
Beautifull yes there is seaweed from time to time but it is the dry type and dosent really bother you ,this part of the beach has large waves time to time and would be great if you had a boggie board ,lots of shade and chairs available no matter what time of day ,We walked the beach every day and it was always had a nice ocean breeze
Would We recommend this resort ? Absolutly
Travel Tips:
Beware at the airport not to put your e cigarette in your carry on ,they will take them as my wife found out the hard way there is no issue in Canada but apparently they are confiscating them at the punta cana airport

Room Tip: rooms in the first block are close to everything room 2306 overlooks pool ,all buildings have elevators
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank justindug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear justindug,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Me and my hubby visited Sep13 - Sep17 and we had a good time. Hotel was clean and well kept. At check in rooms were not ready so we had to wait for a while till they ended up giving us a better room for our wait. Room was very clean and spacious. AC worked great had no issues. Room was stocked with water, sodas and rum which was real good. It had two Jacuzzi's one inside and one on the small patio we didn't use either we were always at the beach or in the pool. Our room was very close to beach but very long walk to lobby that i didn't enjoy since it was so hot and humid. Beach was nice and lots of lounge chairs and room to sit. Food was okay, buffet was not the best but the restaurants were better. Make reservations to restaurants as soon as possible so u don't have to be going back and forth. Pool was open from 8am to 6pm. They have shows every night at the theater and music playing at the pool most of the day. They had a foam party and a beach party with lots of food. There is also a very small casino and a few souvenir shops. I forgot to take sunblock so i had to get one there and a tiny lil bottle was 23dls. There is also a Diso/club open till 4am. Staff throughout hotel was very nice and courteous always smiling and happy. You can pay a taxi $20 each way and it will take u downtown. I recommend u get a van service in advance to pick u up at airport, it made it easier i think. Make sure to take insect repellent its a must.

Room Tip: our room was 2142 very close to beach and its private grass area that let to pool right outside room.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AIDEEGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear AIDEEGA,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I would rate The Majestic Colonial located in Punta Cana 10 stars if that was possible. Everything was great. I had a 2 person Jacuzzi inside of my amazing room and another on just outside the back sliding window doors of my room and before the walk up pool that circled the entire property. i walked out of my room right into the pool, and i could swim to the beach or to any of the 7 restaurants on the property. there was 24/7 food, snacks, cakes, fruits and crazy amounts of all type of alcohol and and beverages, and champagne also.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good but i would recommend a room with walk up entry to the pool
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lloyded62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear lloyded62,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This resort is one the most beautiful of the 5 resorts we have stayed at in Punta Cana. Unfortunately their management is terribly lacking in how to effectively and consistently deliver customer service. It took 4 days to actually speak face to face with a manager after my wife fell at the resort. Beyond that we noticed that most of the staff would tend to look away rather than greet you, and on more than one occasion I observed the management more involved in straightening out chairs than interacting with guests. The pool is the largest we have seen and is kept very clean. The room were clean, but there was some repair needed as our first room the AC was leaking and puddles would form on the tile floors, and then in the second room the in room tub water ran constantly. It also took 1 1/2 days to get a bar of soap and a wash cloth in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews