We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19,537)
Filter reviews
19,537 results
Traveller rating
12,290
4,767
1,531
565
384
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,290
4,767
1,531
565
384
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial club coffee boy rodeo grill supreme buffet le gourmet animation team punta cana swim up bar japanese restaurant chateaubriand swim up room seafood steak michael jackson show wet bar main buffet piano bar
Filter
Updating list...
4,372 - 4,377 of 19,537 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

About us :
We are a couple in our early fifties who enjoy good service ,food ,beach and activities Majestic colonial exceeded all our expectations
Room
We had a junior suite with Jacuzzi room on the 3rd floor that overlooked the pool and was close to restaurants and the main complex room #2306 .Also just a short walk to the beach ,Room had Jacuzzi in the middle ,separate toilet and awesome walk in shower with lots of water pressure ,double sink and a king size bed that was very comfortable ,room had 42 inch led tv and mini fridge equipped with pop ,water ,beer and was refilled daily .the deck was huge and we spent mainly evenings reading our books there with a drink lol.
air conditioning in room was 24/7 and excellent .Our room was made up daily by the time we got back from breakfast (first time ever in over twenty plus all inclusive resort stays) awesome maid service
Restaurants:
We ate at the Japanese (needs reservations) was good but nothing over the top ,same as the french Gourmet . Our favorite was at the beach for lobster and steak ,we ate there eight nights of our thirteen night stay lol .Awesome location on the beach ,great service and food . The buffet was offered at the beach and main complex for breakfast and lunch ,nothing over the top but good food and service also, had champagne available for breakfast,lunch and supper (nice touch )
Bars:
They had lots of bars about a two minute walk in-between each .Disco opened at 11 pm .we went one night it was great ,good size lighting effects (dry ice fog effects lol ) and some awesome dancing ,Sports bar had 3 huge screens that covered the wall and offered many sporting events ,football ,soccer ,boxing etc .
They had live bands every night in the open square dancing etc this was one of our favorite bars besides the beach bar.All bars had top brand products such as liquors ,johnny walker black,Canadian club whisky,jack Daniels ,aged rum etc .
Pool:
Without a doubt one of the cleanest longest pools I have ever seen as it runs the whole length of the resort just beautiful .
Staff:
Can say that this is one of the most professional staff of any resort we have ever been to from the grounds keepers to the entertainment team Really liked Mark always trying to get us involved in the daily events lol ,darts,bochas etc.Obviously the management of this resort is outstanding and shows in the staff (this is coming from myself involved in management for over 25 years )
Beach :
Beautifull yes there is seaweed from time to time but it is the dry type and dosent really bother you ,this part of the beach has large waves time to time and would be great if you had a boggie board ,lots of shade and chairs available no matter what time of day ,We walked the beach every day and it was always had a nice ocean breeze
Would We recommend this resort ? Absolutly
Travel Tips:
Beware at the airport not to put your e cigarette in your carry on ,they will take them as my wife found out the hard way there is no issue in Canada but apparently they are confiscating them at the punta cana airport

Room Tip: rooms in the first block are close to everything room 2306 overlooks pool ,all buildings have elevators
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank justindug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear justindug,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Me and my hubby visited Sep13 - Sep17 and we had a good time. Hotel was clean and well kept. At check in rooms were not ready so we had to wait for a while till they ended up giving us a better room for our wait. Room was very clean and spacious. AC worked great had no issues. Room was stocked with water, sodas and rum which was real good. It had two Jacuzzi's one inside and one on the small patio we didn't use either we were always at the beach or in the pool. Our room was very close to beach but very long walk to lobby that i didn't enjoy since it was so hot and humid. Beach was nice and lots of lounge chairs and room to sit. Food was okay, buffet was not the best but the restaurants were better. Make reservations to restaurants as soon as possible so u don't have to be going back and forth. Pool was open from 8am to 6pm. They have shows every night at the theater and music playing at the pool most of the day. They had a foam party and a beach party with lots of food. There is also a very small casino and a few souvenir shops. I forgot to take sunblock so i had to get one there and a tiny lil bottle was 23dls. There is also a Diso/club open till 4am. Staff throughout hotel was very nice and courteous always smiling and happy. You can pay a taxi $20 each way and it will take u downtown. I recommend u get a van service in advance to pick u up at airport, it made it easier i think. Make sure to take insect repellent its a must.

Room Tip: our room was 2142 very close to beach and its private grass area that let to pool right outside room.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AIDEEGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

Dear AIDEEGA,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort. We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I would rate The Majestic Colonial located in Punta Cana 10 stars if that was possible. Everything was great. I had a 2 person Jacuzzi inside of my amazing room and another on just outside the back sliding window doors of my room and before the walk up pool that circled the entire property. i walked out of my room right into the pool, and i could swim to the beach or to any of the 7 restaurants on the property. there was 24/7 food, snacks, cakes, fruits and crazy amounts of all type of alcohol and and beverages, and champagne also.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are good but i would recommend a room with walk up entry to the pool
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lloyded62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear lloyded62,

We would like to thank you personally for sharing on TripAdvisor your kind feedback about your stay at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. We appreciate to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations and that our location and facilities have contributed to a wonderful holiday in our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed our resort.

We hope to see you here at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana in the near future.
Kind Regards,

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This resort is one the most beautiful of the 5 resorts we have stayed at in Punta Cana. Unfortunately their management is terribly lacking in how to effectively and consistently deliver customer service. It took 4 days to actually speak face to face with a manager after my wife fell at the resort. Beyond that we noticed that most of the staff would tend to look away rather than greet you, and on more than one occasion I observed the management more involved in straightening out chairs than interacting with guests. The pool is the largest we have seen and is kept very clean. The room were clean, but there was some repair needed as our first room the AC was leaking and puddles would form on the tile floors, and then in the second room the in room tub water ran constantly. It also took 1 1/2 days to get a bar of soap and a wash cloth in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We arrived on Sep 12 around 1 pm. We knew our rooms would not be ready since check in is at 3:00 pm. The desk person told us to come back at 3 pm. He also directed us to where we can get some food at that time. We ate at the buffet and then walked to the beach and pool. The grounds are beautiful. The beach did have some seaweed but it was fine. 3 pm our rooms were ready. The rooms are a nice size for a couple. We had a King size bed. Nice flat screen TV. writing desk, and love seat. The room had a jacuzzi tub between the bathroom and the bedroom. There were double sinks and a separate area for shower and toilet. It was fine for us but I wouldn't want to room like that with children.

Our room was in the 1000's section almost all the way to the beach (garden view). Very quiet area. This room made it easy to get breakfast at the restaurant down by the beach. We have breakfast each morning at this restaurant and lunch too. It was very convenient since it was between the pool area and the beach. The beach was beautiful. As I said before there was seaweed but that's from the ocean. Activities on the beach: Zumba and Volley Ball. Also some games, such as sexy man contest and Miss bikini contest. Pool area: Since we went during off peak season, the other pool bars were not open. The main one with the swim up was open. All the activities were held here. There were 2 foam parties (Tuesday and Friday). Crazy games, aerobics, and various interaction with the staff. Franchesca was hilarious and very friendly. Everyone there worked very hard. My husband was at the gym every day and he said everything was clean and in good shape. He spoke with Jonathan the trainer there very often. Jonathan and Daniel are the ones that held the aerobics by the pool every afternoon.

Our waitress and waiters were awesome. Luz, Michael, Luis and many more were very friendly and remembered us each day.Food was OK. I can't rave about it but it was edible. The best place we ate was at the Hibachi restaurant. We drank bottled water most of the time. We did have plenty of alcoholic beverages through out the day. All were very good (and if we didn't like it, they would remix to our liking).

We only went to two evening shows. The Dominican Show and the Michael Jackson Show. Both were very good. The other place I can recommend is the Sports Bar. It was great to see some games and boxing while in a cool atmosphere (they had A/C). The theater was extremely hot. They really need to look into better ventilation and ceiling fans. We went dancing to Coco's a few evenings. Variety of music is played. Spanish and English. Late night snack place was awesome for after 11:00 pm snacking. Burgers, french fries, calamari, chichacharron, nacho's with fresh guacamolie (sp?).

The best thing is that WiFi is throughout this resort. (some issues down by the beach and no signal in the theater) It's so great to have the WiFi to stay in touch with family and upload our vacation pics while still there.

To sum it all up, we had a very good time. Staff was friendly and very entertaining. Food was OK. Drinks were great! Rooms were nice (I did not have any issues with cleaning service). We would most likely come here again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Geri168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majestic_Management, Community Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2015

Dear Geri168,

It pleases us to read this amazing review about your experience at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana. As a service company our main goal is not only to achieve but also to exceed our guest’s expectations. We are glad to learn that you truly enjoyed you time with us and for that reason you are already looking forward to repeating.

We will be happy to share your compliments with our great team, especially with Franchesca, Jonathan, Daniel, Luz, Michael and Luis. We certainly know that our marvelous team plays a key role on the satisfaction of our guests.

We will be waiting for you at this Majestic Paradise.
Kind regards, 

Majestic Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews