We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19,541)
Filter reviews
19,541 results
Traveller rating
12,294
4,768
1,530
565
384
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,294
4,768
1,530
565
384
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colonial club coffee boy rodeo grill supreme buffet le gourmet animation team punta cana swim up bar japanese restaurant chateaubriand swim up room seafood steak michael jackson show wet bar main buffet piano bar
Filter
Updating list...
10,248 - 10,253 of 19,541 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at the Majestic for a week and I have nothing but AMAZING things to say about this place!! The people are get the rooms are beautiful the food was delish! Everyone treated us so kindly and made sure we were having a great time! I would like to say if you go visit Carlos! He is in the bar in the lower lobby and he MADE our trip we had so much fun with him every time we showed up their he made us feel like celebrities! I believe the other gentlemen with him was named Kelvin he was great too. I cannot stress how those two made our trips our nights were planned around going to see these guys because the atmosphere was just so fun around them! The pool was amazing and the beach is beautiful.... GO Go GO now!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share that overall you had a great time at Majestic Colonial.

One of the best satisfactions is to read that the most notable asset we have is the kindness and attention of our staff, especially the ones you mention that make your stay so great around the lobby bar as this means that we have meet the most important principle of Majestic Colonial, we feel very happy that you enjoy so much the kindness o our staff and the beauty of our beaches and facilities in general

It is rewarding to receive compliments from our guests, and it would be even more rewarding to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Majestic Colonial.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Half this resort is burnt from a fire. No access to 1/4 of the pool, all the restaurants on the beach, the swim up bar and the spa....BURNT. We were lucky to receive NO notification from CheapCarribean.com and have yet to receive a response about our complaint. Did not have the room we booked MONTHS ago available for two days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Staci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Staci:

Thank you to expend your time writing a review and to give us your personal opinion about the hotel and the staff. After the fire, we try to keep our quality service to give you our best, using also some extra services at the Majestic Elegance hotel, our brother beside us. We take all guest feedback very seriously, and we're constantly improving all aspects of our service and facilities working so hard and giving our best all the time. In your case, please accept our apologize for all the inconvenience. Thank you very much again to give us your opinion.

Cordially


Ángel Holgado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent a week at MC. We went at part of a destination wedding with 65+ travelers. The staff worked amazingly hard and were always happy to take the best care of you... The best bar tender works in the lobby bar his name is Leo. The first day I walked up and asked for something with Rum. For the rest of the week when I would walk by he remembered me and would have a some new rum concoction to offer. He was always on and was very fast. The food was amazing. I stuck to mostly the local dishes while at the resort. There buffet apart from being the largest I had ever seen had everything from caviar to local whole fish, seafood Paella to Pizza pasta and burgers for those less adventurous. They have a coffee station in the buffet as well. The man to look for there is Rafael. He may introduce himself as George Clooney or Tiger Woods. This man can make coffee like you wouldn't believe. He makes a mocha with some alcohol lights it on fire poors it between glasses like a fire waterfall and then throws cinnamon into the flames so it sparks like a sparkler. All in all I have no complains. if i had to be picky the swimming lines where only about 15 feet from shore where the other resorts had more space but you can always walk 100 yrds to the next beach to take advantage of it.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor in the first set of housing. 1300 block. we had higher ceilings then some other rooms and an ocean view though mildly European between the buildings. I didnt see any rooms I wouldnt rate as nice. but the ground floor was not as nice as the uppers.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Far A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Majestic Colonial. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us enjoying the variety of our food and having so much fun at the bars with the always friendly barman’s. I am very pleased that our staff could fulfill your expectations and you felt well attended.

The main goal we have in Majestic is make our guest feel like at home

We thank you and hope to be your home in Punta Cana for next visit.

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent a week at the Majestic Colonial in March. This was our first trip to Punta Cana. The beach is one of the best I've been on. The gardening staff did a great job with the beach and gardens on the resort.

But, once we were off the beach and dinner was done, there was little to do. The shows were of a poor quality and did not keep our interest.

While the food was good, the buffet was not changed a lot so it grew tiresome by the end of the week. The French and Japanese restaurants are very good! The staff in the main buffet dining room were pleasant and efficient. A special thank you to Francisco, Jenny De Aza and Elvin for their warm and efficient service. They stood out!

We found inconsistencies in our rooms although we booked the same package with friends and were there at the same time. They had chocolates in their mini bar. We did not. We asked for them and got them once while our friends had them multiple times over the week.
We thought the cleaning of the room was superficial as well.
Someone either spilled or threw up Sangria in the elevator that went up to our room. Four days later it was still in the elevator. Cleaning could have been more thorough.

Our 12 year old son was served alcohol by one of the bartenders. He did not know it and drank several. He was quite ill by dinnertime. Once we figured it out, we were quite upset. Alcohol and heat could have been potentially dangerous to a child his age. He was wearing his wrist band indicating he was a child. Plus, he clearly looks like one. Someone did not do their job.

Lastly, it was irritating that if you left your towels on your chair and swam for awhile or quickly got something to eat, people would dump them on the ground and steal the seat. We tried to approach hotel staff to help us out as this continued but they did not want to be involved and left us hanging. Maybe they need more chairs or a policy.

Like I said, it was OK. Some stuff is good, some not so much. We wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mela328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just got back from the Majestic Colonial. It was our first trip to the Dominican and was not sure what to expect. The Majestic put all of of worries to ease. Even though they had just had a horrible fire it did not affect us at all. We were located almost right across from the construction and did not hear them at all- unless we were out on the balcony. The grounds were beautiful as was the pool. The staff was great! Our early morning coffee boy- Erbin Villa-really made our day! He is so friendly and takes much pride in his work! There were several daily activities to participate in as well as many night time ones. The wedding we attended was absolutely beautiful. I cannot wait to return to the Majestic.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebblesmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMColonial, General Manager at Majestic Colonial Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Majestic Colonial with others Tripadvisors members, we feel very pleased you had these beautiful holidays with us tasting our delicious morning coffee and the many activities we offer for the delight of our guest.
We would like to thank you for all your positive comments about our ground and our staff specially the ones you mention. I will be sure to pass it on to all our staff that will be more than happy to hear such positive feedback

We wish you could visit us soon

Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews