We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,132)
Filter reviews
18,132 results
Traveller rating
9,613
4,622
1,980
1,043
874
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,613
4,622
1,980
1,043
874
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club premium la fuente santa fe steakhouse coral seafood sports bar family deluxe spanish restaurant jacuzzi on the balcony language barrier beautiful resort seafood restaurant dinner reservations ocean front make reservations a la carte restaurants family vacation adult pool
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 18,132 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our first trip to the Bavaro Palace.

Firstly I have to report that while most of the staff were good the following staff were EXCEPTIONAL :

Ada & Cheal - So professional and helpful and always smiling (Premium Reception)
Chef Felix Morello - I had an omelette every day, totally delicious and also very friendly greeting us at breakfast (El Coral)
Gregory - He actually went all the way to another restaurant to get exactly what my daughter wanted, that's 5* service & a charming young man (La Fuente)
Melvin Dennis - Very sweet, made sure our room was clean and immaculate each day (Chambermaid) also put extra stuff in mini bar just for the kids.
Also Marcos in Sports Bar & Luis in La Comedie.

We booked a Junior suite & asked for an ocean view which we got, but needed binoculars to see the ocean.

The food was actually better than we had expected at El Coral lunch buffet (I'm a restauranteur myself). King Prawn, Baby Squid, Beef Filet, Duck a L'orange, Jamon Serrano, Manchego and the juiciest Papaya & Mango were highlights.

La Fuente best food by far, La Comedie good too,

Kyoto was poor, sooooooo salty and our chef "show" consisted of him spinning a spatula and dropping it - THAT WAS IT !
Meanwhile the chef opposite was incredible and tossed eggs on a knife without breaking them. Luck of the draw I guess.
We were also served rancid milk (stored outside not in a fridge) and when I pointed this out the waiter wanted to argue about it.

Overall the service at the various bars was good but some of the staff didn't seem very enthusiastic unlike the staff arranging and coordinating the activities by the pool and on the beach. Aqua fit was fun but you gotta change the music - I will never be able to listen to "who let the dogs out again" !

Water park and pools were great fun and the beach was much better then some people had said in reviews - the seaweed is a natural phenom and really didn't bother us.

Evening entertainment was as advertised by several posters - total waste of time for the kids (8pm) but the Michael Jackson impersonator (10pm) was absolutely brilliant !

BAD POINTS

1. The cost of wine is basically EXTORTION !
We only saw one other table in the whole stay who ordered a bottle, we ordered twice (my birthday and final night).
Not surprised people didn't drink it as I can confirm wine that costs US$7-10 retail is being sold at Barcelo Palace for US$50-60 while finer wine that retails at US$15-30
is sold for US$80-200.
Maybe someone should explain that with a smaller mark up they might sell more and actually make a bigger profit in $ terms.

2. Photos with animals
I have twins and as you would imagine wanted pictures together.
The photographers REFUSED or said I would have to pay DOUBLE !
ONE photo cost US$15 but I could get both kids in ONE photo with a parrot or monkey for US$30 ?????
Once again EXTORTION and something the management should look into.

These 2 points left a bad taste in my mouth for what was otherwise a great vacation, not because of the $$ value but just the principle - I don't like getting RIPPED OFF !

3. If you have A/C - turn it on !
Many places inside were unbearably hot (over 30C)

Undecided if we will return , , , , , ,

Room Tip: Don't get a junior suite - none right on the beach !
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thewayitis2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló Bavaro Palace. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

We want to thank you for choosing us as the destination for the enjoyment of well-deserved days of rest and relaxation. We are honored of having been part of these memories. We are very pleased to hear that our services and facilities met your expectations.

Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us.
We regret the services that were not totally of your liking; be assure that we will be taking them into consideration in order to improve these areas. In the same way, we are very sorry for the inconvenience that you had with the Photo Shop, we expect your understanding since it is an external company operating in our facilities. Their operations and positions are beyond the control of the hotel. We assure you that the directors of Tropical Pictures have already been informed of their particular observations and appropriate measures will be taken immediately in order to meet the expectations of our customers.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

All Inclusive food is always a drab by day 3. Beaches & Staff were Exceptional.Most beautiful beaches ivI' seen with really tall palm trees, dappked shade & sand like powder.No telling what u will see in the way some women dress. A lot of nakedness.Rooms were damp but, could have been because we had rain everyday.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Footprints731821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace for your vacations.

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday in our hotel was an enjoyable one.

We look forward to greet you all with open arms to our wonderful Caribbean paradise; our beloved Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time and experience at this resort. For the most part, the staff is very helpful and warm.
I have read many of the negative reviews which can be turned into positives with a few "tips" that I can share to make your experience a good one.
First, spend the extra money for the "premium" package..it will greatly improve your stay ( FREE room service, wifi, mini bar, etc, ) The best is you will have to wait in line to check in or out..this will save you 30-60 minutes !!
Second, upon arrival, make all of your dinner reservations. It will save you a lot of grief. ( Premium level only )
Third, make sure you book your return to the airport ( $30 for 2 ) when checking in.
Fourth, book your excursions through the hotel ( not a 3rd party) for many reasons..trust me.
Fifth, If you like pool bars, make sure you go to the Ceilo Bar and rent a "hut " for $15/day...very much worth it. The bartenders and staff here are really great ! Elle, Victor, and Omar are fantastic..As it should go unmentioned, if you tip the staff, your vacation just improved by 100%.. BTW, order 2 drinks at a time because they are tiny.
The food, in general, is not great but the Japanese restaurant and steakhouse was really good.. they really try but needs improvement. ( just saying for us at least )
The staff works very hard to keep the beach beautiful and clean...well done !
The sports bar is fun especially if there is a major sporting event going on. They have a HUGE screen and comfy seating. If you drink beer, they only serve ONE which is not bad. This is true throughout the entire resort... get used to it.
Lastly, if you are over 40 years old, I would NOT stay at the Adults only section unless you like a "spring break" atmosphere. However, if you do, cheers !!
Hope this helps you enjoy your time here... it is BEAUTIFUL

Stayed: October 2018
2  Thank drewp400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Bavaro Palace was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

In Barceló Hotels & Resorts we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests' expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal with you. It`s nice to hear that our entertainment, infrastructure, room and concept gastronomy were of your liking.

We would like to thank you for trusting us, and we would be grateful to welcome you back in our little Caribbean paradise.

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Best place I’ve ever stayed. Resort was amazing with loads to do and see. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The food was good always had a wide selection to pick from. So never any reason why you won’t eat

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank tobiolaadebomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your vacations and for sharing your impressions on this page.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share this kind comment about our hotel. Thank you very much! We are pleased that we were able to provide you a delightful stay and that we met your expectations. It is a pleasure for us to know that the restaurants, food concept, and facilities were of your liking.

Our highest priority is to make the stay of our clients the most satisfying and memorable of all. Thank you for your recommendations and hope to see you again!!

Sincerely,

Javier Cordero G.
General Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Stay for a week with my husband and 2 daughter age 11 and 8.
We arrived around noon..

We went to front desk and wait for 20 minutes..Just for them to tell us we are member and we have a designated place for check in..wish they told us that sooner..

They brought us to the premium club and had a quick and easy check in.

They did all the restaurant reservation for us the same day so it will be easy for us.

Our Room is at Family building... where the kids pool located..Room is Clean and Neat..Kids love it.They give my girls barcy shirt and husband liqour. Our housecleaner did excellent..

Swimming pool are clean..from the main pool kids pool lap pool and waterpark...cannot complain. open from 9 to 6.

They have pool bar and some other bar where you can get drinks.Open 9 to 6...
They have sports bar and lounge bar where you can hang out after that

They have 7 ala carte restaurant..

La Comedie,La Fuente,Santa fe
and Dolce Vita are good.Staff are very friendly..

Kyoto probably is my least favorite...Staff are friendly but i just dont see anything special on it..

We end up cancelling the Mexican Restaurant..Cannot comment in there

We enjoy Coral Seafood the most(we ate there twice for dinner)Luis our waiter is great..He make sure we are full and happy.

There is 2 Buffet restaurant both good and 3 rd one of you are premium..

Resort our very clean...Everyday i see gardeners and maintenance crew cleaning and making sure the place our trim and clean..

Entertainment staff:Most of them are friendly..Merita is always smiling and saying hello to everybody..Just look for her and shell help you out...

The Beach is great..Unfortunately there is some sea weed when we arrived..not wavy though since there is like a sandbar (??? i think,not sure)blocking the wave..by the time we are leaving the beach are almost clear out...

Overall...It is a wonderful trip..

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ladyann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier C, General Manager at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace as your destination of your vacation in the Dominican Republic.

It was very pleasant to know that you and your family enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you all a delightful stay. In Barceló Hotels & Resorts we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. We are glad to hear that our pools and grounds were to your liking.

Thank you for mentioning our team members by name, as we are now able to reach out to them individually and let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

Remember that here we will be waiting for you whenever you decide to come back and visit us.


Sincerely,

Carmen Caminero
Room Division Manager
Barceló Bávaro Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews