We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best experiences!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your own private porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch Large Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch
Large Bedroom
Dutch Door and Shutters
Wine Bottles Decorate the Walls
Firm Mattress
Custom Stained Glass over Door and Windows
Hot and Cold Water in the Shower and Sink
Bathroom Sink
Side view of Shower
Kitty in a Bucket
Wood Ducks, Palo Verde National Park
Giant Guapinol on Finca Los Arboles, Cob Cottage
Interesting Roots, Northshore, Lake Arenal
Jungle, Finca Los Arboles
Valley View, Finca Los Arboles
Western Shore, Lake Arenal
Waterfall near Cob Cottage, (notice the boy jumping from the cliff!!)
Fortuna de Bagaces Old Fashion Sugar Cane Mill
Certified Organic Wines served at Cob Cottage, Finca Los Arboles
Our Horse, Lula and Charlie
Typical Guanacaste Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Guayabo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Magdalena...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of the best experiences!”
Reviewed 23 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My husband and I spent about a week with William and Angie at the Hobbit Cottage. Our stay here was one of the best experiences we have had at Airbnb (and we've stayed at a lot of places over the years).

Firstly, the cabin itself is fantastic. It is a hand-made cob construction with a very well thought out layout. The interior design is even better! The stone floor and bamboo elements give it a truly unique character that is highlighted by sculptures of a local artist. The front patio has large and comfortable furniture in which you can sit and read or admire the amazing view. Secondly, the property around the cottage is large with trails ready to explore.

Thirdly, William and Angie are one of the best hosts I have met. They are both very knowledgeable about the area, wildlife and plants and had many recommendations for off-the-beaten-path places we might have otherwise missed. William and Angie are independent thinkers with a do-it-yourself attitude. Plus, they are friendly, intelligent and funny. They made us feel at home and we spent almost every night with them, engaged in interesting conversations. For me personally, the highlight of the stay was the 3 dogs!

I highly recommend this place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2017
Thank you Magdalena and Jan,
You are so kind. He look forward to more stories and laughs. It was great having you, more than guest, we are friends!
Cheers,
William and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senepauli
Terrebonne, Canada
1 review
“Little corner of paradise”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We simply loved our stay in this cute little hobbit. Our hosts Angie and William always made sure we were ok. Great breakfasts nice paths for walks on their property and our new friends Bonnie and Brewster, the cute dogs kept us company of paths. I will miss my little Bonnie. Tks for sharing ur corner of paradise with us. Dale and Pauline

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
It was a pleasure being your host. Bonnie and Brewster miss you already!
Cheers
William and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha H
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with a stunning view”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our one night stay at this gorgeous property. The cottage was clean and spacious with everything we needed. Our wonderful hosts provided a lovely pancake breakfast and are a wealth of knowledge regarding the area and places to visit. It was such a treat to start our vacation off at the cottage. Cheers from Canada.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Cheers to our Canadian guest. Thank you for enjoying our Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Host go above & beyond!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were looking for a secluded place outside of Liberia. The hobbit cottage was the first thing to pop up in our search. We were beyond impressed with the reviews and it was just what we were looking for. The reviews we read were everything and so much more!

Our host William & Angelica were absolutely fabulous! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with friendly smiles. It was New Years Eve and we had seen that William would cook for us for a minimal price (meals were between $10-$20). He also was kind and purchased some bubbly. My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner along with great conversation. Breakfast was included daily. The coffee & sugar cane were delicious. Out of our three evenings two of the evenings we opted to eat with William & Angelica. During our conversations they provide us great advice on various places to check out and told us great stories.

There was a small town close by, Gauybo. We actually had one dinner there as well as stopped for a few drinks another day. I can not remember the name of the restaurant but if you are driving through town its on your right before you go over a small bridge and leave town. It's a very open airy restaurant. Olga the owner was an adorable older woman. Rubio was our server both days and food was delicious and extremely reasonable priced. Plus a positive was they took credit cards. We actually were very surprised how many places accepted credit cards. For your incidentals at the hobbit house you will need cash.

Anytime we had a request they were more then willing to accommodate us. Angelica always insisted to give us bottled water any time we went out and about to make sure we were hydrated. One day we were taking a walk around the property and in passing mentioned to Angelica we may want a bottle of wine or two. After our walk there were two wine glasses & two bottles of organic red wine ($11-$20 a bottle) along with a cheese plate waiting for us.

The farm is very quaint and peacful. The view from our porch was breathe taking. The cottage is small but honestly we really didn't need much space since we were outdoors most of the time. It's perfect for two people.

On a side note the dogs were very friendly and sweet. They were watching a friends dog, Happy, and she was our guide around the farm. The cats stuck to themselves.

When were left we felt we had made new life long friends with William & Angelica!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Indeed,
It is truly amazing how we become close friends in just a short time. Maybe it is because we enjoy hosting our guest and try to make sure they are comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlyn9
Norcal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an unexpected find!”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Off the usual tourist track, we were pleasantly surprised to discover this place on Trip Advisor. Warm, welcoming hosts very generous with their time and home. Clean, comfortable, peaceful, a wonderful retreat on our road trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
We are happy to accommodate our guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing