We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place”
other travellers have booked this property
Your own private porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch Large Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Your own private porch
Side View of Porch
Large Bedroom
Dutch Door and Shutters
Wine Bottles Decorate the Walls
Firm Mattress
Custom Stained Glass over Door and Windows
Hot and Cold Water in the Shower and Sink
Bathroom Sink
Side view of Shower
Kitty in a Bucket
Wood Ducks, Palo Verde National Park
Giant Guapinol on Finca Los Arboles, Cob Cottage
Interesting Roots, Northshore, Lake Arenal
Jungle, Finca Los Arboles
Valley View, Finca Los Arboles
Western Shore, Lake Arenal
Waterfall near Cob Cottage, (notice the boy jumping from the cliff!!)
Fortuna de Bagaces Old Fashion Sugar Cane Mill
Certified Organic Wines served at Cob Cottage, Finca Los Arboles
Our Horse, Lula and Charlie
Typical Guanacaste Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Guayabo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Heimann P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 2 nights at this place and were very satisfied. The owner William and his wife are very nice and sitting with them in the evening and morning was interesting and cozy.
What could improve the stay is a trail through the forest for ex.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
We have trails that circumnavigate the property (27-Ac) but recommend using bug spray.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefnos
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cozy cottage; great hosts; good food”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A cozy cottage up the road from Bagaces. You need a car to reach it. Three friendly dogs, two cats, a horse and a goat. The owner has been in the area for a decade and was able to give good tips on places to visit. Great potential for birders, but the owners haven't put up feeders yet. Nevertheless, I saw a toucan, parrots and flycatchers. The food was well prepared and delicious; I ate with the hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
We are frequented with a variety of birds, most recently the Oropendula. What a beautiful song they have. They are the ones that build the long hanging teardrop shaped nest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasha182
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a great location!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent one week at Cob Cottage with my husband and we both had an excellent time. The unique design of the cottage and the use of natural materials gives it an organic feel. The views are beautiful and so is the property. Our hosts, William and Angie, were friendly and helpful and made us feel like part of the family. We asked to have both breakfast and dinner provided for us and the food was delicious, fresh, and always included some fruits and/or vegetables grown right on site! Pura vida!

The location of Cob Cottage is ideal. It's about an hour from Liberia airport and not too far from some wonderful national parks (Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde) and a number of local hot springs. In the week we were there we never ran out of places to visit and things to do. We used Cob Cottage as a home base from which to visit national parks, volcanoes, and beaches, but I could also see people enjoying the location as somewhere to get away from it all and simply enjoy it on its own. Either way, this is sure to be a perfect spot for travellers to Costa Rica!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to your return.
There are still some secret places near by that we can explore next time. We finally got some rain last night....hopefully more is on the way.
Best Regards,

William and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat642014
Lake Worth, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a wonderful stay with Angie and William. They were great hosts and we greatly enjoyed ourselves with them. They are more than helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. They made our stay much more enjoyable by being able to discover what the Guancaste province has to offer. Great view every morning looking down onto the valley. When you drive out of the property, there is a fantastic view of Miravalles. The doggies are very friendly too! William and Angie will also cook you dinner for a very reasonable price. You will eat very healthy foods. Everything they served was delicious and you will have good conversations.

We both highly recommend Cob Cottage, and staying with William and Angie, without any hesitation. Can't wait to go back!

Thanks William and Angie!

Pat and Maria

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
We too are looking forward to your return. Last year we had lots of rain so new plants popping up everywhere!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huberranc...
Umpqua, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was an awesome experience!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and i spent three nights here. William and Angelica were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed very delicious breakfasts which were served outdoors. The Cob house is impressive and an awesome place to spend the night. I am ready to go back anytime!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you. We just learned of a fantastic deal on a huge house in the Central Pacific region. I'll email you the information.
See you next time.

Best Regards,

William and Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing