We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single man first visit to DR”
Review of New Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Garden Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Single man first visit to DR”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

PROS:
All I can say, Awesome!!! This is the place for single men to stay. Others hotels my have more amenities but location and the local ladies hang-out spot they do not. I recommend a room on the second or third floor over-looking the pool. Step out onto the balcony and look down at the beautiful local ladies was great.
The free WI-FI is great, it works in your room and down by the pool-side. Skype, yahoo messenger, Facebook all work perfect. Other hotels have WI-FI in one hot spot down in the lobby. The free breakfast is great, cooked to order. Others hotel have buffet style with the same food every day. New Garden is ground zero for the night-life and disc club (Classico). The rooms have free TV, adult channels, ESPN, Sports, ABC, NBC. Etc. The room have a free digital safe, others hotel charge for a safe usage per day. The New Garden is not a resort with all the bells and whistle but it has everything men need to have an awesome experience.
CONS:
No wash towels. It maybe a custom thing but they do not provide wash towel. Bring your owe.
No 24hr room service
No microwave in rooms
No Iron and Ironing board in room, must check it out from front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank jax4u2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    45
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
4
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

My first trip to DR. But i noticed that 90% of all places were all inclusive. That was not what I ever want. That is like being locked into a place and I wanted to come and go, eat, drink go anywhere at anytime. The new garden is perfect for that. Get a room in the new wing. Wilfred will help you with reservations and is very helpful. Walking distance to everything. Including the spectacular beach. a million places to eat, drink, shop or hang out.

Hotel is clean, my room had very hot water, tv with all SAT channels, digital safe, a/c, jacuzzi and was fine. Kind of noisy at times when the motochonchos drive by the road with no mufflers. The food at the the hotel was excellent. Room included breakfast. But other meals were very good as well. It has a well stocked bar. security guard at night.
nice pool with a little too much chlorine for my tastes.
I plan to stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank donhosbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hi I just came back from Sosua, I stayed at the New Garden Hotel.
Hotel was Incredible, Food great ( service was a little slow) as they only have 1 person doing bar & eating area.

The hotel rooms were basic but very clean, with amazing hot water (the hottest I have ever had in Dominican Rep). Air Conditioning and T.V. were working fine

Overall the best hotel I have ever stayed in, in the Dominican Rep.

The Town of Sosua is quite small and A LOT of bars, Lots of girls looking for men. (watch your wallet) The rum is good but will catch up to you suddenly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alwaysgoodtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

If you and your friends are single travelers then you don't have to look any further than the New Garden Hotel........it's Ground Zero for anything you could possibly want on a vacation at this 37 room resort with it's central location and a minute walk to the bars, discos and restaurants.......and ten minutes walk to Sosua Beach which is beautiful........the owner and staff aim to please and it shows.........the spacious rooms are nice with nicely appointed bathrooms and offer a lot bang for the money with refrig, ceiling fan, cable TV, hairdryer, A/C and comfortable beds........there is a nice pool and patio area........and a nice bar/restaurant and dining area to hangout and chill.........breakfast is included in the room price and all the food is excellent here......the pool area is a favorite area for guests to mingle and socialize as everyone is overly friendly here........the New Garden caters to single travelers and particularly the males.......there is no low season for the New Garden as the rooms are in demand 365 days a year......so book accordingly.........

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank FLRocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I stayed just for a few nights for a hobby that brings me to the DR. The new wing was still under construction but the regular part of the hotel was nice for the DR. Clean and comfortable. Wilfred the manager is Awesome! Took care of transportation to and from POP airport. Wlaking distance from just about everything.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ILMpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eia75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at New Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno.
Vogliamo ringraziarLa per la su visita e per la bella relazione scritta.
Nell'attesa di riaverLa presto fra i nostri ospiti,
porgiamo i nostri più cordiali saluti.

NEW GARDEN HOTEL STAFF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.1 km away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 31 in Sosua
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#6 of 31 in Sosua
161 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
13.1 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Garden Hotel

Property: New Garden Hotel
Address: C/Dr. Rosen #32 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Sosua
Price range (per night): $86 - $153
Hotel Class:3 star — New Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel located just steps from the beach in Sosua and a few minutes from the international airport of Puerto Plata. Offering a variety of comforts and an excellent restaurant, is the ideal place to spend a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday in the Dominican Republic alone, with friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing