We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
37
47
17
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
47
17
5
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We were seduced by the photos of the restaurant over the cliff. But our room hasn't been renovated in 30 years. We couldn't sleep because the matresses on the bed were hard as rock. The bluefish neon lights in the room did nothing to set the mood. The decoration was very outdated and the service was so-so. We book a queen size bed room but got twin beds instead, they were not helpful in any way to try changing us rooms over the week we were there. The staff was very cold and unfriendly. On a positive note: the location was very good, a few minutes from the 2 available beaches and the breakfast buffet was also interesting.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

2016 !!!Bad breakfast! Going to Make you sick.
Very sad. Was going there for over 10 years!!!!
Hotel is very old. Slow internet. I'm so disappointed. Sosua is over for me. All bars closed.
Stay away from this hotel. Not guest friendly !!!!
Not gringo friendly hotel.
They ask me to leave the hotel cuz I got girl at night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank Zach555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

I visited this hotel on 7-29 & 7-30, 2016.
The hotel itself is quite old and elaborate, but it is in great shape and very clean.
It is built on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic (no beach)
Everywhere you look there is elaborate decorative filigree and touches.
They have a gazebo overlooking the water and I don't think I've ever seen a more perfect place for a wedding.

The room was right around $60.00 a night and that included breakfast.
It was great to sit out on the veranda overlooking the bay as the captains came and went getting their boats ready in the morning and having a very nice breakfast which included an omelet station.

I had room 101 which was directly against the lobby. I was worried that it would be noisy but it was not. The nice thing about that room was it had REALLY good wifi.
Also, it was on the first floor. Which was a good thing because the hotel is a 3 story walk up hotel. So if you have trouble navigating stairs, keep that in mind.

The bed was hard as a rock, about the only downside I can name, but the shower was good and hot with a ton of water pressure.

The hotel is about 5 blocks from the main drag.
Unfortunately it is down some real lonely dark streets. I would suggest taking a cab or a motorcycle taxi coming and going. I had a rental car and we drove because it just did not seem very safe.
The lobby had a clerk on duty 24 hours a day and in the evening they had a guard with a shotgun patrolling the grounds and stationed out front. So while the road in did not seem safe, the hotel itself did feel safe.

Otherwise I could not suggest this hotel any higher. Great place.

Room Tip: It's a 3 story walk up, so be aware.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

So we've spent a week and a half in DR, and the last two days at the Piergorgio Palace Hotel. We've had two rooms...I'll explain later.

First, the views are stunning! A minute walk away from spectacular ocean views! I'll add pics below.

Second, the staff was amazingly attentive except for our First Lady at the front desk. Other than her, everyone else was really amazing!

Third, the food was first rate!!! Delicious all the way around!

Fourth, if you are looking for a spot with authentic old-world charm, this place has got it! Very old school, from the front entrance and the beautiful staircase, to the balconies & fixtures...old-world charm for sure!

However, there are some very real problems. The old-world furniture is falling apart. Chairs & matching headboards are missing pieces. Cracks in walls. Even deep scuff marks on beautiful white ceramic floors. There were dark (dirt?) patches on walls in both rooms.

When we checked in, we had two rooms booked, neither room had wifi, which they advertise, or flatscreen tv's, also advertised. After about three hours, and a shift change, the new front desk person, a male, moved us to rooms closer to the lobby. See the original front desk attendant told us to come to lobby for wifi. Thankfully the new gentleman had a better idea. We were moved to two new rooms with very spotty wifi but we made it work.

The shower fixture is from the 70's and it shows. They should be changed. The closet doors weren't on tracks. One room didn't have a fridge or chairs on the balcony.

Beach is a bit of a walk but it was fun and culturally enlightening.

There were other issues but we had a great time regardless.

I think it all depends on what you are looking for. If modern amenities aren't an issue, you'll love this place. I loved how quiet it was here too.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank BroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Stayed here with my two daughters. Hotel is located on a cliff above the Atlantic and Sosua Bay and has amazing views. The sunsets were absolutely stunning (see pictures). There are outdoor terraces above the water and a couple of outdoor pools, which were nice and clean. The building exudes historic charm, but the rooms and exterior need updating. The mattresses were very firm. Much too firm for my liking. However, I wore myself out enough exploring each day that I slept fine. Our room rate included an excellent breakfast complete with fresh fruit, bread, pastries, juice, coffee, and eggs made to order, including omelets. The room had a safe available for a daily charge. This was the only hotel out of three on our trip that charged extra to use the safe. Not sure why they cannot provide the safe with the room rate. The TV worked fine, but was outdated and did not have a remote, not that we spent much time watching TV anyway. Overall, I liked the hotel and probably would stay there again.

Room Tip: You can reserve a room with an ocean view for extra. Probably worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews