We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views. Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Stayed here with my two daughters. Hotel is located on a cliff above the Atlantic and Sosua Bay and has amazing views. The sunsets were absolutely stunning (see pictures). There are outdoor terraces above the water and a couple of outdoor pools, which were nice and clean. The building exudes historic charm, but the rooms and exterior need updating. The mattresses were very firm. Much too firm for my liking. However, I wore myself out enough exploring each day that I slept fine. Our room rate included an excellent breakfast complete with fresh fruit, bread, pastries, juice, coffee, and eggs made to order, including omelets. The room had a safe available for a daily charge. This was the only hotel out of three on our trip that charged extra to use the safe. Not sure why they cannot provide the safe with the room rate. The TV worked fine, but was outdated and did not have a remote, not that we spent much time watching TV anyway. Overall, I liked the hotel and probably would stay there again.

Room Tip: You can reserve a room with an ocean view for extra. Probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel a bit hard to find (even with GPS), we had to ask for directions in the town of Sosua. Once we arrived at the hotel, we had the impression of entering an Agatha Christie novel: Victorian style and you'd expect to run into Hercule Poirot at any moment. Room with ocean view was nice; a bit dated (but hey, what do you want: it's in Victorian style ;)
Very friendly service at the reception and at the bar.

Beautiful view from the hotel terrace, down the cliffs into the sea. The restaurant is very nice, a good choice of Italian and international cuisine. The quality of the food is also very good; meat is very tender. My wife took a salad, which was big enough for a full dinner; only thing missing was a bit of dressing/taste.

Breakfast, included in the hotel, was nice. Buffet style and the possibility to have your eggs cooked the way you wanted them.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Guy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

We went here with friends for evening drinks and have been here several times. Staff are always attentive and this large facility is spotlessly clean. This would be a perfect place for a destination wedding. Tables overlooking Sosua Bay and glorious sunsets. A true gem.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

lovely view and experience however we had rain for one night.service was excellent and food quite good.however there was nothing nearby.casino very seedy and rundown.prostitutes hanged around.walking down sosua plenty of restaurants stores and people walking.need to be very careful of your surroundings.

Room Tip: service is excellent.staff is very friendly and helpful.area around hotel is not so nice.seedy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariaeliza1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016

OK, so Sosua has a bit of a reputation on the island as a party place but we were very impressed with the public beach when we stayed in Cabarete last year and passed through Sosua on our way to a deep sea fishing excursion. So we returned and booked a room at the Piergiorgio Palace. First of all, the price was a smoking deal. Second, we liked the pictures and I must say, the pictures don't do this place justice. It is spectacular, kind of brings back memories of the days when hotels were destinations. Check in was smooth, the staff friendly, the location was convenient and the restaurant was excellent with perhaps the best ambience I've enjoyed on the island. The negatives are the rooms are a bit spartan, there is no direct beach access and the seating, all of it, is less than comfortable but...those views, the gardens, the restaurant quality and the peaceful location within a vibrant local community (this place was quiet) makes the Piergiorgio Palace a cant miss. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.5 km away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
1.8 km away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Victorian House Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#11 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
1.6 km away
Ahnvee Resort & Sports
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piergiorgio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piergiorgio Palace Hotel

Address: El Batey 1, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sosua
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: $125 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piergiorgio Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream realized by Italian fashion designer, Piergiorgio, this white clapboard inn has a wrap-around verandah adorned with ornamental gingerbread, characteristic of Sosua's glory days in the Victorian era. The front entrance replicates a gazebo and faces a dramatic marble staircase that ascends to the third-floor, Italianate penthouses with expansive sundecks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Piergiorgio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Piergiorgio Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing