We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,658)
Filter reviews
1,658 results
Traveller rating
878
478
186
67
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
878
478
186
67
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee shop adults only section michael jackson show animation team beer bar beach bar small resort vip pool special thanks amazing coffee stayed in building santo domingo juan carlos dominican restaurant punta cana dancing lessons climbing wall
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,658 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Okay hotel. A Little lean on the hot water in the shower, but okay in the entertainment. The food was good.
I had access to the private pool for people who paid more, but didn't use it. I'm not complaining though, as I always got two chairs on the beach.
The alcohol in the room was not equal to Riu as we didn't get a refill until the final night of our stay and only two cans of beer.
Was okay I suppose, less than 45 minutes by bus from Santo Domingo.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Cosmopolitan773758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Cosmopolitan773758,
Thank you very much for your preference and for taking the time to write a review about your experience, we are so pleased to see that most aspects of your stay went so well and you enjoyed the good food, los of chairs at the beach and convenient location. We sincerely appreciate your comments, as they are extremely valuable to improve our work, sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Positive:
Good airconditioning and room size.
Delicious cookies at the coffee house and our room was clean.

Negative:
Booked because of the adult only pool, but right behind it is the kids entertainment (so extreme noise) and kids go to the adults only section anyway. The quality of the food is far below average and you get your drinks by the time you are finished eating. There is animal cruelty on site (take pictures with chained ones). The wifi is unusable, you will not be able to load a website. Bought a local SIM in the town closeby. This resort is not worth the money.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sunflower144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Sunflower144,
Thank you very much for choosing us and taking the time to write us, so we can learn about your perspectives. We are happy to know you appreciated the good air-conditioning and clean room, as well as the delicious cookies at One Coffee. Please allow us to comment, we offer a great wifi with a wide range of coverture that even works at the beach area, we didn't receive any reports about this matter and we would have loved for you to approach us, so our team would have helped you connect your devices properly. At the Adults only section we have our securities who are always working to maintain the Adults only section as it is, only for adults, sometimes circumstances out of our control happens, but our team will make it right immediately. To access to the Adults only building each guest is assigned with a ''Access code'' to get through the door. We appreciate your comments and we will definitely share it with our staff to prevent these things to happen. We are deeply sorry our food didn't meet your standards, and we are shocked to read about your comments about the animals, we would love to have more details about it since we are a pet friendly hotel and we even work with associations from the area to rescue animals and bring them the possibility to have food and find a loving home with caring families. We sincerely hope this information was useful for you, Warm regards, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My sister and I booked the Sunwing golf package at Emotions by Hodelpa, Juan Dolia. The customer service at the resort were not knowledgable about this add on at all. Through many conversations and booking errors on their part, we were only able to take advantage of one of our golf days (with an add'l $20/ea. caddy fee). They offered to substitute our excursions, but we had to pay in advance and did not receive a credit. Sunwing offered only a $50 coupon for future use for our over $600 add on. We asked for an appeal, and never heard back at all. I'm very disappointed with the service of Sunwing and Emotions. I will never go back to this resort, and will tell everyone not to use Sunwing service as they do not back up their promises.

3  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Tracy D,
We are deeply sorry you had this inconvenience with your tour operator, please allow us to inform you our front desk operates by the bookings sent from them, as we didn't receive any previous notice as you described, our team tried their best to accommodate your needs after you arrival, but that always depends on the availability of the moment. Once again we are deeply sorry, sometimes unexpected circumstances out of our control cause these things to happen. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We have visited Dominican republic for the past 3 years and have loved it every time. we normally stay in Punta Cana and each time the resorts are amazing, from the food, the rooms to the people, each thing bringing us back the next year.

We decided to stay closer to my fiances family since we have a 8 month year old and decided to stay at this resort as it had about the same star ratings as the other resorts we have stayed at.

This resort was in no comparison to the others. Our rooms were small and basic, and flooded when it rained, we needed to get a room on the second level because of how bad it flooded.

The food was also not what i was expecting at all, it was nothing special, not what we were use to eating when visiting the dominican repubic, and all of the juiceswere all fake as we were told and not natural which was extremely disappointing. I also got ill with diarrhea for at least 4 days which i now see is common among the reviews. My fiance also got it for a few days as well.

The service was bare minimum to what were use to. normally when we stay in D.R the service we get is as if they are treating us like family, but at this resort we dident feel like this at all. We barley even got our drinks refilled during breakfast and launch.
It was almost like if you were a local (my fiances was from D.R) then you wernt treated as well because they new you wouldn't tip them....their were a few workers that were great and our cleaning lady was amazing but that was it.

The day we got their we new it was a mistake from the look of the places and were frustrated we just wasted so much money. listen to the bad reviews on this resort they are all similar and true.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Platano2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Platano2018,
Thank you very much for choosing us due to our very convenient location, we are happy our housekeeper team did an amazing job at taking care of your rooms as you expected. We are deeply sorry we didn't meet your standards, please allow us to inform you and our readers, our food is made with fresh products and carefully selected to provide the best quality, sometimes our fresh juices may contain sugar because of our guests desire, you can always ask our team to serve you any fresh juice without any sugar on it so you can enjoy the pure fruit on its completely natural version, we are sure you will love it. Thank you for sharing with us and the rest of the community your perceptions, they are very important for us, and we are just left with the desire to welcome you back again with us to show you what a great time we can spend together. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Great time and great people; the entertainment was fantastic Mr. Gasolina and Ms. Ruth did a great job entertaining everyone. The bar was all you can drink and restaurants all you can eat; they have beautiful beach with all the activities you can imagine. Tours to different areas of the country. The resort is very accessible to the capital, Santo Domingo and San Pedro de Macoris.

Room Tip: If you are traveling without the kids, pic the adults area. You get a private pool and Jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _jbonsenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteleshodelpa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Emotions by Hodelpa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear _jbonsenor,
Thank you very much for sharing how conveniente our location is, as well as how amazing the ''all you can eat food and drinks'' are, we are happy to know you really enjoyed it. We will definitely inform Gasolina and Ruth what an amazing time you had thanks to all of the activities and entertainment set for you. Its been our pleasure serving you. Sincerely, Monica, Hodelpa Costumer Satisfaction Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews