We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
10
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
10
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had such a great time here at the Hummingbird! With the lovely staff and cats and dogs!
Only 5-10 minutes from the beach.
The rooms are super clean and with A/C which is perfect for the hot days of August here in Cabarete.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaudeC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at The Hummingbird, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review Maude! Hope to see you back one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

This place is great, they have a nice pool, air conditioning, and strong wifi, what more could you want? They have great breakfast in the morning for purchase and a pingpong table for down time. The hotel manager Manu is great as well

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank Gaetano P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at The Hummingbird, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Hummingbird is a great hotel! It is really close to the city center, has the cutest hotel dog ever and the staff is really friendly and helpful. The room are spacious and clean, and the pool area is really nice. Great value for the money. Their breakfast is also really good, try the omelette.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at The Hummingbird, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you very much Maria! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Pictures at the homepage of the hotel don't match the reality at all.

This place has great potential, but it seems as if it had been neglected for a longer period.
We experienced: Bed sheets with holes, towels with holes, pillows with staines of mould, door of balcony not working, defect gas stove, very poor equiped kitchen, holes in the wall with electro cables hanging out.
The room was not perfectly clean at our arrival.
New painting is urgently needed at this hotel.

Really no value for money at this place, unfortunately.

The hotel is good located , close to everything one needs.
Very friendly staff!
Nice pool!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at The Hummingbird, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear Linda, thank you for staying with us and your review. Although I think it is absolutely out of order. We are continuously working on renovations, replacements and improvement of the hotel. Outside parts of the building are repainted every couple months. The inside of the apartments are repainted when necessary and possible. What is true: The apartment you stayed in, has some humidity issues in the roof wall, which is why the paint on the roof comes off quickly. Which is also, why we take off the old paint and repaint the roof in the room about every 2 months. It's the only thing we can do. And it is only a visual matter. No mold. So it's not the prettiest roof, but for most of our guests it's no problem. Especialy as this room only costs US$ 35 per night for up to 3 guests (very spacious), in central Cabarete, with wifi, AC, Security and pool. No value for money? Go find another room for that price in central Cabarete and see what you're staying at then. And if there is no value for the money at our hotel, why did you not talk to me or Yoni or Robenson and say you'd like to stay somehwere else/better? We are allways very flexible if a guest does not like the Hummingbird (which barely happens though). We only want people staying with us who like the place. Otherwise they bring in a bad vibe. So we would have refunded the rest of your stay right away. Only 1 word would have been enough.
What I also do not understand is what you say about our pictures. We take new pictures about every 6 months. The pictures are not even taken by a professional photographer and especialy not photoshoped. So how do you suggests that those pictures that were taken at our location less than 6 months ago, do not reflect the reality? The only thing that is different is, that of course not everything is organised as perfectly as in the photos, as our guests are using the facilities and place things where they want to have them (sunchairs etc). Untill we put it back to it's place every afternoon and morning.
We have daily cleaning service, from 6am till 6pm there is allways a facility manager who can help you with anything you need. And besides the balcony door that you were not able to close (it can be closed, but it's true, it's a bit difficult) you did not report any issues. We agreed right away to your request to move to the upper floor, although we had to move around other reservations last minute. Sometimes it's sad how you can try to make everything for your guests but do not get any appreciation. We know that not everything is "perfect" at the Hummingbird - so we do not expect "perfect" reviews. But we are a small budget hotel and we try to make the best out of it that we can. If a guest is not happy with something, we react right away and try to help. We permanently work on improvement. So someone saying the place has been "neglected" and "no value for money" is just completely not understandable for us. But thank you anyways, I just would have wished you would have talked to me about it. This way we would have had the chance to take care of whatever issues you were experiencing and you most probably would have enjoyed your stay much more. Saludos Manu Lus, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We was 4 friends from Norway that stayd here for one month. Great place, simpel and just perfect for us. The people that work here was so nice to us. 2 min walking to motortaxi and under 10 min walking to town :)

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sammyrepstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manu L, Manager at The Hummingbird, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Thank you for your review! You guys are very nice guests and allways welcome to stay at the Hummingbird :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews