We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very pleasant stay,nice place, beautiful people”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Elroy M
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay,nice place, beautiful people”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Got to the airport in Puerta Plata on a beautiful sunny day, got picked up by CALI and Loco FORTUNA, great start. The resort is practically brand new, very clean and quite convenient being close to CABARETE and SOSUA. The beach is a good 10 minutes walk, quite deserted but pretty secluded. We went to Sosua Beach a couple of times, a bit too crowded for my liking. We were treated to breakfast a few times and even had a special spaghetti diner,which was enjoyed by most of the guests staying at the hotel. The staff is incredibly nice and accomodating on a whim s notice. Would definitely consider going back. A bit of a downside, the morning rooster gets up very early, and a couple of dogs barking early morning, no need for a wake up call.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the service if you need something,, ask and you ll get it
Liked least: the morning rooster an barking dogs
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarenceD...
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“False Advertising”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
8
people found this review helpful

The photographs and the resort information provided by this facility were either outright false, significantly embellished or variations of the truth. The "walk along our manicured pathway to your own private beach" was a hike through an impoverished area complete with stray dogs, abandoned buildings and piles of trash. There were no "action sports or adventures" other than surviving our stay. The advertised "24 hour butler service" was total fiction. We saw no evidence of a "concierge desk" or a "lounge". There is no restaurant on site; however there is a barbeque grill which is rusted. The pool area could only accommodate six persons; therefore, if there are more guests staying at this facility, they would have to go without a chair. The "spa" consisted of one marginal table in an otherwise barren room. Our toilet did not work for solid waste yet when we complained, we were told that it did, in fact, work. We had to use the pool bathroom instead. We were also informed that no toilet tissue could be flushed, but to place the soiled tissue in our trashcan and place the bag outside of our door each morning. The door to our room was not flush with the floor, so that we had at least one 18 inch snake slither into our room Our neighbors had rats behind their unit. The outlet for the kitchen was over the sink so that we had to precariously place the toaster and coffee machine on the side so that they did not topple into the sink. There is absolutely no cell service in the rooms so you had to go outside rain or shine, if you wanted to use your device. Two days prior to our departure, the water in our room turned brown in the sinks and the toilet and did not clear up. Although our furniture was uncomfortable, it was in mostly in good condition with the exception of one of the beds, which broke when we sat on it for the first time. It was definitely not as shown in the photographs on the website. Our fellow travelers; however, had a broken couch and their shelf below the television fell to the floor where it remained. They also had mold under their kitchen sink. The staff and their families had noisy get togethers on an almost nightly basis.
Although we were told that there was a shuttle available everyday, for a fee of $50.00 for the week, the shuttle refused to take us to the town adjacent to Cabarete, except on one occasion and only then because one of the guests had slipped on the wet marble and broken her arm and the hospital was in that town.
The only positives were that most of the staff were friendly, although we did feel a bit extorted at the end of our stay when they asked for tips even though we had been tipping throughout our time there. The pool was kept very clean and the vegetation was manicured. Our shower head was also very nice.
We have traveled to many Caribbean destinations and throughout Europe and never had such a negative experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The tour guide who was not associated with the property
Liked least: Everything else
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NESunseek...
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Little jewel, still a work in progress”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
10
people found this review helpful

The most important thing to note about the Phoenix Resort is that it is brand new as of November 2014. The good thing about this is that all appliances and amenities are new and in good working order. The owner, Benoit, who was there when we were there, is very motivated to make things work and responsive to all suggestions. The downside is that it is still a work in progress, with staff being trained and a few kinks being worked out. Having said this, my husband and I very much enjoyed our stay here.

The small complex of 14 units is very clean and nicely landscaped. It is in a small rural village (not a ghetto and perfectly safe to walk through during the day) about 15 minutes' brisk walk to the beach. We found the village residents to be perfectly friendly. The beach is nearly deserted and we walked miles and miles in either direction, meeting only a few tourists and the occasional person on horseback. Cabarete and Sosua are pretty little beach towns. Our recommendation would be to rent a car if you are able, to allow for maximum freedom of movement. However, for $50, you can have unlimited access to the resort's "guagua," or minibus, for trips to town, etc. Our advice is to be patient and to ask for what you need. Give it 6-12 months to get past growing pains and this will be a little jewel for the independent traveler.

Another tip is to ask for a one-bedroom unit, which is much more spacious and has better storage than the studio. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, bring earplugs as this is in the country and screens don't eliminate noise. You will hear some noise from the pool/bar area, as well as barking dogs outside the complex, roosters, cows and donkeys.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauricema...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Merci pour ses beau commentaire.Nous esperons de vous revoir sous peux.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claired01...
Boucherville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prendre mon café dehors,le matin, tout en lisant mon journal!
Liked least: Lorsque l'eau de la douche était plutôt froide....
Travelling group: Époux(se)/partenaire
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing