We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Palms and the beach is one of the pretties places on the planet .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Coconut Palms and the beach is one of the pretties places on the planet .”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The people there're your new friends . Just like family they work to make your stay easy and care free . All you have time for are tours and just relaxing .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    66
    55
    23
    34
See reviews for
68
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My Husband and I were at the Coconut Palms in early Febuary. We had bought a package deal from Living Social called Surf Camp in Cabarete. It was a five days, two meals included with three days of surf lessons.
We had a blast. Surfing was DEFINATLY the highlight. The beach "Playa Encuectro" is a huge surfing beach. Our lessons were from Chino's surf school but all of the five or so surf shops seem to be a friendly co op environment. The beach has a flat rock bottom for the first ten feet or so. It makes for good beginning to intermediate level surfing. But not ideal for sun bathers or children. I am not saying there weren't kids or people on the beach. They were, it is just a very ACTIVE area. If you do want to go to the beach walk the 15 minute road and rent some water socks from the many shops. They would love the business. There is also a tiki bar to grab a beer or food and watch the water.
Cocnut palms was a restful place for our post surf mornings. The air conditioning was great and the pool and rooms were clean. People were so nice and very good service. The food was good, the Dominican buffet on Thursday night was great. And there coffee was FANTASTIC! Yummy. We met wonderful people and surfed with another couple who had bought the same package. I thoght the prices for the drinks were very resonable for the quality. Try the Caparina- Lime suger and rum. Tart and refreshing.
If we had not been surfing we would have been bored. It is not close to town and we did not have a car. Taxi to Cabarete was $500 pesos one way(like $13 american) Cabarete is such a beach tourist town. Very active with tons of walkable shops and resturants. Cabarete beach is a kid and sunbather mecca so you could do taxis there for that type of experience.
We will be back to Cabarete!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MeganHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

After reading the negative reviews, I wasn't expecting much. However, I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed every minute of my stay.

For the people who said there was no hot water; there is a switch on the wall to turn on the heater.

Tiki bar was great to chill and watch local baseball and Victor has tons of great tunes.

Staff were super friendly and very helpful. The guys at the resort took us to the disco is Susua, and took care of us, insuring we returned home safe.

Would love to return to this little resort again.

Don't expect a 5 Star resort but know you will meet great people and have an amazing time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank UglyGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Imagine what a hip and cool spot looked like circa 1989...Coconut Palms will give you that retro style with all the kindness you can possibly take. Judy who runs the hotel is always accessible, always curious what you think of your stay- the folks who work there have spent their adult lives employed at the Coconut Palm Hotel which says tons about the way employees are treated.
The rooms are simple and clean clean clean. They offer nothing special just a clean place to lay your head or hang out.
Noise: there is a bit of that. all the rooms circle the pool and bar and restaurant. so the place can get a bit lively but everything seems to quiet doen by 11pm.
Clientele: 50+ Canadian and Upstate NY folk, timesharers, working class or younger but not in the expendable money category.
It was a great place to start our trip, we had a combo pack with surf lessons from Chino's Surf School-this is a must! If you can read this, walk a little, then get on that surf board and let Chino's Surf School teach you the rest!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teisterschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Be sure to ask for a thrid floor room. The views of the ocean from the balacony are great. The pool was cold. Surprising because the ocean was like bath water. This is a very laid back resort with little activities. To really enjoy the area I would recommend renting a car (Just don't drive in Santo Domingo). The beach was a hike from the resort and the town was a couple of miles.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LibLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
3.7 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
8.4 km away
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
Hotel Celuisma Cabarete
#18 of 21 in Cabarete
356 reviews
5.3 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 21 in Cabarete
1,559 reviews
3.6 km away
Sea Horse Ranch
Sea Horse Ranch
#8 of 21 in Cabarete
36 reviews
6.0 km away
Kite Dreem Hotel
Kite Dreem Hotel
#14 of 21 in Cabarete
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cabarete

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Vista del Caribe, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabarete
Price range (per night): $139 - $189
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Cabarete
Coconut Palms Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing