We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,787)
Filter reviews
1,787 results
Traveller rating
449
683
365
148
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
683
365
148
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnack bara la carte restaurantsbeach vendorsbuffet restaurantentertainment staffkite surfingdolphin swimno graciashot dogsparadise islandnachosmain buffetsmaller resortnightly showsthe beach is greatbig wavesother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,787 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel, some great staff , very accomodating
Lovely vacation for relaxing .
Only a couple complaints, no coffee for in room brewers and very picky about filling a water bottle.
Food was good, enjoy

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank monsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your positive review on TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences with other travelers.

Our continuous commitment is to provide quality services to all off our guests and therefore it is very rewarding receiving your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

First let me start off by saying that my husband and I are not picky people nor do we feel entitled in anyway however the level of service, to the food selection was very poor at this particular resort. To call this hotel a 3.5 to 4 star hotel in my opinion would be stretching the truth. I would call this a 2.0 at best. We were so excited to try another Wyndham property as we had an amazing trip to the Viva Wyndham Samana last year. The service was out of this world at that resort. From the time we arrived until the time Hola Sun Vacations were able to transfer us to another property in Puerto Plata we tried to stay optimistic, however every encounter at this hotel made it very difficult too. The only spot we could find some happiness at was the quiet pool and the Sol Bar. Unfortunately, you had to pay for food and drinks at this outlet. All inclusive to me is all inclusive!!! All and all I would not recommend this resort to anyone who appreciates even the smallest amount of service and smiles. I guess you totally get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank grajam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we would like to thank you for visiting our resort during your recent vacation here.

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring these points to our attention. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated. Your experience and the information you are providing will help us to continually improve our services.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and to show you our improvements.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

So many people had me worried but it was all for nothing. We all had a great time. We stayed in 1400 block. Room was clean maid service very good. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Food wasn't so bad,way better than cuba lol. The deep fried chicken was amazing and buffet did change up alot. Staff were amazing and always smiling. The animation staff were super great and fun. The pool was just right and the ocean was awesome. Sure there were alot of waves but use your good senses. It was beautiful. It was alot cheaper to buy excurtions from silvio on the beach and your hair braided by annetta..#51. I recommend going on the waterfall excurtion and renting a scooter to drive up the mountain. I would definitely go back there. We went as a group of 13 and we all found something to do. The vendors on beach were not that pushy. But dobt pay the first price I got everything atleast 50% cheaper. Thanks to you all at viva tangerine for helping me have a great vacation. Oh btw even though there is only one bar....i didn't wait more then 3 mins for a drink .....I definitely wasn't disappointed

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the stay you had at our property.

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine was enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Just returned from a 2 week stay with 4 other family members. We had a great time and I would recommend this resort if you are fine with a slightly smaller and no frills resort.

The ride from the airport was short and quick. Check in was also easy. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Try and avoid the lower level if you are getting ocean view, as the views are poor and mosquitoes present. The upper floors had great views and no bugs. The beds are firm but comfortable. We found you had to let the shower run awhile before getting hot water. They do take your towels away each morning to launder and return them later in the day. We did pay the $2/ day for the safe. You can not drink the tap water but they supply you with two bottles each day and you can always get water from a dispenser at the bar.

The buffet had tons of food choices and we had no complaints with the food. The 3 a la cartes were also a nice break from the buffet. The snack bar had hot dogs, fries, hamburgers, tacos, occasionally onion rings and some fruit choices.

There is only one bar, but the bar tenders were all wonderful and friendly. The lines moved quickly. The drinks were very good and varied.

It is quite windy most days and can be tiring, especially if you hang out on the beach. It is much quieter around the pool but also hotter. The breeze on the beach made it very comfortable. The water was rough most days. The beach was very nice and great for long walks. The vendors were present but never a real problem. Remember, it's their livelihood.

The grounds, beach and buildings were very clean. Staff very very friendly and hard working.. The nightly entertainment does not start until 2145 which is unfortunate for many. It would have been nice had it started earlier. The music can be very loud at night, if your room is around the pool area.

We found it much cheaper to get our excursions through Silvio on the beach. He was very friendly and reliable. We did the Damajagua Falls ( a must do ) toured Puerto Plata and the cable car, saw the Blue Lagoon and went to Paradise Island. All were enjoyable.

It rained every day we were there but cleared off after a short period. The temperature was just right.

This was a great place for its price.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review regarding the Viva Wyndham Tangerine. It is very nice to read your good remarks about our services and facilities. Also we are very happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to your next stay at our resort and thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

After reading the reviews we were a little worried about this resort but we got a great price so we went expecting a budget location and kept an open mind.
Well I dont know what everyone is moaning about?? I have travelled to 22 countries, my first time in DR, and thought the beach, the sea, the resort and the people were fabulous!!
You are in a foreign country, expect different, that's why you travel, to do new things and experience different ways.
This resort was clean, the gardens beautifully maintained, our room 2908 had an amazing ocean view and the food was plentiful and varied. We travelled with a 12 and 17 year old and they never complained once about the food.
We went horse riding on the beach which was fantastic, came to a good price with the guy on the beach. The vendors are polite and not pushy, again this is their life and your experience, enjoy it, have fun with it!
The sea was wavy and great for boogie boarding. We had red flag most days but you just had to be sensible. It did rain for a bit every day, its the Caribbean! We would just high-tail it to the bar for 10 minutes until it stopped- no biggie.
Entertainment crew were terrific! Special shout out to Mr Blackie, Franklin and Capuccino for making my son happy with your special handshakes
We would return to this resort for sure and bring more friends!
Love from Mr Viva and family xx

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 426shula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWTangerine, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Tangerine - An All-Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018


Dear customer,

We sincerely appreciate your positive review about your vacation at Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Our goal is to provide all of our guests with enjoyable and happy vacation experiences. We are glad to know that we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at our Resort.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Tangerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews