We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
7
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
7
5
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016

I would not consider the Watermark a luxury condo. The linens and towels were of very low quality, the A/C could not be regulated (set on 74), VERY limited hot water (not enough for one person to shower) the safe key did not work, the jacuzzis did not work on the roof deck, the jacuzzi that's attached to the pool is not a jacuzzi, it's just an extension of the pool, no BBQ grill, the bed and pillows are extremely hard (did not have on good nights rest) no IPod docking station, little black ants all over the kitchen counters, the entire property needs some major TLC. I stayed at the Ultraviolet last year and it was superb. The Watermark was less expensive than The Ultraviolet so I definitely got what I paid for!!

The good;
Anny was very helpful arranging daily yoga, massages and private chef. She went way out of her way to help. No other staff around after 5 other than a security guy
Location is great
Great breakfast and lunch place next door
Unit was cleaned well (except for ants)

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Superb location with fantastic views. All in all the apartment was really nice (specious, tastefully decorated, etc.) however they definitely have a lot of maintenance backlog (wobbly fixtures, vanity/sink unit about to fall off the wall). A nice touch is the water cooler in the unit so there's no need to bring bottled water. The daily cleaning was efficient but other than that there appeared to be zero hotel personnel and it felt as though we were in an empty apartment building. This was fine by us but might not suit others. The front office management helped with cab to/from airport which was good but other than that we simply didn't have any interaction with anyone.

We were there for a week and saw a few other guests the first 2 nights but after that I think we were the only unit of 8 units occupied.

Although it poured for 2 solid days, no-one came by to take the sun bed matrasses in from the pool area. Then someone came by and just put all the wet mattrasses in the hallway and against some of the decks and then just left them there for the rest of the week... it's as though they just want to sell the place and have given up the idea of hospitality.

The location, the balcony and overall feel of the apartment were SUPERB and that is what was most important to us. However the pool area, roof deck + grill + jacuzzis looked and felt like an area that has been abandoned for years.

Room Tip: 2 units per floor; ground floor walk out onto the pool area; 4th floor units have most sun exposure as the balconies do not have ceilings.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank davidswaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Beautiful property with absolutely dreadful management and maintenance. Save your money and stay somewhere else.

Key issues encountered during our one week stay:
- NO running water for 1 night
- very low water pressure and extremely limited hot water (when there was water)
- jacuzzis work only sporadically- cold most of the time
- downstairs "jacuzzi" is not a jacuzzi
- cleaning staff doesn't show up until late in afternoon
- front desk service atrocious
- air conditioning cannot be regulated
- wifi barely works
- shower leaks, bad odor in bathroom overall

For the rate we paid USD 275/night, ridiculous to have to endure any of the above, let alone all of it. Don't stay here! We certainly will never again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Ripa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Came here with the family in mid June and had a great time. The accommodation was nice some minor issues with the hotel but for the price paid we can live with it. The hotel was very clean and is at the perfect location. It's located right on the beach. Kite beach is beautiful, white sand and turquoise water it couldn't get any better. There are restaurants and coffee shops nearby. There are some rude kite surfers but over all a very nice stay at the watermark hotel.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank brabo258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2015

Beautiful hotel with a perfect location for a kiteboarding trip. The roof deck is probably the best view of the sunset in Cabarete. Friendly and very helpful staff. Great modern feel, even if it does need a little repair here and there. Should be at the top of your list if you want to kite or surf in Cabarete.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JEJones88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews